We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room #4 is hard to leave...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2010

I just came back from a 12-day stay at Ashton's B+B. Karma and Patrick, the absolutely delightful couple running the place, made me feel welcome and comfortable. Their knowledge of the area is extensive and helped me plan my itinerary. Ashton's feels authentically New Orleanean. My room had 16 foot ceilings and was gorgeous and spotless, with a KILLER bed (with a little stepladder to get onto it) and an elaborate shower. Between the two I had to use considerable discipline to leave the place....I can highly recommend this beautifully renovated B+B.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2009

We had the very best time at the Ashton. We stayed over a year and half ago and had meant to write a review sooner (to be honest we have felt a bit guilty). That should tell you how great the place was that a year and half later we still feel so passionately about making sure we write a good review for them.

Every detail of the Aston is impeccable. We were in the large bedroom with a huge comfy four-poster king bed. The bed is so big you need a little stool to climb into it! The room was large with nice vaulted ceilings. I loved all the historical detailing thru out the entire B&B. Very clean and nice modern bathroom.

The very best part of the staying at the Ashton were the friendly, helpful owners. They are the epitome of wonderful southern hospitality. You could ask them anything about New Orleans and they always had the perfect recommendations. Also, they shared some interesting personal accounts of hurricane Katrina and pictures.

The breakfast at the Ashton is to die for! Absolutely, mouth-watering and the portions are huge, just make sure you save room for all the fabulous recommendations Patrick has for places to eat in the area. Patrick was the perfect host and an excellent cook. My husband still stands by his claim that his breakfast at the Ashton was an all-time favorite. I have to say we ate our way thru New Orleans and loved every second of it!

The grounds are lovely and one evening we sat outside under the huge oak tree sharing a bottle of wine. While the 2 friendly cats that reside on the grounds kept us company. The Aston is relaxing and quiet and you feel like you have the big place all to yourself. It was lovely!!

We loved every minute of our stay and I couldn’t say one bad thing about it. Don’t spend too much time thinking about where to stay in New Orleans. Just book at the Ashton you won’t be sorry. We definitely look forward to staying again when we go back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelhound09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We stayed at this bed and breakfast as part of our cross-country trip. The hotel is located about a mile from the French Quarter...we easily walked back and forth. However, plenty of taxis are available for those not wanting to walk. Our room was beautiful. The hosts recommended many restaurants and an off the beaten path jazz club, which we loved. They also recommended many sites to see in our short time in the city. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious. We definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlg0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

We only had three nights in New Orleans and were lucky enough to have landed at Ashton's where Patrick and Karma are super hosts as mentioned in other reviews. We cannot agree more with our fellow reviewers - the breakfasts are amazing and kept us full until dinner time! Patrick took the time to explain the history of the area and the house in a nutshell which gave us a great starting point for our walking around the French Quarter. Since he's a native he is a walking dictionary and able to answer all your questions about New Orleans.

The room was fantastic and stocked full of everything you could possibly want or need during the stay. The bathroom was sheer luxury and the bed was so comfy we dozed off to sleep immediately!

We can't wait to come back and explore New Orleans in other directions and stay at Ashton's again!

Charlottesville, Virginia

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egoodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Ashton's is a home away from home - scrumptious breakfasts, a beautiful house, and most importantly beautiful people. Our hosts Patrick and Karma are amazing people who take time to get to know you and share their extensive knowledge of their beloved town. Sometimes we would find ourselves still talking to Patrick hours after we had finished breakfast. That truly was one of our most cherished highlights from our trip.

My girlfriend and I came out to New Orleans all the way from California and spent spent 10 days at Ashton's and wished we could have stayed longer. It was such a comfortable place to come back to after being out on the town all day. We loved our cozy Cajun Kitchen room. When it was time to go back home, it felt like we were saying goodbye to family.

We full-heartedly recommend Ashton's B&B!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tulalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

What a GREAT place! Our daughter's wedding extended family and new inlaws could not have been more pleased.
Terrific hosts, rooms, BREAKFASTS, snacks available at any time, location. Don't miss this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom09Alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

I stayed here with my boyfriend and our friends this past weekend and we were all very pleased with Ashton's. Both rooms were very clean and well maintained. The common areas of the inn are very nice as well. Breakfast was a delight. The hosts were very gracious and generous. Of the four of us, no one could say a bad thing about the place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetomich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,418 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,426 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
4,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
486 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116-1708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £110 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ashton`s b&b
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing