We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforts of home in a unique location.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The Rising Sun is steps away from the free ferry to downtown NOLA in the charming, historic, quiet and lovely neighborhood of Algiers Point. Kevin and Wendy are ideal B&B hosts. Their home, in a comfortably remodeled 19th century vernacular architecture, offers a comfortable public space and two porches, and is furnished with a comprehensive library. There are affordable eating options within three blocks if you want a break from the city's restaurants. Unique and excellent.

Room Tip: The front room is lit by a street light and is thirty feet from its private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thanks for the wonderful review! Hope you don't get too much snow up there and look forward to seeing y'all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

The casual hospitality of the neighborhood surrounding the Rising Sun gets top marks as does this terrific little b & b. A pleasantly marked contrast to my accommodations earlier in the week at a large Soul Sucking conference hotel whose name rhymes with Riot. Our weekend retreat in Algiers Point at the Rising Sun was the perfect antidote!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thanks for the wonderful review! Hope to see y'all for a longer stay next time you have a conference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

As many others have said the HOTRS is a great b&b. Kevin and Wendy are so welcoming and helpful (esp on where to eat and suggested music venues), the fruity breakfast is a great start to the day, and our room was lovely (and very comfortable bed). The bit though that we hadn't expected was the location being so good. Let's face it N.O. is noisy - great, great fun but boy is it noisy. The 5-minute (free) ferry ride across to Algiers Point takes you out of the hustle and bustle and into a quiet and lovely nighbourhood. We used that ferry at least twice a day for 5 days and got to really enjoy that as a serene start to each day's adventure, and a pretty (looking back at the city and the bridge) end to each evening. The best recommendation is that if we ever get the chance to go back to N'Awlins this is where we'd stay.

Oh and the hidden gem of the city is the sculpture garden at the Museum Of Art. Just fabulous. Do not miss it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A&A_F-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thanks for the wonderful review! Hope to see you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The House of the Rising Sun is a warm and welcoming B & B in Algiers Point. It's location is perfect for taking the free ferry across to the main attractions of New Orleans. Kevin and Wendy are very helpful with ideas to enjoy their neighborhood and the city. The fresh fruit each morning was a lovely way to start the day, and their dog is absolutely darling! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thanks for the wonderful review. Hope to see you and your friends soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This B&B is just perfect - just a few blocks from the free ferry in a charming neighborhood in Algiers Point, it's like your home away from home. Great breakfasts and conversation. Kevin and Wendy are so welcoming and fun, just wonderful hosts - with excellent advice and recommendations. The ferry to Algiers is very convenient and we loved the great views of the city over and back. We hadn't been to New Orleans since before Katrina, and it seems the city has come back strong - in fact, the heart and soul never left. We loved wandering all over the Garden District, the fabulous music on Frenchmen Street, the beautiful City Park with its amazing Besthoff Sculpture Garden and Museum of Art. So much to experience in this town, we're already planning for our next trip! Thanks Kevin and Wendy, and hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlsinHotlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thanks for the wonderful review! Look forward to seeing you back here sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We are currently on a 2 month driving journey from Canada to the USA to Mexico back to USA and finally back to Canada. We found the House of the Rising Sun online before leaving Canada and booked it for our 2 nights in New Orleans - Geez am I brilliant!! The house is located in Algiers Point which is directly across the Mississippi from the French Quarter, and you don't have to swim! There is a free (for pedestrians) ferry which runs every 1/2 hour from dawn(?) to midnight(?). We aren't night owls, so it was perfect, if you want to barhop until late you would catch a cab home (if your drinking you should anyways!).
the Algiers Point area is much quieter than French Quarter area and safe for an evening stroll.
The House of the Rising Sun is a 'Double Shotgun' a traditional NOLA design with a nice comfortable vibe, very music oriented. Kevin Herridge and his wife Wendy run a great B & B. Kevin was very helpful as a 'concierge', recommending things for us to do our 1st night on 'the point' and for non-tourist locations and things to do when we went to the French Quarter the next day & evening. Nice and quiet at night and very comfortable beds.
I can't say a lot about price because once we found HotRS, I stopped looking, but I'm confident you won't find a better value (including breakfast) anywhere in the NOLA area.
Enjoy NOLA, the MUSIC (see video) and the HOUSE OF THE RISING SUN!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drudell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thanks for the wonderful review! Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife & I truly enjoyed our visit to New Orleans and our host Kevin can share a lot of the credit. Following his advice we called the Grey Line and made reservations for the next day 11:00 tour of the City & Katrina. Staying in Algiers Point & the ferry is smart. Short walk, short ferry ride is smart; we never moved our car from in front of B&B. The Grey Line bus tour was worth the price; military discount is 20%. On Kevin's suggestion we lunched @ Antoine's Restaurant (713 St. Louis Street). Three course lunch (w/choices) for $20.00. Must get there before 2 p.m. OK, the best part. Ask for a tour of the facility. It has been serving New Orleans for 160 years and is chuck full of memorabilia. Weather was great and we walked the wonderful French Quarter. We decided to ferry back to Algiers Point before darkness. For our two evenings we ate at the Dry Dock Cafe. www.thedrydockcafe.com. A+++ in every aspect. Go in and meet the wonderful people and take their suggestions on the food. You will not be sorry. Oh yes, Boudin at the B&B, just about talks to you. He is part of the welcoming party & enjoyable experience. Enjoy, New Orleans.

Room Tip: Follow Kevin's email advice on finding the B&B. Save the GPS for your departure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IslandSunAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Many thanks for the wonderful review! Hope we see you back here soon, and send your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 167 in New Orleans
454 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
780 reviews
Tremé
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Marigny Manor House
Marigny Manor House
#2 of 141 in New Orleans
242 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 Pelican Ave, Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114-2347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £72 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, the original house being destroyed in the Great Fire of Algiers in 1895, this charming, relaxed "shotgun double" style cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short, 8-minute walk from the $2 ferry ($1 for seniors) to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. This three bedroom B&B features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, eclectic decor and private bathrooms for each guest room. Enjoy a free welcome drink in "Jelly Roll's Jumpin' Juke Joint" (our covered back porch) or relax there in the evening on the swing bench with a glass of wine or local beer. A healthy breakfast is provided each morning. A delight for Blues and Jazz fans! Visit our local bars, restaurants, coffee shops and stores and mix with the friendly locals. Or walk, jog, cycle, run along the Mississippi River levee and enjoy the most spectacular view of the French Quarter, day and night. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans
House Of The Rising Sun b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing