We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Repeat Customers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Happy Repeat Customers”
Reviewed 7 August 2005

This is the most accommodating and comfortable bed and breakfast we have ever encountered. My husband and I have stayed here on eight or nine occasions - basically, we don't travel to New Orleans unless we can book a stay at Ashton's. I'm puzzled as to the previous reviewer's assessment of "rigid rules" and breakfast times. Breakfast is available from approximately 8 a.m. until 10 a.m. (Patrick and Karma Ashton are flexible and laid-back in true Big Easy style), and you are served a freshly prepared gourmet meal when you are ready for it. I, like so many these days, prefer a protein-based meal (read:low-carb), and Patrick presented me with a number of delicious options from which to choose. Whatever your choice, you will be stuffed until dinner time with the delicious and imaginative offerings from Patrick's culinary repertoire. The only other rules relate to a prohibition of smoking and the use of other potentially dangerous flammables like candles and incense. These historic structures cannot be replaced if they are lost. And if you are bothered by other guests, let your hosts know - they will take diplomatic steps to ensure your comfort. And lastly, Ashton's is a gorgeous mansion on Esplanade Avenue, with beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, top-notch amenities, and gracious hosts. Yes, there are a few transitional structures in the neighborhood, , but this is true for most of historic New Orleans, including the Garden District. And in terms of safety and tranquility, you're much better off here than in the French Quarter, trust me. Ashton's offers discounts for return customers; couple that with free secure parking and great meals, and you have a deal that rivals any of the city's hotels. I have never been asked by Ashton's to post a review - I do so because I know that you will absolutely delighted with your stay, as we have been so many times.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravenwilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    40
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
69
417
20
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bay St. Louis, MS
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2005

We just returned from a short stay in New Orleans at Ashtons Bed and Breakfast. This inn was everything that we expected and more. The owners are wonderful people who take every effort to make sure you are comfortable and feel welcome. It was like staying with friends :) The house is beautiful and very well kept. The hearty breakfasts will keep you full until dinner. I would certainly return and would recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbuddy228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2005

My family just returned from a 3 night stay in two of the rooms in the main house. It was an OUTSTANDING experience in every way.

Karma and Patrick have a beautiful home and are most gracious hosts. They accommodated our every need and provided expert advice on fantastic local restaurants. Jacques-Imos and Mandinas serve some of the best meals we've ever tasted.

The gourmet breakfasts created by Patrick were the culinary highlight of each day and are very filling.

DAY 1: Bananas Foster over Belgium waffles
DAY2: Fruit bowl with croissant filled with Creme Brule followed by Eggs Benedict from scratch with a side of premium bacon
DAY 3: Peach stuffed French toast with pecan praline sauce

The rooms are well furnished with antiques and modern reproductions and each one is unique including its own bathroom. The beds are luxuriously appointed and incredibly comfortable. The parlor, porches, and back patio with 150-year old oak are great places to sit and relax. There is a large parking area and the whole complex is secured behind a wrought iron fence. The complementary "mini-bar" available day & night in the dining room provides great snacks and a wide variety of beverages.

We hated to leave and will be back to stay here again for our next visit! We wholeheartedly recommend Ashton's B&B to anyone looking for a great place to stay in New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 July 2005

You cannot beat the Ashton's Bed and Breakfast. And talk about the breakfast!! it was wonderful with cheif Patrick (the owner) and his lovely wife Karma. The rooms were the cleanest I have ever seen, you could eat off the floors and the furniture and decor were in style with the colonial home. I would give this a 5 star rating. Thanks for the adventure.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 May 2005

Patrick and Karma are wonderful! They are the most professional, friendly, well-informed, and helpful innkeepers we have ever encountered. They really made us feel at home at their inn and in their city.

The house is gorgeous! Full of history with beautiful renovations. It’s like stepping back in time to the antebellum south.

The breakfasts are amazing. Exquisite and original dishes dripping with care and local flavor. It will make you want to turn your own kitchen into a New Orleans Kitchen!

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 May 2005

After many years of staying in various New Orleans hotels for events like the Jazz festival, Mardi Gras, New Year and the occasional romantic getaway, we eventually discovered the Bed and Breakfast accommodations. Rather than staying in minuscule hotel rooms in the French quarter or suffering the homogenous experience offered by the international hotel chains, we found that the B&B houses offer an unique experience.
Ashton's B&B is the epitome of ante-bellum luxury, with amenities matching or exceeding those of the finest hotels. In addition to the beautifully appointed rooms, luxurious bathrooms and a gourmet's dream breakfast, the hosts Patrick and Karma Ashton, make everybody feel like honored guests.
Their hospitality extends far beyond that of just a comfortable bed and something to eat in the morning. The common areas of their property provide their guest with fruit, snacks, drinks, reading material, cigars (no smoking in the house) and a wealth of local information, all at no extra cost. If you want to just laze away the day, you have a choice of reclining in a lounge with period style furniture, sitting on the front porch where you can wave to the tour buses as they slow to view the historical building, or retiring under the shade of the enormous oak tree in verdant garden in the rear of the property.
If you ask, you will be given reccomendations for restaurants unknown to the average tourist, places where you can experience the real New Orleans, whether it be the best hamburger, or a Sunday diner where important people in the city have had a table reserved for decades.
We have stayed at Ashton's only twice, but feel we are part of the family and have stumbled on the best that New Orleans has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 May 2005

Wonderful hospitality. Great breakfasts. We would definitely stay there again. Patrick and Karma are lovely.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,297 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,364 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 164 in New Orleans
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#13 of 164 in New Orleans
4,625 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 140 in New Orleans
480 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ashton`s b&b
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing