We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the *real* new orleans”
Review of La Dauphine B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Dauphine B&B
Ranked #70 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
Lawrence KS
12
Reviewed 18 May 2006

Better late than never?

My teenage daughter and i visited New Orleans for spring break 2004 and were lucky enough to stay in a "just right" room at the La Dauphine. i have a couple of "favorite" places in NOLA to stay, but wanted to try something new and in the Marigny. What a great choice! La Dauphine is funky and authentic and our hosts were perfect. A light breakfast and chat over the local news in the morning, videos when our feet were sore, wireless internet, everything we needed, but thankfully *not* in a Motel 6-type way! We are both photographers and wandered at all times, day and night, without fear. One of my favorite visits ever. How i long to return...

Stayed: March 2004
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2006

We have stayed twice at La Dauphine, most recently for our daughter's graduation from Tulane in May 2006. If you expect white glove service and lavish breakfasts from a B&B, this is definitely not your kind of place, but if you want a true taste of New Orleans, then try La Dauphine. This big, old shotgun house is in the Faubourg Marigny, a diverse, delicious neighborhood adjacent to the French Quarter. Innkeepers Ray and Kim are relaxed and friendly, the rooms are large, and the courtyard garden is a delight. Prices are very reasonable. As other reviewers have mentioned, breakfast is self-serve, as is daily maid service (make up your own bed), and some of the bathroom arrangements are a little unconventional, but all of this adds to the authentictiy and funkiness of the experience. The long side hall is filled with books about New Orleans and other eclectic subjects, and the innkeepers are more than happy to assist you in finding good nearby restaurants, shops, or entertainment. They also maintain a large video library. Staying at La Dauphine is like having a second home in one of the most colorful neighborhoods in the world.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2006

We stayed at La Dauphine for Mardi Gras '06. It's a lovely little b&b in Fauborg Marigny, and the owners, Ray and Kim, are terrific hosts. We had the Alec Baldwin Suite, a lovely room, but perhaps better for a couple than for just two pals. Got a little cramped in there for us two gals! The bathroom (private but down the hall -- robes are provided) was fairly spacious and packed with reading material! :) A quibble on the bath was the shower... the doors were wobbly and difficult to close, the thing was tiny (um, we're big gals, to boot!), and, well, like many shower doors, the tracks were difficult to keep clean. Everything else was spotless, however. The resident dogs are wonderful. And the courtyard is a colorful delight! It's not far from the Quarter (a quick stroll down Frenchmen) -- definitely a bonus!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FelineFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#20 of 141 in New Orleans
143 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,495 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
6,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dauphine B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dauphine B&B

Address: 2316 Dauphine St, Faubourg Marigny, New Orleans, LA 70117-8506
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £81 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates are $109-$150 per night, 3 night minimum. La Dauphine is a laid-back guest house for the budget-minded traveler, located in the Bohemian, artsy, gay part of town, 4 blocks from the French Quarter, a 12 minute streetcar ride to the Convention Center. No unregistered guests are allowed in the rooms. A mellow, village-like atmosphere prevails throughout the neighborhood. Rooms have 4-poster queen beds, 2 persons to a room maximum. Free Wi-Fi; there is a small house dog- Shiba Inu (Japanese). No smoking. All welcome (except uptight, rigid people :-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Dauphine B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing