We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great option just a little way away from the hustle and bustle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prytania Oaks Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Ranked #109 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great option just a little way away from the hustle and bustle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

This is a very nice hotel away from the noise and crowds downtown. Parking is easy and free and the rooms were scrupulously clean and comfortable. The streetcar is only a block away and is a quick and easy ride to the French Quarter. Or catch it in the other direction to see more of the really interesting Garden District.

The lady on the front desk was so nice and helpful. Breakfast was a little basic but as advertised. On not sure why the precious reviewer had an issue with the furnishings, but our room was probably the most comfortable I encountered on a 4 week holiday staying in similar-level accommodations.

If you don't want to stay in the thick of things and are looking for excellent value for money, I can recommend the Prytania Oaks.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jono2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    94
    31
    8
    2
See reviews for
15
143
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The staff were great... very friendly and accomodating. And, the hotel is very quaint and attractive. Our room was facing the street and had a great front porch, but the room itself was disappointing. The bed was extremely uncomfortable with a cheap mattress and cheap linens. The extra blanket provided was dirty. There was no bathtub in the room, only a standing shower that almost blew me down when I turned on the water. The water pressure was ridiculous! The floors were nice wood, but they were very dirty. And, the best advice I can give is to skip the breakfast. OMG, it was a joke. The best part of our stay at Prytania Oaks was the free parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JLala0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
The mattress’s are Visco Elastic Foam , in layman’s terms, the same material that Temprapaedic matttress’s are made of. Hardly cheap, if you have priced these out lately. The ownership of the hotel is part of a local furniture retail family, and knows and understands quality furnishings.

The extra blanket in the armoire, may possibly have picked up a musty odor, but after being enclosed since winter, it is not out of the ordinary. But who uses extra blankets in the dog days heat of summer? We always take them out in late October to wash and re fresh for the upcoming winter. I have stayed in many fine hotels, 4 star and up, and the extra linens are not the same freshness nor quality of what is on the bed. If a guest is not happy with the extra linens, a phone call to the desk and a replacement would be brought over to them.

Our bed linens are the same quality as most 2 ½- 3 star hotels. They are a mid level thread count with some polyester for durability. Not like the all Cotton quality as your own personal home, nor the Ritz. Again,are our guest paying the same as the Ritz either.

Complaining about strong water pressure, now that is a first. NO COMMENT.

Hard wood floors are original and have been fully restored. They have markings of age, but with Red Heart Pine, you don’t fool with Mother Nature. It not dirt she was seeing, but the dark striations in the wood grains. However, under the bed, she found 2 dust bunnies. We apologized and had the housekeeping staff re sweep the room with her there.

Breakfast, it’s a basic expanded “ continental breakfast “, as advertised. We do not sugar coat or mis lead what it is. Breakfast pastries, coffee, juice, 2 different cereals, flavored grits and oatmeal that you self make with hot water.

I am glad that liked the free parking and the front porch. Saved them some money while giving them bench seating to relax and kick back, and enjoy their breakfast on right at their door.

Dori H Schulman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We loved our room .. the shower was the best! Very clean and well located. You have to check this place out!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lu_and_deek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Went back home to New Orleans for my 50th birhtday and did not want to stay in a major hotel. As seen from my previous reviews, we like smal boutique hotels. Well we couldn't have chosen a better place. We loved it here. Only one block to the streetcar line and very convenient to all that NOLA has to offer. The rooms have been remodeled and are beautiful. High ceilings and wood floors. We felt like we were staying at a private home instead of a hotel. The staff were very friendly and Tricia was our lady for breakfast in the morning. She was a sweetheart. I have a sneaky suspition that this is a female owner and she knows exactly what she is doing!! Will definitely be staying here anytime we visit NOLA. Thanks so much for a wonderful 50th birthday!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the street with a balcony. If traffic noise bothers you, just ask for one of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arabella-HoustonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

I just stayed here for four nights with my daughter. Nice safe neighborhood, convenient to street car and walking distance to restaurants. The room was spotless, as were the grounds. We had a room on the second floor in the back and it was very quiet, which I appreciated. There were only a few minor things that could have been better. We checked in and were told where to park but weren't told how to get into the property or where our room was. It wasn't too hard to figure out but it would've been helpful to have been told. Several times there was no parking in either lot but on street parking was available for free. And the breakfast left a lot to be desired but as others have said, we're not there for the free continental breakfast. I would suggest adding yogurt and fruit. There was no place to sit in our room other than the bed or a desk chair. The addition of a comfy chair would be nice although I don't know if one would fit in the room. The price for this hotel was a steal, all things considered. Would go back in an instant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sraeemery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

The only downside to our stay at this beautiful hotel was that it was only for one night! We did not want to check out the next day to continue our travels around Louisiana :( The Prytania Oaks is a part of a group of hotels all within the same block. You check in at the Prytania Park office, where there is free parking and the office staff is extremely helpful. Christine was so kind as to give us a map with highlighted areas to go (and not go!). Our room was not ready as we arrived much earlier than check-in, but it was so easy to park our car, buy a $3 street car pass and explore Nola. The front desk called to notify us when our room was ready (which was earlier than the specified check-in time) but we were having too much fun in the quarter to return right back to the hotel!
We had 2 king rooms on the 2nd floor with balconies overlooking Prytania. The rooms were perfectly clean, with beautiful furnishings, and as my in-laws described- "the most comfortable beds!" The rooms also had extra perks such as mini-fridges, flat screen TV's and coffee pots. The breakfast is light, as many other reviewers have complained. But they make it perfectly clear that it is a "get you going" type of breakfast. That morning they offered pastries, cereals, milk, juice & coffee. Just enough to get you fueled for heading out & finding a delicious creole breakfast. Who comes to New Orleans to feast on a hotel's continental breakfast, anyway?
Our favorite part of this hotel was the fact that we enjoyed an exciting night out in the French Quarter & then had a quiet, beautiful, safe area to return to. We stayed on Bourbon St. until around midnight, and felt perfectly safe getting on the street car and returning back to the Prytania Oaks Hotel. For all the perks you get (including the FREE parking) we consider this the perfect place to stay while experiencing Nola.
We are officially in love with New Orleans & the Prytania Oaks Hotel. We will back...hopefully soon!

Room Tip: Rooms 260 & 261 share a balcony ... perfect for couples traveling together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cates622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southlake
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We only had two days and one night in New Orleans, so a great hotel was essential. Prytania Oaks was the perfect find. It is a beautiful home in the garden district converted into a hotel just one block off the St. Charles trolley line. The room was clean, non-smoking, and tastefully remodeled with granite counter tops and a flat screen TV. The king size bed was comfortable and the bench on the front porch made a great place to relax. It was an excellent value for the money and Bourbon street was an easy few minutes away. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank officecomputer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#83 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#102 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#56 of 138 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Oaks Hotel

Property: Prytania Oaks Hotel
Address: 1612 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Prytania Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Prytania Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing