We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Garden District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Ranked #118 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent location--just 1/2 block from St. Charles Street. But is very quiet. Room is clean but sort of small. The second bed was in a balcony--had to climb a spiral staircase. Free continental breakfast. We had to carry our luggage up a flight of stairs which was not easy for this old woman. But I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitcher_collector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Prytania Oaks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Bed & breakfast feel with four-post beds, high ceilings and very clean rooms set on a quiet street in the garden district. Breakfast is ok, served in the courtyard of the Prytania Oaks on the weekend and in the nearby Prytania Park on weekdays. There's a cute park one block away, and a few casual cafés and restaurants within a 5 min walk. Check-in is in the nearby Prytania Park, which is slightly confusing when you arrive. Superfriendly service. I would stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I would personally give this 4.5 stars. The hotel itself is beautiful and they did a great job making the place look like a place from a 1920s Hollywood Movie. They had free breakfast but we did not try it. We had a problem with the shower and they had a maintenance man come the very next morning. So good response time. I needed to refrigerate some milk and this place did not have any refrigerators but they did let me store it in the hotels refrigerator. The place was clean and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacki_Byron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here 2 nights, easy to find, check in staff were helpful as were the housekeeping staff when we couldn't quite find our room. Not a typical hotel in its layout, two large house conversions - in keeping with the feel of the area. Room was clean and well serviced. We felt secure here, neighbourhood was fine, plenty of off street secure parking adjacent to the hotel. Easy to get into the City centre on the street cars, there's a stop one block from the hotel. Liked the character of this place, would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Healsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Things we loved:
Great location in Garden District. Quiet. Nice courtyard. Beautiful interior and exterior. Close to St Charles, Magazine St. Free breakfast. Bed was so comfy!

Things we didn't love:
Not the friendliest front desk staff. Staff is located one block away at sister hotel as well as weekday breakfast. Breakfast is only from 7-9.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We just loved this lovely little hotel. Rooms were clean and very charming. Breakfast that was included was great. The kitchen staff were always warm and friendly in the morning. The area is just fine it is not seedy at all. We always walked to the French Quarters, and took a cab back but simple because my feet were tired from walking the French Quarters Festival. They even have a great little restaurant around the corner that we just loved with great food at a great prices. Awesome Oysters!!! We would stay here again in minute.

Room Tip: Rooms 260 and 261 have king beds and a great Balcony
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I must admit when the cab driver took us into the garden district where the hotel was, I was a little apprehensive. We went to the Prytania Park hotel to check in and the ladies were so friendly and helpful. We walked the half block or so to the Oaks and when we found our rooms it was such a pleasant surprise. Clean with those beautiful hardwood floors. Everything about it was phenomenal. Our breakfast was okay but the company of the ladies in the breakfast room was sunshine in the morning. Our breakfast was always at the Oaks. Just one block from the trolley and many restaurants on St. Charles St., made it the perfect location. We walked the area at night and saw security guards on the streets and didn't feel any discomfort in the area. It was very quiet and needless to say we enjoyed our stay very much. Walking from the check in hotel to the Oaks is nothing. If we ever visit NOLA again we would most certainly stay there again. Needless to say my apprehension disappeared.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue0618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#105 of 166 in New Orleans
798 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#97 of 166 in New Orleans
245 reviews
Garden District
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#60 of 142 in New Orleans
88 reviews
Garden District
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Oaks Hotel

Address: 1612 Prytania St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: £91 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prytania Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prytania Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing