We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans Superbowl”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The opportunity to experience New Orleans for both the Superbowl and Mardi Gras parades was too good to resist and House of the Rising Sun was the ideal base to explore this fantastic city!

Kevin (along with sidekick Boudin) is a great host; knowledgable about the history of the area & the local music scene with plentiful breakfasts to start each day and comfy beds to recover from the hours of walking... The B&B is located in Algiers which is only a short ferry ride from the French Quarter but without the grief of crowded streets and noisy neighbours! The ferry leaves every half an hour and runs from 6 till midnight so there are no restrictions on experiencing all the New Orleans has to offer!

There are great places to eat within a few blocks of the B&B - Vine & Dine and Dry Dock Cafe serve great food with a real local flavour.

Kevin - thanks for a fantastic stay! Let us know when you've run out of British produce and we'll happliy arrange another trip to top up supplies - can't wait to be back and explore the inside of the Superdome!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hobbes29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Many thanks for the wonderful review and "Hobbes" looks stunning in his Saints scarf! Thank you for displaying the photos on our page, too. They are a great addition. It was a shame the Saints never made the Superbowl but the city sure gave a great party!! Hope to see you both some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

This bed&breakfast is located in Algier's Point, across the Mississippi River: you park your car for free just in front of the main door, you walk three blocks to the free ferry running from 6am to midnight, and you are at the very beginning of the French quarter!
The bedroom we were given is chinese style, quiet, large, comfortable (superb mattress), with private bathroom across the guests' sitting room (not so convenient nightime).
Healthy breakfast, consisting in a tasteful fruit salad with cereals and local cakes (no eggs and bacon, despite Kevin's nationality!)
Do not miss a walking tour of Algier's Point: ask Kevin and/or visit the specific website.

Room Tip: Due to the location all rooms are quiet; inf you need it, ask for an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertolong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful review and we hope your return visit will be as enjoyable! Send all your Italian friends!! Ciao!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This was our first experience in a B&B, and it won't be our last. Kevin was a gracious host and greeted us with a cold Abita which was very much appreciated after a 9.5 hour drive. He was very accommodating with all of our questions and gave us great tips on local venues for music. The accommodations were superb and I felt like I was back at home. Breakfast was phenomenal (healthy and filling). Boudin (the dog, not sausage) was a comical treat and always provided a warm welcome, especially if you had some cheese. The location on Algiers Point was easily accessed off the highway and the neighborhood was the kind of one you would like to grow up and reside in. Access to the city was convenient via a short walk and free ferry ride. The ride itself should be considered an attraction as the views were great, both day and night. My wife and I are looking forward to our next stay with Kevin and Wendy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_Werbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Many thanks for the wonderful review! Glad you enjoyed the ferry ride....that's why we live in Algiers Point....so convenient to the French Quarter but just far enough away from the madness. Look forward to seeing y'all next time....and there is always a cold Abita Amber in the fridge to greet you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We really appreciated the quality, service, and style of the breakfast, the ability to read books in Kevin and Wendy's very full book shelves, the chance to chat with Kevin while drinking early morning coffee on the back porch, the seclusion of the back garden with all of its lovely plants, two fish ponds and porch swing, the quietness of the general vicinity, the ease of access to the free ferry across the Mississippi, the general hometown safe feel of Algiers Pt., Boudin!, the comfort of the bed and the ability to do laundry were all very welcoming touches. We have already booked another stay - this time for our son and his fiance's wedding - and we have 'sold' my sister on the idea of booking her stay at the House of the Rising Son as well.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank UpNorthFolks371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful review and we look forward to your return visit in October, and to meeting your sister, who will also be staying with us. Hope it's not too cold up there in Minnesota :-) T-shirts and shorts here in New Orleans today :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

With 160 review already as of this writing, it doesn't look like another is needed, but I'll chime in with my endorsement anyway.

The location is attractive. It's in a quiet residential neighborhood in Algiers, just across the river from New Orleans, which is reachable by a short walk followed by a quick, frequently running, and free ferry ride.

The house and the room we were in were nice and well kept. Proprietors Kevin and Wendy were personable, hospitable and helpful. Kevin served a nice breakfast of some sort of granola, fruit and yogurt with other stuff available too, and he stuck around for interesting conversation.

Be sure to check out their website at: http://www.risingsunbnb.com. "Kevin's story" shows him to be an interesting character, an accomplished amateur historian, and a very good writer. It's not surprising that he's interesting to talk to.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Many thanks for the wonderful review and we look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The House of the Rising Sun - in a quiet neighbourhood and very short FREE ferry ride to the hustle and bustle of the French Quarter. Our visit was made special by the hospitality of Kevin and Wendy, by the friendliness of the people in the area, and by visiting local "non touristy" bars. If you want to get under the skin of New Orleans then The House of the Rising Sun is the place to stay. Kevin will guide you through the musical and demographic history of the area - you will not get that in any 5 star hotel!
After a day walking far and wide it was great to get back to this quiet hamlet and listen to the silence, especially in the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Many thanks for the wonderful review! It was great spending 9 days getting to know you and glad you fell in with the party atmosphere of New Orleans over the New Year's Eve period. We hope you bring a "touch of Ireland" back this way soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed here the first week of December 2012. Kevin is a generous host and we felt most welcome in his tidy home. The location couldn't have been better, a quiet, quaint neighborhood a short FREE ferry ride to the French Qtr. New Orleans is a great town, but Kevin's hospitality made it a memorable visit. We've already rebooked for next year. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myh58350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Many thanks for the wonderful review and glad you enjoyed yourselves so much. We look forward to your return "boat trip" in October for the conference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#3 of 166 in New Orleans
426 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 141 in New Orleans
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 Pelican Ave, Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114-2347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £73 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, the original house being destroyed in the Great Fire of Algiers in 1895, this charming, relaxed "shotgun double" style cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short, 8-minute walk from the $2 ferry ($1 for seniors) to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. This three bedroom B&B features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, eclectic decor and private bathrooms for each guest room. Enjoy a free welcome drink in "Jelly Roll's Jumpin' Juke Joint" (our covered back porch) or relax there in the evening on the swing bench with a glass of wine or local beer. A healthy breakfast is provided each morning. A delight for Blues and Jazz fans! Visit our local bars, restaurants, coffee shops and stores and mix with the friendly locals. Or walk, jog, cycle, run along the Mississippi River levee and enjoy the most spectacular view of the French Quarter, day and night. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun b&b
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing