We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully restored” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. Helene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel St. Helene
Ranked #122 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Close to Bourbon St. and all the festivities. Fresh coffee served all day! Can't wait to come back. The rooms have all been recently restored and are gorgeous. The continental breakfast was good but you have to go to Cafe de Monde for beignets of course!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nchellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    77
    59
    25
    41
See reviews for
12
138
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Me and my boyfriend had a plane change in New Orleans, I had never been, so, I booked this hotel at last minute for just one night so I could get a small tour of the city and fly out to Nashville the next afternoon.. I was very pleased with this hotel, I wanted something modern, sleek, and clean... I got it! it was just what I wanted. We had a balcony to sit and sip wine, that was great, just what I wanted, however, I did not know that there would be no vending at all here... We had to walk quite a few blocks to a market to get anything to drink apart from water because we flew in and took a taxi.. And no elevator, this wasn't a big deal for us only having two small carry ones with us, but if you have more it might not be a good choice.. the only other thing I will say about our stay was it was a bit loud in the early hours of the morning from a garbage truck, (we found out) other then that, the staff was friendly, the hotel was clean, the pool was lovely, and the bed was awesome!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Location is brilliant close to all the main attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially val. We had a room on the ground floor which was extremely noisy being right by the stairs and the 'breakfast' bar. Breakfast was ridiculous maybe a banana or apple and some dry cereal in boxes.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sweeny89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a small hotel with a great location in the French Quarter. There are two parking garages across the street. The Omni garage has 24 hour attendants. Our room was very clean and freshly painted. The linens were very nice, the towels were thick. The entire staff couldn't have been more helpful. They were always friendly and professional. Coffee, tea, juice,fruit, pastries, cereal, yogurt for breakfast. We enjoyed drinking our coffee in the little courtyard.
The a/c didn't work on one of the hottest nights during our visit and the tv was out during our entire stay. Not that TV is what we came to New Orleans to do, but we wanted to check on the Olympics. Jason was kind enough to give us a discount for those inconveniences. The day we were leaving the parades were beginning; Jason routed us out of the city so we avoided the crowds and traffic. We would definitely stay at Hotel St. Helene's again.

Room Tip: If you want a window, request either a front or courtyard room. The interior rooms do not have wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdd2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I recently spent one night in the Hotel St Helene on Chartres Str!. It is a very small boutique hotel with only 16 rooms!! I loved it! The hotel staff could not have been nicer and more professional. They were happy and ready to help with anything and made you feel as though you were the only person at the hotel. The room was not huge but more than adequate with a fantastic balcony overlooking Chartres Str!. Great balcony, I might add! The bathroom was beautiful with nice towels and lovely products. The continental breakfast, including great coffee, croissants, muffins, fruit, yogurt, and cereal, served in the gorgeous courtyard, was a perfect way to start your morning!! The location of this hotel is PERFECT!! On Chartres, steps away from Jackson Square, between the Pharmacy Museum and Napoleon House, across the street from the Omni Royal Orleans! The hotel does not have a restaurant, but who needs that when you are literally steps away from the best food in the world in New Orleans! For me, this hotel was perfect and I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: See if you can get a room with a balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

The only good thing about this hotel was the location. Easy access to all of the French Quarter and many of the major New Orleans attractions.

The negatives: The room was dirty and paint was peeling off of the walls. The bed sheets were stained one of the days, and the front desk person was unable to find replacements. There were 2 cockroaches in the common area the night we checked in, and we discovered flying bugs in our room. The "continental breakfast" was a joke. It looked like rejected food from a convenience store --- small amounts, stale, and poor taste. Amazingly, there was no TV service in the hotel for the entire 5 day stay. We wondered if they hadn't paid the bill because the staff were very evasive about why the TV was out and how long that would last. And all this for $384 per night! We expected a lot more for this price.

We will never stay here again. If you are only interested in location, then this hotel is fine. Otherwise, beware.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

A great little hotel right in the centre of the French Quarter. The staff were amazing (thank you Val for the fantastic food recommendations). Room was lovely with a balcony. Only down side was the air con didn't work, but then just opened the balcony doors. Would recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank srasharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#105 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#39 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#119 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#48 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
French Quarter
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
Nine-O-Five Royal Hotel
#136 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Helene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Helene

Property: Hotel St. Helene
Address: 508 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Helene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. Helene is located on Chartres Street, right next door to the Napoleon House, a favorite among locals and tourists alike. The hotel’s location offers access to an abundance of popular attractions and world famous entertainment that the French Quarter has to offer, such as Café du Monde, the French Market, House of Blues, and Pat O’ Brien’s, which are all located within only one-half mile of this French Quarter gem! This beautifully restored hotel, just recently renovated and reopened in January 2012, is located in the heart of the French Quarter, only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, steps away from Jackson Square and the mighty Mississippi River. Our contemporary guest rooms and suites are complete with:-LCD flat screen TVs-Ebony stained hardwood floors-Wireless internet in guest rooms and public areas-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-IPOD docking stations-All-marble bathrooms with standing showersOur French Quarter and Courtyard suites feature balconies which overlook the pool in the courtyard area or the historic French Quarter. All guest rooms are nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home away from home in one of the most historic cities in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel St. Helene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ste Helene Hotel
Hotel Ste Helene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing