We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ashton's is wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Charlotte
12
Reviewed 10 August 2005

We just returned from our stay and simply had to brag about our stay! Our hosts, Patrick and Karma where welcoming and generous with their knowledge of New Orleans.

The breakfasts where simply amazing and the hours where very flexible. We didn't feel we had to rush to make it in time. Having snacks and beverages during the day made the stay even better.

The bed was very comfortable and books where available if one would want to stay in and rest.

We would certainly visit Ashton's again, we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2005

If your desire is to enjoy and wallow in an authentic NOLA experience then Ashton's is your place. Ashton's allows you the opportunity to live and eat as a local.

When booking this celebratory weekend, it was important that we find a place that was safe, comfortable, clean and in close proximity to all the major attractions. The fact that Patrick delivers an awesome breakfast each and every morning and has a love and incredible knowledge of his city was a HUGE bonus. Patrick's assistant,Queen,was adorable and made us feel like family.

I love New Orleans for it's uniqueness and coming back to Ashton's each night gave me an even greater appreciation for the city.

Thank you Patrick and Karma, I look forward to returning with my husband.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2005

This is the most accommodating and comfortable bed and breakfast we have ever encountered. My husband and I have stayed here on eight or nine occasions - basically, we don't travel to New Orleans unless we can book a stay at Ashton's. I'm puzzled as to the previous reviewer's assessment of "rigid rules" and breakfast times. Breakfast is available from approximately 8 a.m. until 10 a.m. (Patrick and Karma Ashton are flexible and laid-back in true Big Easy style), and you are served a freshly prepared gourmet meal when you are ready for it. I, like so many these days, prefer a protein-based meal (read:low-carb), and Patrick presented me with a number of delicious options from which to choose. Whatever your choice, you will be stuffed until dinner time with the delicious and imaginative offerings from Patrick's culinary repertoire. The only other rules relate to a prohibition of smoking and the use of other potentially dangerous flammables like candles and incense. These historic structures cannot be replaced if they are lost. And if you are bothered by other guests, let your hosts know - they will take diplomatic steps to ensure your comfort. And lastly, Ashton's is a gorgeous mansion on Esplanade Avenue, with beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, top-notch amenities, and gracious hosts. Yes, there are a few transitional structures in the neighborhood, , but this is true for most of historic New Orleans, including the Garden District. And in terms of safety and tranquility, you're much better off here than in the French Quarter, trust me. Ashton's offers discounts for return customers; couple that with free secure parking and great meals, and you have a deal that rivals any of the city's hotels. I have never been asked by Ashton's to post a review - I do so because I know that you will absolutely delighted with your stay, as we have been so many times.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ravenwilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2005

We just returned from a short stay in New Orleans at Ashtons Bed and Breakfast. This inn was everything that we expected and more. The owners are wonderful people who take every effort to make sure you are comfortable and feel welcome. It was like staying with friends :) The house is beautiful and very well kept. The hearty breakfasts will keep you full until dinner. I would certainly return and would recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelbuddy228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2005

My family just returned from a 3 night stay in two of the rooms in the main house. It was an OUTSTANDING experience in every way.

Karma and Patrick have a beautiful home and are most gracious hosts. They accommodated our every need and provided expert advice on fantastic local restaurants. Jacques-Imos and Mandinas serve some of the best meals we've ever tasted.

The gourmet breakfasts created by Patrick were the culinary highlight of each day and are very filling.

DAY 1: Bananas Foster over Belgium waffles
DAY2: Fruit bowl with croissant filled with Creme Brule followed by Eggs Benedict from scratch with a side of premium bacon
DAY 3: Peach stuffed French toast with pecan praline sauce

The rooms are well furnished with antiques and modern reproductions and each one is unique including its own bathroom. The beds are luxuriously appointed and incredibly comfortable. The parlor, porches, and back patio with 150-year old oak are great places to sit and relax. There is a large parking area and the whole complex is secured behind a wrought iron fence. The complementary "mini-bar" available day & night in the dining room provides great snacks and a wide variety of beverages.

We hated to leave and will be back to stay here again for our next visit! We wholeheartedly recommend Ashton's B&B to anyone looking for a great place to stay in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Salt Lake City, Utah
17
Reviewed 1 July 2005

You cannot beat the Ashton's Bed and Breakfast. And talk about the breakfast!! it was wonderful with cheif Patrick (the owner) and his lovely wife Karma. The rooms were the cleanest I have ever seen, you could eat off the floors and the furniture and decor were in style with the colonial home. I would give this a 5 star rating. Thanks for the adventure.

Stayed: June 2005
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, New York
15
Reviewed 30 May 2005

Patrick and Karma are wonderful! They are the most professional, friendly, well-informed, and helpful innkeepers we have ever encountered. They really made us feel at home at their inn and in their city.

The house is gorgeous! Full of history with beautiful renovations. It’s like stepping back in time to the antebellum south.

The breakfasts are amazing. Exquisite and original dishes dripping with care and local flavor. It will make you want to turn your own kitchen into a New Orleans Kitchen!

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
7,519 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,782 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
488 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £140 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans
Ashton`s b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing