We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There IS a house in New Orleans”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
183 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“There IS a house in New Orleans”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

As many others have said the HOTRS is a great b&b. Kevin and Wendy are so welcoming and helpful (esp on where to eat and suggested music venues), the fruity breakfast is a great start to the day, and our room was lovely (and very comfortable bed). The bit though that we hadn't expected was the location being so good. Let's face it N.O. is noisy - great, great fun but boy is it noisy. The 5-minute (free) ferry ride across to Algiers Point takes you out of the hustle and bustle and into a quiet and lovely nighbourhood. We used that ferry at least twice a day for 5 days and got to really enjoy that as a serene start to each day's adventure, and a pretty (looking back at the city and the bridge) end to each evening. The best recommendation is that if we ever get the chance to go back to N'Awlins this is where we'd stay.

Oh and the hidden gem of the city is the sculpture garden at the Museum Of Art. Just fabulous. Do not miss it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A&A_F-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review! Hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    29
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
334
31
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The House of the Rising Sun is a warm and welcoming B & B in Algiers Point. It's location is perfect for taking the free ferry across to the main attractions of New Orleans. Kevin and Wendy are very helpful with ideas to enjoy their neighborhood and the city. The fresh fruit each morning was a lovely way to start the day, and their dog is absolutely darling! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review. Hope to see you and your friends soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This B&B is just perfect - just a few blocks from the free ferry in a charming neighborhood in Algiers Point, it's like your home away from home. Great breakfasts and conversation. Kevin and Wendy are so welcoming and fun, just wonderful hosts - with excellent advice and recommendations. The ferry to Algiers is very convenient and we loved the great views of the city over and back. We hadn't been to New Orleans since before Katrina, and it seems the city has come back strong - in fact, the heart and soul never left. We loved wandering all over the Garden District, the fabulous music on Frenchmen Street, the beautiful City Park with its amazing Besthoff Sculpture Garden and Museum of Art. So much to experience in this town, we're already planning for our next trip! Thanks Kevin and Wendy, and hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlsinHotlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review! Look forward to seeing you back here sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce Peninsula, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We are currently on a 2 month driving journey from Canada to the USA to Mexico back to USA and finally back to Canada. We found the House of the Rising Sun online before leaving Canada and booked it for our 2 nights in New Orleans - Geez am I brilliant!! The house is located in Algiers Point which is directly across the Mississippi from the French Quarter, and you don't have to swim! There is a free (for pedestrians) ferry which runs every 1/2 hour from dawn(?) to midnight(?). We aren't night owls, so it was perfect, if you want to barhop until late you would catch a cab home (if your drinking you should anyways!).
the Algiers Point area is much quieter than French Quarter area and safe for an evening stroll.
The House of the Rising Sun is a 'Double Shotgun' a traditional NOLA design with a nice comfortable vibe, very music oriented. Kevin Herridge and his wife Wendy run a great B & B. Kevin was very helpful as a 'concierge', recommending things for us to do our 1st night on 'the point' and for non-tourist locations and things to do when we went to the French Quarter the next day & evening. Nice and quiet at night and very comfortable beds.
I can't say a lot about price because once we found HotRS, I stopped looking, but I'm confident you won't find a better value (including breakfast) anywhere in the NOLA area.
Enjoy NOLA, the MUSIC (see video) and the HOUSE OF THE RISING SUN!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drudell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review! Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Maria Island, FL
Level Contributor
265 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife & I truly enjoyed our visit to New Orleans and our host Kevin can share a lot of the credit. Following his advice we called the Grey Line and made reservations for the next day 11:00 tour of the City & Katrina. Staying in Algiers Point & the ferry is smart. Short walk, short ferry ride is smart; we never moved our car from in front of B&B. The Grey Line bus tour was worth the price; military discount is 20%. On Kevin's suggestion we lunched @ Antoine's Restaurant (713 St. Louis Street). Three course lunch (w/choices) for $20.00. Must get there before 2 p.m. OK, the best part. Ask for a tour of the facility. It has been serving New Orleans for 160 years and is chuck full of memorabilia. Weather was great and we walked the wonderful French Quarter. We decided to ferry back to Algiers Point before darkness. For our two evenings we ate at the Dry Dock Cafe. www.thedrydockcafe.com. A+++ in every aspect. Go in and meet the wonderful people and take their suggestions on the food. You will not be sorry. Oh yes, Boudin at the B&B, just about talks to you. He is part of the welcoming party & enjoyable experience. Enjoy, New Orleans.

Room Tip: Follow Kevin's email advice on finding the B&B. Save the GPS for your departure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandSunAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Many thanks for the wonderful review! Hope we see you back here soon, and send your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland me
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

we are not fans of b&bs but this experience was truly unique. Kevin and Wendy are the perfect hosts with every consideration thought out. And they share their space with the petable "Boudin" Nola without the hassle. This secret is getting out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wwatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Many thanks for the wonderful review. Hope to see you back here some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijeras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My only complaint was that we did not have enough time. Kevin was kind enough to greet us at the landing and show us the way a couple blocks to his wonderful B&B. Just charming. The most comfortable bed and a great breakfast to send us regretfully on our way the next morning. We did not even get a chance to meet Boudin :( Kudos Kevin!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dierdre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thanks for the great review. Hope you can stay longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,105 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,205 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,538 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
3,091 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Property: House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Address: 335 Pelican Ave, Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114-2347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, this charming "shotgun double" cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short walk from the free ferry to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. Features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, and private bathrooms. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun b&b
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing