We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Belated thanks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Belated thanks”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My seven year old daughter, Ashton, and I stayed at the B+B in May 2013 for a girls' long weekend after a crazy year with a newborn at home. How could we pass up a place that shares her name? She thought she was famous! Since we had a newborn at home, I really wanted a nice, quiet room so I could sleep for the first time in months and that Ashton and I could spend some quality time together. We had a great time. Patrick was very patient with all of my questions and the breakfasts were amazing....Guy was very kind to Ashton when she tried new foods and there was no pressure for Ashton to act a certain way since she was the only child I saw there that time. We stayed in the main house and it was classy. If I return with our youngest I would probably stay in the courtyard rooms because she is almost two and into everything. I would worry about the beautiful things in the hallway and such. But that is my concern and not coming from anything Patrick commented on. If you have kids, the space in the backyard would save you for playtime or snacks if you wanted to be outside more. My husband and I are debating places for Spring Break and I hope that Ashton and I win out and can return with the whole family soon. This is a clean, classy place that is definitely doable with young kids.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    40
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
68
409
20
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our first B&B experience has set the standard high! Clean, beautiful inn with a nice location to typical tourist attractions. Patrick was helpful with making plans for dining and attractions. I wish I didn't dive into breakfast morning so quickly so I could have posted pictures of the food and presentation. The days alternated between sweet and savory so my husband and I were both satisfied. Overall, a fantastic experience that we would highly recommend and would return to in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I had never been to New Orleans before. We found Ashton's on trip advisor and we decided to try it. Our stay was wonderful! Patrick was such a great host. He helped us with reservations and choosing tours. The breakfasts were delicious. Everything about this bed and breakfast was first class. The amenities were wonderful and the bed and sheets were so comfortable. If we go back to New Orleans we will be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I stayed in both the garden district and at Ashtons.' And we prefer Ashtons hands down! Esperanza is a quiet street filled with locals and houses that are being restored. It's very close to Dukey Chase, three blocks from the local bus and 20mins on foot (at a slow pace) to Frenchman street (near the rowdy Bourbon st). The breakfast was divine! This coming from foodies that ate at Mr. B's, Commander's Palace and Galatoire's! The hosts were extremely accommodating, super knowledgeable and just exuding with kindness. We will definitely be back and REALLY Recommend this gorgeous B&B to our friends and family! We loved the shower so much we bought a Hansgrohe for our master bedroom (the spray options, pressure and steam were so great after our long walks). We hated feeling an obligation to go places because we really wanted to enjoy our room and the space. Thank you for opening your home to us Patrick! (and a special thanks to Wendy who helped arrange my special Bday cake surprise for my husband)!

Sincerely,
Christopher & Emery Ortiz

Room Tip: No Way!! Then it won't be available when we want it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emery O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This was my third stay at Ashston's. My daughter and I came for the New Orleans Bowl-she had attended Tulane! The house and grounds are beautiful and the Christmas decorations gorgeous. Breakfasts were sumptuous and the hosts delightful! I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kety11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This beautiful and luxury abode certainly does not fit into the usual "B&B" category - it is much more than that. We stayed there for a few days to celebrate our son's wedding ceremony - which actually took place under the 300 years old oak - right in Ashton's backyard. Karma and Patrick made everything to make it easy for us. They are enormously friendly and hospitable - you really feel like staying in a loving relative's home. The interior decoration is exquisite - all made with perfect taste. It was Christmas time so the front side was gorgeously decorated as well.

Patrick's breakfasts deserve a separate chapter, if not a book. Staying at Ashton's you simply start your day with a feast. The food is exceptionally delicious (sometimes it is a even 2-course breakfast) and very nicely served in a beatiful room. During the day you can always have a cup of tea or coffee of your choice with some candies or snacks like Ashton's famous spicy pecans.

Actually the place was chosen for the ceremony by my son's bride, who had stayed there once with her parents and could not think of a better place for the occasion. My wife and I were there for the first time, but since then we only dream of coming back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroTourist999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I have been going to New Orleans a couple of times a year now for the last three years. Three years ago my wife happened to find Ashton's B&B, Since then we have stayed at Ashton's on every trip we take to New Orleans. We even schedule our trips based on the availability of their rooms.
We tried staying at two other New Orleans B&B's, but the were not even in the same class. The hospitality and attention you get at Ashton's in unmatched. And the gourmet breakfast's are something that must be experienced, I could not describe breakfast at Ashton's and do it justice.
The house and rooms are beautiful, and no detail of your stay is overlooked. From the sheets on the bed, to the shampoo in the shower you will be impressed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,118 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,005 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,388 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ashton`s b&b
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing