We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful haven in a beautiful city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Beautiful haven in a beautiful city”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We felt privileged to have found such a gorgeous home-away-from-home for our NOLA visit. Ashton's B&B represents everything that's so great about New Orleans in general: it's hospitable (Patrick is such a great host), delicious (the breakfasts...), with an extraordinarily beautiful, unique, old-style, yet cozy decor... And it's only a short, safe trip from the amazing music that New Orleans is all about. We can't wait to return on that lovely patio or the wonderful big tree that offers shade in the back yard, this is a truly New Orleanian haven.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    40
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
68
412
20
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
houston texas
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Absolutely the best breakfast I've ever eaten, both mornings we were there! Banana Fosters Waffles and Poached eggs with smoked pork on a buttermilk biscuit with Cajun béarnaise sauce. WOW! Thanks Patrick! PS Loved the ginger scones you sent home with us! I love the personal attention you get here. Beautiful home. Top notch B&B. Super soft bedding sheets! Complimentary cigars, snacks, beer, coffee, tea's, etc. close enough to the quarter but far enough to not be bothered with the noise. Will definitely be coming back.
Shallie & Greg Lucas (10 Yr Anniversary)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Writing this review I almost find myself at a loss for words. Its truly what you would expect in a 5star rated B&B in the south. Karma, Patrick & their staff were just so delightful and really show their guests what southern hospitality means. That house is absolutely amazing and our room was gorgeous. There are so many little things they include and do for their guests; truly above and beyond all expectations!

As for the breakfast...I am still working it off..lol. There isn't one dish I can't taste when I think about it: Bananas Foster, Sweet Potato French Toast...and more. The location was a healthy & pleasant 1m walk to Bourbon street. We found it to be entertaining by day and too much at night. Ashton's was a nice sanctuary from that scene.

Thank you to everyone who made our Honeymoon finale a memorable experience. Absolutely in love with this institution!

Room Tip: They're all beautiful..just book one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopherabair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was my first time at the bed and breakfast after being referred to by a friend. It was absolutely gorgeous. I love how every room has its own story! I was unable to experience the food, but I have heard nothing bad about it. There is even an article on display in the kitchen about Patrick's Banana's Foster. They keep the kitchen stocked with lots of snacks. Oh and Karma bakes the BEST muffins ever!
The pictures on their Facebook don't do it justice. It's so beautiful and Patrick and Karma are willing to do anything to make your stay better. It's very clean and I recommend this place to absolutely anyone who wants to have a good experience in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Any room is fantastic! Just make sure to ask about the story of the room, especially if you are a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for five nights in May. We had high expectations after reading some of the reviews and they are listed in the select registry for B and B. Nothing really negative to say but nothing really outstanding to have such reviews. Yes they did prepare gourmet morning meals but they are a B and B. If you did not care for breakfast that was already prepared then you were out of luck. They did say that if you wanted something different then let them know the previous evening . However the menu was never updated until the morning of the meal. Both owners were friendly and polite but their staff were more outgoing and friendly. The house and garden were beautiful. Our room and bed were average. Our first night we arrived late which was planned no problem , however our room was so hot and the air never kicked in until the next night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtons_BnB_NOLA, Owner at Ashton's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 October 2014
It appears in this case that we did a lousy job explaining how things work here at Ashton’s B&B. We are sincerely sorry their experience was anything less than perfect.

A breakfast menu is posted every morning, but we want to assure every guest that they are NEVER “out of luck” when it comes to individual dietary needs or special requests. Guests are encouraged to share their individual food preferences, allergies or special dietary needs at ANY TIME. We take great pride in satisfying any special requests – vegetarian, vegan, no pork, gluten free, low carb, nut allergies, and more – while still serving unique and tasty breakfasts made with care. A quick scan of our other TripAdvisor reviews will make that clear. We have taken steps to ensure every guest is aware their special requests are always welcome here.

Regarding the room temperature, guest rooms at Ashton’s B&B all have individually controlled heating and cooling settings, and rooms are pre-set to a comfortable temperature well before guests arrive. We were not made aware that this guest experienced any issue until we read this review. We were unable to duplicate the issue described. No other guest reported any problem. Unfortunately, mechanical issues can occur without warning. We never want anyone to leave here less than thrilled with their stay. We encourage guests to bring any concerns to our attention immediately so we can make it right.

Patrick Ashton, Innkeeper
Ashton’s Bed and Breakfast
504.942.7048 or 800.725.4131
stay@ashtonsbb.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Ashton's Bed and Breakfast is located in a beautiful house in NOLA. The grounds were well kept with beautiful plants and a tremendous oak tree in the back. The owner cooked a wonderful breakfast in the morning, Bananas Foster Waffles. Delicious! The owner was very friendly and helpful with directions and recommendations. The room was spacious and well kept. I would definitely recommend this B&B for the traveler who is looking for a unique place with southern charm and hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedaveymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The room we stayed in was large and with loads of character, as was the case with the B&B and with the people there - Karma & Ashton. The location is wonderful, a brisk 15-20 minute walk to the French Quarter area; yet quiet with memories of the 19th century when this home was constructed. We enjoyed the home, the breakfast, the hospitality, and the advice from Ashton for restaurants and Jazz off the beaten path. Kara was kind enough to advice on my wife's eye infection, and her recommendation was bang on and worked.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harshlohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,223 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
513 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
7,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,459 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 138 in New Orleans
473 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ashton`s b&b
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing