We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful experience”
Review of La Dauphine B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Dauphine B&B
Ranked #73 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I had a delightul experience staying at La Dauphine, Bed&Breakfast for 6 days. I arrived in New Orleans, absolutely alone and was warmfully received by Ray and Kim. They gave me several tips of places to go around the city and of several charming and interesting restaurants in Marigny and the French Quarter. Last, but not least, I loved my bedroom, an authentic Louisiana setting.
I hope to go back soon! .

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gisela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2011

We had the most wonderful stay at La Dauphine. We enjoyed our trip to New Orleans more than we could've imagined, and staying at La Dauphine was a true highlight. The friendly conversation, great recommendations, and beautiful setting--- what more could we ask for? And what a perfect location for all of our excursions. The house is 5 minutes walking distance to the fabulous Frenchman Street and all of its jazz clubs and restaurants. In 10 minutes you can walk to the beautiful French Quarter, but if you aren't feeling like a nice walk, there are 2 convenient bus lines only 2 blocks from La Dauphine.
We can say with all sincerity that you'll see us again (and hopefully, we'll bring friends too!)
Thanks again to Ray and Kim, and La Dauphine!!

Room Tip: The Matisse Room was perfect for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EEmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

I stayed for a week at La Dauphine during a conference, wanting to be a bit away from the sterile high-rise hotels on Canal Street, and save some money. I was not disappointed. For me, La Dauphine has a charm that modern conference hotels, with all their conveniences, utterly lack. It is located in a real neighbourhood (the Marigny, just to one side of the French Quarter), with real neighbours (friendly ones) and a variety of local businesses including not only several good restaurants but also grocery stores and laundromats if you need them. The neighbourhood felt quite safe to me as a previous resident of Chicago, Pittsburgh, Toronto and Vancouver, and it was wonderful to be able to walk home conveniently after a visit to some of the jazz clubs on Frenchmen Street. For business, you can reach Canal Street by a streetcar that runs every half hour or so for only $1.25 (as of April 2011), or take cab for about $8. La Dauphine itself, a Victorian-era home, has the aesthetic one should expect from the real, old New Orleans: elegant decay. Everything that you need to work actually works (showers, electrical outlets), and the beds are clean and comfortable. However the slightly sloping floors, peeling paint, and somewhat cluttered décor (scattered with plenty of magazines and travel books) remind you that you are in New Orleans. Without this, why come? Ray Ruiz is an extremely gracious host, ready to chat when you want and inform you about local amenities, or leave you to yourself if you prefer. Due to local ordinances, he is not allowed to prepare hot breakfasts (like bacon and eggs), but was well supplied with fresh berries, cold cereal, yogurt and bagels. In my opinion, having stayed in countless hotels and several B&Bs over the years, La Dauphine is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevinO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

My husband and I celebrated Mardi Gras on Canal and in the French Quarter. We came "home" to La Dauphine. It was everthing we had hoped it would be. The house is intriguing and has a feel of times gone by as does the Marginy area. Ray is a virtual library of New Orleans and he will assist you with anything from directions to food suggestions. Of all of our trips to New Orleans this one has been the most relaxing and enjoyable and a large part of the reason is Ray, Kim, and their wonderful home. Merci!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Myself, my daughter and her partner and another friend travelled to New Orleans for a conference and for fun. Ray and Kim were so welcoming. My daughter and her partner loved the Alec Baldwin room and said it was very comfortable and they loved the decor. Unfortunately, I booked too late to stay too and found another b and b down the road which was not quite the same. Ray was incredibly kind and even gave us lifts out of the kindness of his heart which was so helpful. The house is a treasure trove with all kinds of useful things such as an internet cafe and lots of books and Ray and Kim are a mine of information.
A very special thank you to Ray for the blueberry muffins and the blueberry croissant yummy! I would strongly recommend this b and b to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julietemerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We greatly enjoyed our trip to New Orleans and it just wouldn't have been the same without the warm welcome, recommendations and enormous generosity of our hosts.
If you like neat lines, squares and military order this is probably not the place for you, but then neither is New Orleans. If you prefer shabby chic (with the emphasis on the chic), individual touches and the exuberance and spontaneity of jazz then I would highly recommend you check out - and check in to - La Dauphine.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet with excellent facilities including a guest lounge, breakfast garden, wireless internet and use of the 'internet cafe'. Although it is not right in the centre of the city, it is only 10 minutes' walk from the heart of the French Quarter and just a stone's throw from Frenchmen's Street, which is lined with intimate and relaxed bars playing wonderful live music every night of the week.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strawberry24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

My husband and I spent the tail end of our honeymoon staying in New Orleans at La Dauphine. Right away Ray and Kim went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. They allowed us to check in early and never made us feel like we were an inconvenience. Upon arrival, there was an insider's guide to the French Quarter written by Ray, which highlighted popular attractions, restaurants, and favorites. Being that it was New Years Eve, they printed off a list of activities going on in the city. He also gave us a map and answered many of our questions throughout our stay. Our room was perfect, filled with artisitc pieces that respected this prime location. Ray and Kim also offered to mail a gift to us that we had left behind. Our stay was relaxing and comfortable. We will definitely be returning:)

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hours17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Barracks Guest House
Royal Barracks Guest House
#35 of 142 in New Orleans
174 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#47 of 142 in New Orleans
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,323 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,628 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dauphine B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dauphine B&B

Address: 2316 Dauphine St, Faubourg Marigny, New Orleans, LA 70117-8506
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £85 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates are $109-$150 per night, 3 night minimum. La Dauphine is a laid-back guest house for the budget-minded traveler, located in the Bohemian, artsy, gay part of town, 4 blocks from the French Quarter, a 12 minute streetcar ride to the Convention Center. No unregistered guests are allowed in the rooms. A mellow, village-like atmosphere prevails throughout the neighborhood. Rooms have 4-poster queen beds, 2 persons to a room maximum. Free Wi-Fi; there is a small house dog- Shiba Inu (Japanese). No smoking. All welcome (except uptight, rigid people :-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Dauphine B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing