We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vist inNOLA”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Ranked #40 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Great vist inNOLA”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We made a family vacation trip to New Orleans in March, and stayed at the 1870 Banana Courtyard B & B--we occupied most of the bedrooms in the main house. It could not have been better. Wonderful innkeepers and support staff, charming period decor, and an excellent Continental breakfast--which changed each day.
Many helpful suggestions were given to us; the convenient Quarter location made it easy to walk or cab to our destinations there. Its proximity to Marginy made that neighborhood an alternative to the Quarter for excellent meals and clubs.
We'd happily return to this B & B.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    65
    21
    27
    13
See reviews for
51
139
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mokena, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed four nights and had a great time in New Orleans. There were no rooms available for all four nights when I booked, so Hugh put us in the balcony room the first night and it was fantastic! The next day, the staff moved our bags to Madame's Steamboat room in the main part of the house. It had its own style and an old claw-foot tub. The room and the hospitality were wonderful, but showering in a tub not made to be a shower was the only downside of our entire stay in "Nawlins". Can't blame the innkeepers for that though.

Hugh and Mary have a tremendous location just a few blocks from Bourbon Street and are so loaded with information and insights it is nearly impossible to absorb it all! We tried our best and took advantage of tips from their info and from the gentleman-- Stanley-- who picked us up at the airport and checked us in at the inn. What an asset he is to Hugh and Mary!

We never felt unsafe and we walked and took the streetcars everywhere we went. I would definitely consider the Balcony Room for our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Earlmuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My daughter and i stayed in the Mardi Gras Room, which was comfortable enough.
The owners of the Banana Courtyard are friendly and helpful, and Mary walks each new guest to Bourbon Street.The downstairs and breakfast room are filled with interesting collectables and Art.
The continental breakfast is ample, but the quality of the breads and pastries isn't great- not homemade or from a good bakery. The coffee is good, and fruit is served with breakfast, which is a plus.Adding yogurt to breakfast would provide some protein, and I'd prefer fewer but higher quality pastries.
I was disappointed with the "courtyard", as it's really just an alley with some plants growing. However, we were on the 2nd floor, where there's a porch with chairs and small tables.
The owners arrange for airport transport with a taxi driver they work with, who is a delight, and punctual.
The location of the B&B is actually on the edge of the French Quarter, on a main road, and the immediate surroundings have no character.However, it's just around the corner from Esplanade, which is a lovely boulevard to stroll down, and takes you to the Quarter and to Frenchman Street.
Our room was clean enough, but not fancy.I liked having a microwave and frig.
I'd probably stay there again, as it was reasonable, and conveniently located to French quarter, but not close to St. Charles Ave. trolley.The big hotels in the business district are cheaper, but don't have the history and charm of the Banana Courtyard.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor. The hexagon room, on the first floor, has the most character, but people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler32964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I have just read a couple of recent negative reviews about this property so have decided to get around to putting on my review as our group had a completely different view of the Banana Courtyard. We actually stayed there from 11 - 17 February 2012 but I am a bit slow doing the review! We found this B & B to be wonderful - full of quirky touches and interesting objects. We were collected from the airport by Stanley who also then booked us into our rooms, showed us around, recommended a local bar for the evening and settled us in with a few drinks. The weather was really cold on that evening and on the following day and Mary and Hugh were extremely helpful by offering us a range of coats, scarves etc to wear as we had not packed that kind of clothing. The B & B did a nice breakfast with different pastries every day and lots of lovely fruit - we left the table full and happy and really enjoyed the communal dining as we met lots of interesting people from places around the world - the US, Canada, the Netherlands and New Zealand (a special mention to Dave and Erin from San Luis Obispo who we really enjoyed chatting to everyday - thanks for the champagne on Dave's birthday!) Mary also spent AGES trying to help us get grandstand tickets for the parades so I must emphasise how helpful and friendly the owners of this property were towards our party.
There were five of us and we stayed in the three rooms up on the balcony - the Balcony Room, Mardi Gras and Cajun Quarters. It was very private and the rooms were really cosy - with lots of fun touches like Mardi Gras costumes, feather boas hanging from the beams etc. The location of the property was fine - although you have to walk a few blocks to the French Quarter it didn't take very long and it was actually very enjoyable walking through the streets and looking at all the houses decorated for Mardi Gras. We certainly didn't feel unsafe at all. We went to Buffas a lot which is a bar just around the corner which is very convenient for good meals and lots of local beer!
We loved New Orleans which is a lovely, friendly bohemian place which lived up to all our expectations - lots to do but you can also chill out lots as well. So we definitely recommend New Orleans AND the Banana Courtyard!

Room Tip: The rooms on the balcony are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Satch1SouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Mo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We were disappointed with the cleanliness of the rooms and more importantly how cool we were treated by the owners. The sheets and towels were very warn out, and the bathrooms were dirty. We stayed almost a week and the first part when their staff worked we were treated very warmly. After the owners returned it was very cool. There are way too many rules to abide by. We were told to eat everything that they brought out for breakfast so that it wouldn't go to waste. When talking to other couples over breakfast, they too were not impressed with how they were treated. As for location it was very convenient in getting around the French Quarter. We will for sure return to New Orleans, but will find another place to stay where the owners appreciate and welcome us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The first thing that you notice when you enter the front door is the musty smell. The whole place is dirty and could do with a good clean. What Mary and Hugh call antiques I could buy at a garage sale...Most of the stuff is junk and the house is crammed full of it.
In our room we found a pair of dirty socks, a dirty cup that was never cleaned or replaced in the 8 days that we stayed there. The alarm clock did not work nor did the stopper for the wash hand basin, There was a flashlight supplied, just in case there was a power outage, there was, and the flashlight didn't work....There are too many rules and regulations...Lock the front door and gate every time you go in and out....Call down if you are having breakfast, then wait 30 mins before going to dining room.....If you are not having breakfast, make sure you let them know the day before etc.etc.
Despite what Mary and Hugh tell you the area is not safe...DO NOT venture North of this location at night!!
All in all it was a huge disappointment and NOT value for money!
Stay here at your own risk!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gr8scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bananacour, Manager at 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
We are always sorry if a guest does not have a good experience with us and hope we can learn from them.
DIRTY: So glad you mentioned this. After your review, we did an under bed inspection, even though it is on the cleaning checklist to mop every time we clean a room. You are correct. We found that a new cleaning person was NOT following the checklist. We apologize, but this helped us realize that we need to do more PERSONAL inspections, even though items on cleaning lists are checked off as done.
ANTIQues: I guess a family heirloom hand hewn bed from 1830s, Eastlake antique beds, antique marble top tables, 1800s steamer trunks, rare books, antique radios with tubes designed to look like books and miniature cabinets, Art Deco and Art Nuovo armoires, antique hand painted wrought iron tables and chairs in the courtyard, provenanced porcelain dolls, ALL qualify as a ‘garage sale’ items. Oh well. We certainly DO have lots of other stuff that are collectibles, that are what might be bought at an estate/garage sale.
MUSTY SMELL: Most old houses have a distinctive aroma that some folks like, as it takes them back in time to wonderful memories of Granny’s house, but we have Glade plugins in every room in the B&B just in case.
BROKEN STUFF: Our registration form asks that guests be proactive in letting us know if something is broken. In fact, we joke that it is not IF something breaks, but WHEN it breaks, to let us know (in an 1800s house, there is ALWAYS something that needs repair). >>> We keep a backup supply of items that commonly break, so we can replace them without any delay: alarm clocks, lighted mirrors, hair dryers, the list goes on . . .

Even though we have flashlights in each room + emergency lighting (we test/inspect them monthly, just like we do fire extinguishers), neither are necessary, since we have a whole house emergency generator that kicks on 40 seconds after any power outage.
SAFE LOCATION: Not sure how to respond. Many guests stay with us because of our location and safety. Since my husband is handicapped, I walk BY MYSELF often between 10pm to midnight – there is a 24/7 cafe/bar a block down, luxury condo’s across the street and behind us, luxury inn at next corner. We even highlight on map, the best late night walking routes for guests and give them guidelines like not to walk on dark streets, just common sense advise that applies to any urban area like the French Quarter. If guests are from small towns or not comfortable walking late at night, we tell them # for taxi's which are cheap and abundant.

We have learned valuable info from this post. We are always seeking ways to exceed guests expections and usually do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

If you want a sparkly new, bland, chain hotel, don't come here. If you want to feel like you are a resident of New Orleans, check out this place. It's a big old house filled from floor to ceiling (literally) with character. I stayed in the Mardi Gras Room for Mardi Gras and it was fantastic. So fun. The owners are very knowledgeable about everything you might want to see and do, and so friendly. If there is a problem, it's taken care of quickly. Although they can't serve a full breakfast, they had plenty of fruit, drinks, and local pastries for breakfast. One morning we had bread pudding, another morning was warm king cake, croissants, toast...I was pretty happy. They also know a great cab driver (Stanley at Lane Transportation) to get you back to the airport, no matter how crazy the traffic gets. The location is the edge of the French Quarter but at no time did I feel unsafe. In fact, I really enjoyed walking through parts of the Quarter that I normally would never see if staying on Canal Street. Places where people actually live. Places where I could see myself living. It was a real treat to stay with Mary and Hugh at the Banana Courtyard.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, the Hexagon room is on the first floor. The Mardi Gras room is up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schraderj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Balcony Guest House
Balcony Guest House
#36 of 140 in New Orleans
279 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#11 of 140 in New Orleans
570 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 140 in New Orleans
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#43 of 140 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 140 in New Orleans
480 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 140 in New Orleans
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B

Property: 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Address: 1422 N Rampart St, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-1912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ooh la la. Naughty. In 1800s, bordello catering to society's elite. Bed and breakfast now, great location, we're at Gateway to French Quarter from I-10. French Quarter 1/2 block, Bourbon St. 3 blocks. Romantic balcony suite, courtyard, hammock, porch swing, antiques, MARDI GRAS costumes. Lagniappe: don't just visit New Orleans - live it like a local with our Insider Eguides: music, dancing, restaurants, food, history, culture, sightseeing. Yesiree, rates incl. tax, free local phone calls, Wi-Fi, soft drinks, bottled water, & Continental PASTRY breakfast with coffee, hot water for tea, grits, oatmeal, at least 1 pastry from nearby bakery, fresh fruit, and toast. Other stuff like cereal or yogurt, gluten by request. 23 years, 50% of guests cal us quirky & keep returning, we've got lots of antiques and each room has a special theme +is different. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans Bed And Breakfast
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Courtyard New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing