We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Nice Place - Lots of Fun !”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Quarter Esplanade
Ranked #107 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great Location - Nice Place - Lots of Fun !”
Reviewed 22 July 2004

Ok ...here it is very straight. If your looking for a true B&B type of place ...with charm, character and unique style - than you will LOVE it here. The rooms are very large - almost all are apartment style. Many rooms are on a second floor and the stairs are quite a hike - check before you book if that's a problem for you. The pool in the rear courtyard is nice to take a quick dip and the location is good. Its clean but NOT spotless. Its nice but also old and dated. Yes it has some flaws ...and maybe if your looking for SUPER clean you will not be happy, but for the price it's MUCH better than you could hope for somewhere else. Six of us stayed for almost a week in July 2004. Each day we had breakfast at a small restaurant that is owned by the same owner - although its a few blocks away - ALL this was included. We ate a GREAT full breakfast at no additional charge. The parking was FREE - this is unheard of in the area - but about 3-4 blocks away - well worth the $15-25.00 savings that most places add to your bill. The phone calls - local are FREE also. We parked some of the time on the street right in front if it was later in the day (we were there during off season) although lots of things we were able to walk to where ever we wanted to go. The location is on the boarder of the French District - in a residential somewhat quiet area - great if you have kids. We walked to Bourbon Street two nights (DO NOT TAKE KIDS THERE AT NIGHT - EVER - Just WAY TO MUCH SEX STUFF GOING ON), we did take our kids there during the day to walk some and that was OK. Also ....the owners/employees were friendly and helpful. We were VERY happy with our stay and would go back next time we visit.

Helpful?
3 Thank SueBinMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2004

We stayed at the QE last year during MG'04, and had such a wonderful time that we've reserved the same space for MG'05!! We are veteran MG'ers and have stayed at 8 different locations in the Quarter over the last 13 years. The QE is definitley on the top end of our list. The 2 bedroom studio was a perfect fit for us. And the staff was friendly and efficient, and the rooms were clean and for the most part very well maintained. We try to chose hotels that feel like your staying in New Orleans, not some cookie cutter room. This was everything we had hoped for, and are looking forward to our next visit.!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tricego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2004

We were a little concerned when we walked into the office and met the clerk at the front desk.. Our welcome left a lot to be desired. Fortunately, we never saw "Norman" again and the rest of the folks we encountered there were very friendly (one, even apologizing for Bates' bad behavior).
The room was accurately represented on the website....your basic no-frills room which served the purpose...it was spacious enough for the three of us, however, it could use some upgrades-repairs: the bathroom door didn't close, the door-less cabinet in the kitchen, the fridge that opened the wrong way....BUT, the location was IDEAL! I'd recommend looking elsewhere.

Helpful?
5 Thank DOCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 June 2004

Spent a wonderful week there. The website is very accurate with pictures and details. Stayed in a studio type unit on the first floor. Very clean and spacious for 2 people. The courtyard is great for early morning coffee or just fresh air at night. The pool is small but nice to look at (I don't swim). Both the staff and the owner were extremely nice and helpful.

I am a smoker and all of the units are non smoking units - if you smoke you'll have to go outside. It would be nice if the owner could designate 1 or 2 rooms for smokers.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 February 2004

My boyfriend and I spent one night at A Quarter Esplanade in September '03, and were very pleased with our experience. We took a 4 night trip, but only booked 2 nights in a hotel. We wanted to choose where we would stay for our last two nights once we were there. I had narrowed our selections down to a handful of B&B's based on information on their websites. I'm happy to say that A Quarter Esplanade very correctly represents itself online. It is a very cute, cozy place with bright, clean rooms and a neat little courtyard with a small, but adorable pool to relaxe in. We stayed in one of the studios, and though the bed/main room was small, the bathroom and kitchen were a nice size. The staff was incredibly accomodating (especially since we did not have a reservation) and friendly. We would have stayed there for our last two nights, but they only had availability for one night (our last night).
We booked it anyway, and settled for a dingy, roach-infested B&B for the other night (never again - be wary of dim lighting and dark painted walls in the room!). I would definitely stay here again!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 July 2003

I have stayed at A Quarter Esplandae twice. The saying that you get what you pay for holds true. The owners are very nice. My husband and I have stayed in the bungalow and upstairs in a single room where out wonderful oversized bed took up most of it. The rooms are clean! There are single serving juices and milks in the fridge. I love the fact that A Quarter Esplande has a fridge, not all holelsand and B&B's offer this. The bungalow room has a wonderful spa tub. We walked everywhere from this location. The pastries are tasty. The maid drops them off in the room the night before since most people sleep in. MY husband and myself always ate them when we got in for a snack and then walked to Corsant D'Jore. if you want comfort and to feel 100% at ease this is the place for you. If you are seeking the foofy bells and whistles than you might want to keep shopping.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2003

I just returned from a six night stay in the two bedroom suite. My mother, daughter and I were having a family reunion and this was perfect for us. Mom had the queen bed and her own bathroom and my daughter and I shared the king bed and other bath. The living room was very attractive and comfortable. The kitchen was the least inviting area, but we didn't spend a lot of time in there except to get our pasteries, which we found quite tasty and fresh, yogurt and coffee for breakfast. If you are looking for deluxe, you'll be disappointed, and I don't know how the single rooms are, but we were very satisfied with the space. Also the location was excellent.

Helpful?
2 Thank Snorkelsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#24 of 161 in New Orleans
940 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
#46 of 161 in New Orleans
900 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Villa Convento
Hotel Villa Convento
#94 of 161 in New Orleans
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,002 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
399 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
Royal Street Inn and R Bar
#50 of 137 in New Orleans
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Quarter Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Quarter Esplanade

Property: A Quarter Esplanade
Address: 719 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-2020
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage from Hurricane Katrina. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing