We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Ranked #113 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
West Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is small and quaint and well located for visits into the French quarter and the Garden district. The only downside is that the rooms and beds seem rather small after some of the suites we have stayed in.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank IanWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    97
    32
    8
    2
See reviews for
15
147
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
memphis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is a great old hotel in a good location with free parking. The room was large,clean and comfortable. It is near the St. Charles streetcar stop. The hotel also offer free breakfast every morning. We will return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Please note: the check in is kitty corner across the street from the hotel!

We got a great deal on this hotel through Hotwire, and are really happy by how nice the accommodations turned out to be. The building is a old converted mansion from the 1840s or so (wished they had provided the historic significance of the building along with the other information that is left for the guests, like how to use the phone, tv channels, etc.). Had to be 20ft ceilings and a queen size four poster bed. They offer a limited number of parking (free) at the location, more at the office, free continental breakfast and wi-fi.

Complaints: The desk clerk on duty when we arrived late evening on 11/7 had the enthusiasm of a slug. She really didn't appear to want to be there. Really, would a smile have killed her? However, the next day, Christine was on duty, and she was great and helpful to everyone. As we were doing a girls weekend, we wished that there had been a second mirror in the room, as the only mirror was in the bathroom and is hard to get ready when someone is using it. Also, we had to roll up a towel to put under the door, since so much light from the hall was coming in.

Best idea: We were there for several days, so we walked 2-3 blocks down St Charles (away from the quarter) and bought a 3 day pass for the streetcar, which picks up two blocks from the hotel. Just a few dollars - and was well worth it. You do NOT want to drive in the Quarter if you can. Chaos, chaos, chaos.

Just remember to grab a map from the hotel lobby, and once the street car drops you off at Canal, unless you are in-firmed, it is fairly easy to navigate the entire quarter on foot-make sure to bring comfortable walking shoes! Also, just in case, grab a pen from the hotel lobby to keep with you, so you'll always have the hotels name/address/number, just in case.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Lovely hotel albeit with split location accommodation. Plus points excellent location to town and close to street cars. Negative side is that I have difficulty with stairs and asked for ground (first) floor but was given a second floor room. Also, although breakfast was clearly being served inside a site only feet from our accommodation, we were told at check in to partake breakfast at a sister hotel Prytania Park on another street which was somewhat inconvenient and cold and draughty as it was to be consumed outside in a courtyard. All check ins were at the Prytania Park and we did raise this point at check out where we were told we had been given the wrong information at check in although the apology was a bit late. For this reason I would feel unhappy to recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Reiterate if you require no stairs at book-in and follow with a reminder asking for confirmation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
182 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was the first trip to New Orleans for my husband and me since our college days (quite a few years ago). I chose this hotel based on the reviews and location and was not disappointed. It was quiet, secure and in a great location, only two blocks from a St. Charles streetcar stop in the lower Garden District. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkitchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time out to write a review. I am so thrilled to know we made your return to New Orleans and your weekend experiences a wonderful one, and do hope you will come back again. But this time, don't make it that many years apart, as we are just a hop, skip, and jump away from your hometown. Au Bientot,
Dori H Schulman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I must say that it was the 1st time my husband and I visited New Orleans. Upon arrival to this traditionally, southern elegance hotel. We noticed that the area even looked quiet from the street way. Couldn't find the office right off by the gentleman walk right out to assist us. Customer service office was sparkling. Customer service was very polite, timely manner. No problem finding the room where we didn't have to pay for park not one day. Parking really close to our stay. :) The rooms were awesome, comfortable, clean, pleasant, relaxing, 5 min. from Canal, Bourbon Streets. City Park was close. Han fun watching the SAINTS get ready for tailgating, It was nice to see that through it all this is still a STRONG city. Housekeeping did an awesome job. She did her job, also making sure we got our belongings we left :( Breakfast area was light and normal but, good. We would always return to the hotel Prytania Oaks Hotel rocks :). THANKS for helping us celebrate our 4th wedding Anniversary. SAINTS ROCK :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Already8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We spent the weekend at Prytania Oaks in the Garden District and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was very clean and looked great when we arrived. We were a little confused upon arrival because the check in Office is located at the Prytania Hotel across the street. A security guard saw us park and he promptly let us know where we had to check in. I was not aware of this when I made reservations online. It was a minor inconvenience but certainly not a drawback to our stay. The Garden District is very safe. I saw several police and security in the area and felt safe walking through the area during the day. The trolley is close by and provides easy access to downtown and the French Quarter. There is also some nice restaurants in the area. We ate at The Trolley Café for breakfast and enjoyed the food at a reasonable price. We had the Continental breakfast at Prytania Oaks before we left and it was very good. Tricia, who is one of the Guest servers was very nice to my wife and me. She fixed our waffles for us which I appreciated since my wife has some physical impairments. Perhaps the best part of our stay was the peace and quiet. We were never bothered with any noise during our stay. This particular hotel is for adults only and that is the main reason we chose this location. The parking is free of charge which is a benefit as most places in New Orleans charge a parking fee. We had to park across the street at the other Prytania location a couple of times, which is allowed. Overall, it was a very enjoyable experience for us and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice, safe place to stay in close proximity to the French Quarter.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Stemar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#100 of 162 in New Orleans
785 reviews
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#101 of 162 in New Orleans
236 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#59 of 138 in New Orleans
86 reviews
Garden District
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Oaks Hotel

Property: Prytania Oaks Hotel
Address: 1612 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Prytania Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Prytania Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing