We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this trip to New Orleans.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Slidell, Louisiana
13
Reviewed 28 March 2005

Ashton's Bed and Breakfast is bsolutely enjoyable; You are greated by the owners upon arrival, and asked what you are needing during your stay. You are served an outstanding first class breakfast daily with a very flixible time table. The owners are very personable and knowledgable concerning travel in the area, like places to eat, visit, and tour. I did not hear any thing but praises at the owners choices for the day if you asked for ideas on where to go for food, entertainment, walking tours, etc. The owners, Patrick and Karma are well educated and able to share a wealth of information about Louisiana. The facility is very clean, the private in room whirlpool tubs are fabulous, and you definitely feel welcome, pampered, yet at home thorughout your stay. They also have great cigars on hand and plenty of porches to gather around for a great time. You know while you are there and after you leave that they enjoyed your visit as much as you did. I highly recommend Ashton's Bed and Breakfast for your next trip to New Orleans.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2005

When researching Ashton's we saw some complaints about the neighborhood and about having a bathroom be a curtained off part of a room. The neighborhood is actually pretty cool, and Fodor's has a great walk that starts at Ashton's and goes to City Park, worth a visit all on its own. The French Quarter is a mile or so to the middle, but we did it several times (always in daylight). The bathroom thing might bother some, but it is in a big apartment in the main part of the house that looked pretty nice to us.

We were lucky enough to be the only visitors our first four (of five) nights, and were instantly upgraded from the Hearth Room, which I had reserved, to Room 8 in the back. These rooms have fabulous bathrooms, and we finished all walking programs with the two-person whirlpool bath.

Patrick's recommendations for sight-seeing and dining were consistently spot on. We have local friends, and they selected some the same places, but didn't seem to know them as intimately as Patrick.

And I can't imagine anyone makes better breakfasts than Patrick!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Augeydoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Watford, Hertfordshire, UK
13
Reviewed 22 March 2005

My husband and I have just returned from a six night stay at Ashtons B&B in New Orleans. Simply superb. Magnificent rooms and outstanding service. Never to be forgotten breakfasts - a surprise each morning. Soft drinks, sodas, speciality teas and coffee available throughout the day and evening as well as fruit and snacks. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2005

This is a B&B we'd highly recommend. The breakfasts where awesome, (even gave out recipes) The hosts Karma & Patrick obviously love what they do. All their recommendations about what to see, where to eat were great.

Their attention to detail was also a nice touch. Postcards with a postage stamp already on it, fresh fruit, fresh baking and a fridge stocked with bottled water and juices to help yourself.

Access to the local transit is easy and it's a quick cab into town. Their home is charming and you feel very welcomed. It was so nice to have the peace and quiet after a busy day of touring. Staying there certainly added to a wonderful, interesting stay in New Orleans.

3  Thank northvancouver_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2005

I just got back from a business trip in New Orleans. I had not been able to find a hotel because of a huge convention, so I consulted trip advisor and somewhat hesitantly booked Ashtons. I travel for business all the time and never stay in a B&Bs. Well, while the location is a little bit less central than I would have liked, the place is really beautiful... a nice break from sterile hotel rooms... there is coffee, tea, soft drinks, fruit all day... the owners are lovely ( After waiting for 25 minutes for a cab in the morning, the owner actually drove me to my meeting in his van!!!!!) And they even had a wireless internet connection in the whole house... Such a nice place! I highly recommend it!

2  Thank BMM153CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Fort Worth, TX
11
Reviewed 12 March 2005

Stayed here on the recommendation of a friend and was very happy with the experience. This B&B is very close, by cab, to the French Quarter and in a typical old New Orleans neighborhood. Patrick Ashton is a great chef and makes a breakfast to die for! The rooms are cozy and extremely clean. I highly recommend Ashton's.

Paul

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, WA
11
Reviewed 3 March 2005

We have stayed with Karma and Patrick in their beautiful home for trips in the past and will continue to do so in the future. Ashton's B&B captures something magical about NO that keeps us coming back. The welcome, the company, the wonderful old home with a history, the huge oak tree in the back, world class home cooked breakfasts, sitting out back with other guest and our hosts sipping wine. It just doesn't get any better. The fact that it is in a perfect location with great little neighborhood restaurants and the fairgrounds walking distance doesn't hurt either! As soon as we leave we start planning our next trip. Thanks Patrick and Karma!

  • Stayed: May 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
503 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#15 of 142 in New Orleans
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 142 in New Orleans
947 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#6 of 142 in New Orleans
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £111 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ashton`s b&b
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing