We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”
Review of Hotel St. Helene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Helene
Ranked #121 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
PHOENIX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Excellent staff! Clean, beautiful room. Very comfy bed. Great location. Even the shampoo, soap, and body wash smelled great. I will definitely stay here again. Low pressure in shower is the only thing I didn't like. FYI, they put a $150 hold on a card for incidentals. No biggie but it's better to use a credit card for that, not your debit. Great stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MONIKA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Monika!
Thank you for your recent review! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return.
At your service,
Kenny Marrs - General Manager - French Quarter Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    85
    61
    29
    43
See reviews for
15
151
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Not a bad place to stay for my first time in NOLA: comfortable room, amenable staff, nice little pool, and a decent free breakfast. We were on the top floor with a balcony facing Chartres Street, which was nice for the views and the extra space, but allowed for quite a bit of noise from the street and other hotel guests with balconies. The location was great: in the heart of the Quarter and within easy walking distance to many great restaurants, bars, historical sites, and the river. In fact, right next door is the Napoleon House, one of the best places we visited for food and drink. Couple of quirky things: first, there was a strong paint smell in our room for the first couple of days. Turns out that they had parts of our room painted the morning we checked in, which was not the best timing. To their credit, they offered to change our room if the paint smell didn't go away. Second, we booked directly on the hotel site with another couple a few months before our stay. Our reservation was fine, but our friends' had been canceled due to overbooking by a third party. The hotel was nice enough to re-book our friends at a nearby sister property (which was better than the St. Helene), but that defeated the purpose of our booking early so we could stay together. In any event, you may want to consider reconfirming your reservation before arriving to avoid any unpleasant surprises.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, avoid the street-facing rooms. Charters Street has heavy foot and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaugosse12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
beaugosse12!
Our team fully apologizes for any issues that may have occurred during the third party booking. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you and your friends again.
At your service,
Kenny Marrs - General Manager - French Quarter Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I travel to New Orleans quite often & usually stay at "chain" hotels. Since New Orleans feels like "home" I wanted to stay in a hotel with a "homey" feel. St. Helene definitely has that - sort of like staying at a relatives home who has good intentions, but not a lot of follow through. It was a relaxed & laid back atmosphere, almost like a B & B but with more privacy. I came to NOLA in late March for the Tennessee Williams festival (& my birthday). When I arrived to my balcony room on the second floor, I was thrilled. As you can see, it's a lovely room with a great view of the courtyard pool. As if on cue, when I stepped out on the balcony, a jazz band performing at a wedding next door started playing - all very charming & very New Orleans. The staff was very pleasant & welcoming. But, upon arrival, I was charged a $150 fee that I assumed was a security deposit. I left my room in pristine condition, but the charge (as far as I can tell) has yet to be refunded (despite phone calls to the hotel). There is a continental breakfast of pre-packaged patries, cereal, yogurt & fruit & coffee is available all day - but why settle for this when Cafe Du Monde is just blocks away. The location was perfect, within sight of Jackson Square. Now for the not-so-great...air conditioner was "iffy" - it never worked properly - luckily a cool front was moving through so I was able to leave the balcony door open at night to cool off. Housekeeping mangled my phone charger with the vacuum & tried to cover it up by leaving a different charger that didn't fit my phone. When pressed, they finally fessed up to what had happened. When I told the front desk, nothing was done (not even a discount of a few $ to cover the charge of a replacement). If you are a very laid back, go with the flow kind of person, this hotel is okay - it IS very charming (just check your bill closely). If you are used to basic hotel amenities found in a 'chain" hotel - this is not the place for you. I enjoyed my stay, but think I will stay elsewhere on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We selected Hotel St. Helene for a four night stay and birthday celebration in NOLA because of location and moderate price range. The small suite was newly renovated with a courtyard terrace, exactly what was requested. After the first night of disrupted sleep, we asked for another room with a better mattress. The second main floor suite also had a cheaply designed, uncomfortable mattress. We stayed the required second night, but moved to a nearby hotel for the last two nights. Comparing the two hotel experiences, St. Helene is overpriced, with squeaky clean, uncomfortable mattresses.

Room Tip: Request a mattress check
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamita52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

we stayed in hotel st. helene for 2 nights. to give credit first, the room was ok...acceptable. the bed, however, was the cheapest metal mattress i've had the misfortune to experience since college days...nights. when offered another room, the mattresses was the same - metal frame with only a thin padding on the top, none on the sides. from the creaking, obviously none on the springs. the rate paid did not match the cheap mattress experienced.

what is the number one feature of a hotel? i suggest it is to sleep comfortably. for this reason, hotel st helene failed. shame on a hotel for ignoring such a basic requirement.

Room Tip: don't let them tell you that no one has ever complained about their mattresses - simply not poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank playacitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle Chasse, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel in August 2013 for a "staycation", as we are from the New Orleans area. This hotel is a boutique hotel located in the perfect spot to get anywhere quick in the Quarter. Very clean, but the rooms are small. I suggest paying a little extra for the room with the sitting area. That makes a huge difference. The only reason I gave it a "very good" instead of an "excellent" rating is they do not have an elevator. We were on the 3rd floor, which 2 flights of stairs were not bad, but not fun either - especially when I was dressed up and had high heels on. However, a 2nd floor room would be ideal. I'm sure they have an elevator for handicap usage only, but not 100% sure about that. Handicap rooms may be on the 1st floor only. I must say for the price and for the location, you won't get better than this in NOLA. Would stay here again and again, and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Second floor - don't get third floor, as they don't have elevators, and get the room with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, FL
Level Contributor
253 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We loved the location, front desk staff, but the poor housekeeping will cause us not to stay here again.

Our room was not made up during our 3 day stay...UNACCEPTABLE!

We even asked to have our room cleaned...and were told we were next...an hour and a half later nothing had been done.

Stay elsewhere!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pwiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#99 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#115 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#54 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Helene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Helene

Property: Hotel St. Helene
Address: 508 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Helene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. Helene is located on Chartres Street, right next door to the Napoleon House, a favorite among locals and tourists alike. The hotel’s location offers access to an abundance of popular attractions and world famous entertainment that the French Quarter has to offer, such as Café du Monde, the French Market, House of Blues, and Pat O’ Brien’s, which are all located within only one-half mile of this French Quarter gem! This beautifully restored hotel, just recently renovated and reopened in January 2012, is located in the heart of the French Quarter, only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, steps away from Jackson Square and the mighty Mississippi River. Our contemporary guest rooms and suites are complete with:-LCD flat screen TVs-Ebony stained hardwood floors-Wireless internet in guest rooms and public areas-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-IPOD docking stations-All-marble bathrooms with standing showersOur French Quarter and Courtyard suites feature balconies which overlook the pool in the courtyard area or the historic French Quarter. All guest rooms are nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home away from home in one of the most historic cities in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel St. Helene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ste Helene Hotel
Hotel Ste Helene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing