We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We absolutely loved staying at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast! We stayed four nights (7/18-7/21) and loved every single day and night. I have never stayed at a B&B before, now I cannot imagine staying any other place. Kevin and Wendy are great host. Our first evening was spent on the back porch enjoying a cold beer and chatting with our great host and other guest from the great Outback. Kevin and Wendy are full of historic knowledge and suggestions on the little hidden gems to visit. The neighborhood is friendly and has a few little restaurants just a couple of blocks away. The French Quarter is just a five minute ferry ride from Algiers Point. This review would not be complete without mentioning their precious pup, Boudin. He is such a sweet boy! I will NEVER stay any other place when visiting New Orleans. Do yourself a favor and stay here when visiting the area!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllenLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful review! We enjoyed having both of you stay with us and Boudin especially enjoyed it. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I ended our two-week road trip honeymoon in New Orleans, and staying at the House of the Rising Sun allowed us to relax and unwind before we had to head back to work in Austin. Kevin and Wendy are both wonderful hosts and were extremely knowledgeable about the history of their restored home and the worthwhile attractions in New Orleans. The B&B is cozy and very clean, and since Algiers Point is across the river from the French Quarter, it's the perfect place to stay if you want to be able to escape the noise (and the crowds) downtown. The neighborhood is also a sight to see, with gorgeous historic homes and local restaurants and bars where the employees are very welcoming to visitors. Our personal favorite was The Crown and Anchor pub, which we visited both nights we were there and enjoyed cold beer and conversation with Kevin, Wendy, and other local residents. If we didn't feel at home enough already, we were greeted each morning by Boudin, our hosts' friendly and adorable Wonder Dog, and then served a delicious breakfast of fruit, yogurt, granola and other snacks. If you're looking for a personalized visit to New Orleans that allows you to see more of the city than the usual tourist spots, we highly recommend staying at the House of the Rising Sun, and we may see you there, because we plan to go back as soon as we can! -Alex and Claire Jentsch

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alex_and_Claire_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Many thanks for the wonderful review and glad we were the "icing" on your Honey moon cake!! We look for ward to seeing you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

If you are desperate to stay right in the centre of the French Quarter then don't stay here. If on the other hand you want to stay at a homely, comfortable B&B,in an historic local neighbourhood that has a couple of local bars with live music and is just a 6 minute ferry crossing over the Mississippi to the bottom of Canal St then the House of the Rising Sun ticks all the boxes.
Kevin and Wendy were such welcoming hosts that we felt more like friends of the family rather than paying guests. They were both keen to share their knowledge of the area and suggested a number of places to go that we would not of found without their advice.The room was comfortable and quiet, the breakfast healthy but filling and the price reasonable. What's not to like? If we return to the New Orleans area this will be where we want to stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Malsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful review - always good to see Bits and catch up on news from across the pond! Good luck with your family history research!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Wife and I just stayed here for 3 days over the 4th of July in The Big Easy.
If safe convenient location, comfortable night's sleep, delicious morning breakfasts, hospitable and warm hosts, quiet spot, all at a fair price appeals to you, look no further. New Orleans is a fun exciting city to visit, but I can't even imagine staying at a B&B anywhere close to downtown or the French Quarter. That area is a zoo. Stay at the House of the Rising Sun. You won't regret your decision. Kevin and Wendy are the warmest hosts. We loved our stay and won't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful review! It was great having you stay with us over the July 4th period and we look forward to your return visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our stay at the House of the Rising Sun Ben and Breakfast was a wonderful experience. We were greeted on our arrival by Kevin and his very nice dog Boudain. We were shown our room and the rest of the common area of the house. Everything was very clean and everything we needed was provided. We enjoyed having coffee on the back porch and breakfast was very nice. Wendy and Kevin treated us like family and the two days there were delightful. It was much more fun than staying in a motel or hotel. I hope we can go back and spend more time there and enjoy Algiers Point again. We love the area and were so glad to have a someone to give us pointers on where to go and what to see. Next time we want to ride the ferry over to the French Quarter and back. We really enjoyed our stay and do recommend the House of the Rising Sun to anyone wanting a great stay in the New Orleans area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the wedding. Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Kevin and Wendy welcomed us into their home as they would a loved relative. The room and bed were excellent and well appointed. We enjoyed the backyard and deck. Boudain, their dog was quiet, loving and non obtrusive. Breakfast was outstanding and served with conversation and good information about the area. We will be back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckell26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the wedding. Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Kevin and Wendy took wonderful care of us during our stay. We loved it and would definitely stay there again. Everything was very clean and orderly. There are only a few rooms, so it's a very personal experience to stay at their place, very different from staying in a large hotel.

Kevin provided a great tasting and healthy fruit bowl with yogurt and granola with a few other options too, but the fruit was fantastic.

The neighborhood was safe and quiet. There is street parking only, but as there is little traffic, it was not an issue, even with our large car. There are a few nice and simple places to eat within walking distance.

If you are planning on being out late in the French Quarter, you would have to drive back across the bridge, but Kevin mentioned that the ferry will begin running service until about 10:00 within the next few months, which would be preferable for those who don't want to drive or stay out too late.

Wireless internet was a tad bit slow, but worked well enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the wedding. Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#3 of 166 in New Orleans
428 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 141 in New Orleans
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 Pelican Ave, Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114-2347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £72 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, the original house being destroyed in the Great Fire of Algiers in 1895, this charming, relaxed "shotgun double" style cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short, 8-minute walk from the $2 ferry ($1 for seniors) to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. This three bedroom B&B features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, eclectic decor and private bathrooms for each guest room. Enjoy a free welcome drink in "Jelly Roll's Jumpin' Juke Joint" (our covered back porch) or relax there in the evening on the swing bench with a glass of wine or local beer. A healthy breakfast is provided each morning. A delight for Blues and Jazz fans! Visit our local bars, restaurants, coffee shops and stores and mix with the friendly locals. Or walk, jog, cycle, run along the Mississippi River levee and enjoy the most spectacular view of the French Quarter, day and night. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun b&b
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing