We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Find !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Ranked #37 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We arrived in Atlanta on 21/5 and after a night stop over in LaGrange, we made the 6 hour journey to the Banana Courtyard.
We actually found and booked this B&B before we arrived in New Orleans, as we had read a number of reviews saying how hard it was to get accommodation in the French Quarter with parking.
This hit all the right buttons, we booked the Mardi Gras Room, which shared a balcony with 2 other rooms, the only disadvantage is that there are steps to the room, so you need to be mobile enough to get your bags up to the room, that said, Mary and the other staff were there to help if needed. We got the sun late afternoon and when we were there, the temperatures were in the 90's !!!
The emails you get when booking are full of information and advice and were most appreciated to help us get a smooth arrival at the B&B.
Like others have said, Hugh and Mary are great hosts, the aircon was on in our room on our arrival and as we booked in we were given a cold refreshing drink.
Once settled in our room we went back down to the main house and Mary then walked us to the edge of the Bourbon Street and pointed us in the right direction.
The best info she gave was to go onto Frenchman Street, as that's where the locals go !!
Each morning we rang down for breakfast and Hugh was there waiting to feed us and also give advice and tips for what to see and do. We were also lucky enough to be the first ones to have banana's for breakfast from the Banana Courtyards very own Banana Tree's !!! On another morning, Hugh gave us some homemade cake, which was delicious !!
We had 3 jam packed days in the French Quarter, we took the City/Katrina tour, which was good, then the ferry (free for foot passengers) over to Algiers, there was not much to see there, but the view of the City as you cross back over was worth it.
On the day we were due to leave we had booked a trip to the Swamps (booked with Cajun Encounters), although we had to be out of our room for 11am, Hugh & Mary let us leave the car there until we got back, which was about 4pm, so that way we could take advantage of the transport the tour operator offered.
All in all, a fantastic stay with great hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pammy8891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

4 nights in the Mardi Gras room were amazing. A fair price for a beautiful room - excellent value!
The host and hostess were amazing, and well versed in the French Quarter and NOLA area. Excellent recommendations all around.
The room was very clean and was ready for our arrival (read: AC was Cold!) :)
We were welcomed late in the night by a helping hand with the bags and a cold drink.
Breakfast is served fresh and is definately worth it!
The shared area has immense old-world charm, late 1800's early 1900's feel is amazing and adds to the quaint ambiance of the neighborhood.
The outdoor green areas are beautiful, peaceful, amazing.
The location (adjacent the quarter) is perfect for exploring the downtown area, and great parking (and public transporation) open the entire city to easy travel.
All in all, the most wonderful place I've had the pleasure to stay at. Thank you for opening your home to us, we hope to return soon!
'The Mini-Mooners'

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Wow. what a fantastic place to stay. Words and photos just don't do it justice. Mary and Hugh are just awsome, they are the perfect hosts: knowledgeable, helpful and affable, there when you need them, yet unobtrusive, and they have Banana Courtyard running like a beautiful antique clock. We (3 adults) stayed in the Hexagon room for 9 nights during the Jazz Fest and found it roomy, and very much our 'home'. It is oh so quiet and fabulously located. My life is certainly richer for those 10 days and 9 nights nights in NOLA. Thanks Hugh and Mary (and Lynette and Stanley) I'm already planning my 60th for the Jazz Fest in two years time!

Room Tip: Leave it Mary and Hugh!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shezalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My girlfriends and I just returned from a 5-day stay to NOLA (this is my 4th trip). Our stay at Banana made this trip the best ever! Banana Courtyard is a funky, fun house on N.Rampart. This house is filled with all kinds of memorabilia. Hugh and Mary, the owners, are 2 of the nicest people you'd ever want to meet and so knowledgeable. Banana Courtyard is close enough to the French Quarter and Market, yet far enough away that you get a real flavor of the neighborhood. The rooms are clean and the service is perfect. We are coming back next year. See you soon Hugh and Mary.

Room Tip: To be just th right distance from the French Quarter and Market and get the vibe of the neighborhood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl_may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Just returned from a 5-day trip to NOLA (my third), My stay at The Banana Courtyard added just the right flavor with the knowledgeable and entertaining inn keepers giving my friends and I an experience we will never forget. From the staff (our wonderful driver, Stanley) to the historical memorabilia surrounding us at every turn. See you next year, Hugh and Mary.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but try The Hexagon--wonderful art displayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My fiancee and I have stayed at the Banana Courtyard twice in the last year. The inn keepers, Hugh and Mary, are amazing and each have a wealth of local information that can guide your trip to make it an amazing one. The rooms vary greatly - we've stayed in the Hexagon and Balcony rooms, thus far - both had all the amenities we like and most of all were QUIET. We like to explore the city and have a place to come back to that feels like a home away from home and this is it for us in New Orleans! It is an old house, but very well kept and full of interesting art and items. I can't say enough wonderful things about it!

Room Tip: Go to their website and read the descriptions of the rooms, carefully! Alternately, call them and te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank realitysillusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Four of us visited from London and absolutely loved it! Loved the characterful decor and all of the antiques, Mary walked us along to help us get our bearings, and Stanley picking us up from the airport was a massive help. Found the locaction really good to get around. Breakfast was tasty and abundant! All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and quiet. Don't really understand the negative reviews about rules, they were common sense like locking the door behind you. The water and drinks left out was very helpful and just waht we needed after a night on Bourbon Street! Mary helped us suggesting places that the locals went to as well which was really useful. Would definately stay again. My only slight issue was with the other guests, some of the conversations at breakfast were just not on, like talking about 'nuking afghanistan and building a giant mcdonalds there!'. Not much can be done about that, but I think that was a rarity and would have happened wherever those horrible people stayed! All in all if we came back to New Orleans, we would definately come back to the Banana Courtyard. For younger guests, there is a Karaoke Bar called Kajuns ten minutes walk away, it is really fun!

Room Tip: We stayed in the attic room, is was small, as we knew it would be, but loved the decor. Our friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theyneedsomething2do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
770 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#19 of 142 in New Orleans
143 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#40 of 142 in New Orleans
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B

Address: 1422 N Rampart St, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-1912
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £61 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ooh la la. 1800s bordello catered to society's elite. Bed and breakfast now, great location at corner of French Quarter. Bourbon St. 3 blocks. Gateway from I-10. Romantic balcony, courtyard, hammock, Verandah, antiques. Lagniappe: don't just visit New Orleans - live it like a local with our Insider Eguides: music, dancing, restaurants, food, history, culture, sightseeing. Our tax ONLY 5%, most hotels are 17.5%. 23 years, 50% of guests call us quirky & keep returning. Each room unique, with a special theme. INCLUSIVE, free local phone calls, Wi-Fi, soft drinks, bottled water, & Continental PASTRIES breakfast with coffee, hot water for tea, grits, oatmeal, fresh fruit, and toast. Other stuff like cereal or yogurt, cheese, boiled egg, sandwich meat, gluten by request. All private ensuite bathrooms, individually controlled heat and air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans Bed And Breakfast
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Courtyard New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing