We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Weekend to Never Forget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We rented the entire bed and breakfast for friends and family. It was amazing. Patrick, Karma, Richard and Caroline made our trip, hands down. The location is great in the older creole mansions, right on Esplanade. We walked from the quarter a couple of times but mostly took taxis. Patrick was so helpful in trying to find ways to feed our crew when the restaurant we called had a line.

The beds were actually more comfortable than 5 star hotels. The sheets were incredibly soft. The house is large and the rooms spacious. It was a bonus to have the whole place as we got to see all the rooms. There wasn't a bad one in the house. They have used only the best accessories and furnishings. In the past my husband has felt uncomfortable in Bed and Breakfasts because of his size. He's 6'7, so antiques just don't work for him. They have taken the time to furnish the house, the bathrooms and the kitchen breakfasts with only the best!

My favorite places on this trip was having cocktails in the back courtyard and eating the yummy snacks after we came in from listening to music and rocking on the front porch. We always stay at the Hotel Monteleone when in New Orleans but from now on we will be staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWBMoonbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Slightly out of the French Quarter, but worth the taxi ride or walk there. The room was lovely and clean. The breakfasts were amazing. The staff was very pleasant. The cats were welcoming. Snacks and water provided 24 hours. I can only hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We very recently visited New Orleans with 2 other couples for a short 5 day trip. The 6 of us occasionally travel together and were initially somewhat averse to a B&B experience (beds / privacy / noise, etc.). However, reading so many excellent "Trip Advisor" reviews convinced us to make the reservations anyway. Happy we did as we all really enjoyed our stay!

Ashtons was always a fun & relaxing place to go back to, after long days out and about, mostly walking and checking out "NOLA". Relative proximity to New Orleans' many good restaurants and music scene ($7-8 cab) provides convenient access to the city's entertainment scene. We found the best music on Frenchman street, although Burbon street certainly has a life of its own. Nearby Royal street has many little shops for people who like to browse!

If one enjoys cigars, Patrick the owner, is happy to share the cigars in his 2 humidors (the B&B is strickly "non smoking" inside). The very large front porch & rocking chairs are inviting for leisurely late afternoon sittings. Another much appreciated gesture was the tasty scones baked and left out for us to eat in the morning. Once Karma found out we had to be at the airport by 6.30am and, would otherwise leave without a real breakfast (which breakfasts are by the way, special too! Patrick, Karma, Richard & Caroline make a great team.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acuras1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Thank you to Wanda, Richard, and Caroline for making our stay at Ashton's B & B so welcoming and memorable. We had a group of seven adults celebrating two birthdays.
WANDA, substitute Innkeeper (Patrick and Karma were away on holiday) was very attentive and warm and tended to our every need - the perfect hostess!
RICHARD, the resident chef, was such a genuinely sincere and gracious person. We so appreciated his cooking and his presence.
CAROLINE, the housekeeper, was so kind, attentive, gracious, and worked incredibly hard. Our rooms were impeccably cleaned and made lovely each and every day!
The house has a wonderful Southern feeling and we especially loved the architecture. The location, perfect for walking to the French Quarter and the Marigny. One feels more Local than Tourist.

Room Tip: Be aware that unless you are very comfortable with your traveling companion that the toilet and bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelfun19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Six of us went to New Orleans to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. We could not have asked for a better experience and Ashton's was a huge part of our enjoyment.

Patrick and Karma did everything to make us feel comfortable and welcome including a delicious birthday cake with candles and singing for my husband's birthday!

Our rooms were beautiful, the beds divine and the sheets were so soft. I always note the bath products when staying in a hotel or B&B and Ashton's uses Aveda, my favourite.

Breakfast was outstanding, and if what is being served is not to your liking, Patrick is more than accommodating!

The location, while some may feel is a bit off the beaten track, was very accessible to the hot spots either by taxi or local bus, and after spending a day or evening on Bourbon or Frenchmen St., coming back to Ashtons to enjoy a quiet glass of wine on the front verandah was heaven!! (Wine can be purchased at the corner store across the street)

I can't say enough about Ashton's, it was truly our home for 4 days.

Thank you Patrick and Karma.

Catherine, Richard, Jennifer, Michel, Carol and Trevor

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathattad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

As you can see from all the previous reviews the place is perfect! Here are my reasons: great Inn Keeper and staff, the rooms are grandiose and sets that NoLa feel, breakfast you can not sleep through even if you had a late night( so worth the lack of sleep for it) and location to some It may feel off the beaten track but it's a location that you would otherwise not get to see. It was my first time in New Orleans and staying at the Ashton was the perfect place to start. Have already recommended this place to my New York City Folks!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My new bride and I spent our honeymoon at Ashton's and could not have had a better experience! It begin's with the welcoming Southern hospitality of everyone at Ashton's, from Patrick and Karma, (the owners), to Richard and Caroline. (...and do not forget the cats of Ashton's, as they will make you feel as welsome as the people.) From your fist moment in this charming, breathtaking,former plantation you feel like you are home. Everything you may need for your stay can be found in the beautiful dining room.... from coffee, to teas, to sodas, water, and local Louisiana snacks. We stayed in the Creole Queen and it was amazing! Wonderful room that just embraces you and makes you feel like you are at home. In the morning you wake up and in the dining room are treated to the most mouth-watering breakfast. Each day is different and seems to be better than the day before. (Breakfast alone makes you want to leap out of bed.) Ask Patrick about the walking tour he has created. It takes you on a pleasant walk to City Park and teaches you a great deal about the varied architecture of New Orleans as well as a stop at the St. Louis Cemetary #3. If you are looking for places to eat, or find real local places of interest, ask Patrick or Karma; as "born and bred", proud New Orleanians, they will be happy to point you in the right direction.
We cannot wait for our next trip to New Orleans, if nothing else, than for the chance to experience the congeniality of Ashton's yet again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donny p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,536 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,794 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
490 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £147 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ashton`s b&b
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing