We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Southern Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our recent visit to Ashton's B&B capped off this Snowbird's enjoyable winter in the South. Our congenial host, Patrick and his staff made our stay elegant as well as comforting. We selected one of Patrick's dining recommendations (Toup's Meatery) and enjoyed a remarkable dining experience. That meal was followed by a quiet evening in the opulent surroundings of the Mardi Gras room. The next morning we were treated an excellent breakfast prepared by Patrick, himself. Although we did not get to meet his wife, Karma, the taste of her homemade blueberry muffins were the very best.My wife and I highly recommend the Ashton experience on your next visit to New Orleans!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagnalldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Breakfast: heavenly. Room: gorgeous. Hosts: incredibly helpful. No room for improvement on our second visit here. Hint: unless you're famished, ask for a half portion for breakfast. Patrick and Karma are spot on with their recommendations.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aileyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We are still reminiscing about our first (and won't be the last) visit to Ashton's B&B. The hospitality and overall quality of this fine establishment truly made our stay in New Orleans special and worth a return visit. Thank you, Patrick and Karma, for contributing spot-on recommendations for dining and tour experiences. Not to mention sharing part of your own evening at Toup's and personally driving us "home" when the cab didn't arrive! One final recommendation ... order a set of bed linens as a souvenir until the next visit. Well worth the investment!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DollLover60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A wonderful Bed and Breakfast Inn. The room was nice and very clean. The hosts and their staff are kind and gracious. They give personal service to their guests, sharing ideas and tips for things to do while in NOLA. The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. A lovely front porch for sitting outside and reading as well as a beautiful tree shaded back yard for relaxing. A great sitting room with a lot of resource books about New Orleans. If you are into cigars, they offer a humidor with a variety of cigars for guests to help themselves to. My husband enjoyed smoking a cigar in the rocking chair on the front porch. Our bed had the softest, most comfortable sheets I have ever slept on. It is a short cab ride to get to the French Quarter. Ashton's is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dasha626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Well You know it was some damn good waffles if 6 months later I'm still thinking about it. We loved this place & they made us feel special, & we even witnessed a real live Zombie wedding. One of my best birthday trips ever. Asthon's was def worth it, & we are planning our next trip currently. Do NOT miss the Banana Fosters waffles for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppaswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here while in town for a wedding. It was wonderful! Patrick and all his staff made us feel at home. The room was comfy, the breakfasts extraordinary, and the patio a delightful place to relax and read. It's in a great location, too. I recommend Ashton's highly!

Room Tip: We chose the least expensive room available, and liked it very much. I don't think you can go w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meri19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We first started researching a trip to NOLA back the same year as Katrina hit and ended up going to Cuba and hated it... We always wanted to check out this great city. We wanted to immerse ourselves in the city and chose to go with a Bed and Breakfast. We thought that this would give us a chance to talk with people who knew New Orleans and they could give us some great advice on what to see and do. We didn't do to much planning before we went. Since we could not stay all six days at Ashton's because of the French Quarter Festival bookings we chose O'Malley's (the 2nd on the list for B&B at that time) for the next 3 nights.

Pros for Ashton's:
- Location - it is out of the way of the busy French Quarter and yet close when you want to visit
- Restaurants - proximity to some nice Mid-City restaurants that the locals go to: Mandina's, Katie's, Ralph's (we loved the all!)
- French Quarter access - quick cab ride to French Quarter/Jackson Square
- The B&B supplies water, pastries, chips/peanuts, granola bars and cookies for guest to take as snacks (these were greatly appreciated)
- The breakfast was really good!
- Patrick was very accommodating for dietary restrictions. My spouse has a dairy sensitivity and Patrick was more then willing to fix her some dairy free french toast.
- Patrick was very knowledgable with helpful hints on excursions and what to see and do
- Accommodations - Room was really nice and there was so much room, bathroom was really nice with a great rain water shower head. It was truly beautiful.
- Accessibility - This property is wheelchair accessible and has a chair lift is situated at back of building. Patrick helped us bring our bags into the house and was kind enough to help us make it to our next B&B for the last 3 days of our vacation.
- Owner - Patrick seems to love what he does and seems very genuine and very helpful. He was great at helping us plan our days. He was very accommodating with our special needs.

There really were no cons for staying here. Due to our special circumstances, we would like to note that if you have a issues walking distances (as I do) or you're not comfortable taking public transportation you may spend a bit on cabs. However, the cabs are pretty cheap to get to the French Quarter. It is a 20 minute walk (for someone without an issue walking) and it would be a 5-10 minute trip by cab or the bus depending on traffic.

Note: Ashton's doesn't actually have a pool or Fitness Centre... but we weren't looking for one.

Room Tip: We had to Mardi Gras room. It was so spacious and right next to the kitchen. A wheelchair could jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Tremé
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
516 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Marigny Manor House
Marigny Manor House
#2 of 141 in New Orleans
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#15 of 141 in New Orleans
376 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 141 in New Orleans
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £139 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ashton`s b&b
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing