We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Reservation Service from Owner Tom!”
Review of Maison Perrier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maison Perrier
Ranked #23 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Booked a room at Maison Perrier after reading Booking.com Excellent rating and TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 reviews. The reviews are spot on regarding the Owner's! I booked a Queen room in the Maison Perrier House near the kitchen and requested a quiet room knowing this location would be a concern. Tom called me right away before charging my deposit and suggested a quieter room in the Marengo House, their sister property only 30 feet away. He also mentioned their website MaisonPerrier.com lists room prices inclusive of tax where as the booking sites charge 13% tax on their rates so the upgraded room in Marengo was very close to the original price we were going to pay initially. What a guy! Can't wait for our trip to NOLA and the Maison Perrier!

Reservation Tip: Book directly with MaisonPerrier.com and save on the room tax other sites charge.

Room Tip: Read the Traveler tips on TripAdvisor and then call Tom at Maison Perrier to get a specific room.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Brayette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

Maison Pierre is the perfect location to enjoy New Orleans. 2 blocks from the St. Charles St. street car it is easy to get to the Garden District (which is actally within walking distance) Canal Street, the French Quarter and Audubon park. Tom is a wealth of knowledge about the area and upon our arrival took the time to tell us about the different areas and restaurants and pointed out everything on the map he provided, all while enjoying our complimentary glass of wine (my husband had beer). We stayed in Claudettes room which is located at the front of the house and has its own access to the balcony. Noise was never a problem although the house was full of guests, and Pierre street is very quiet. We awakened in the morning to the smell of fresh coffee brewing and breakfast being made. Breakfast time was a good time to meet the other guests in the house and share experiences our stay. The evening wine and cheese hour was also a good time to meet up with guests, speak with Tom and Patricia and get our second wind to head out again for the night after being out all day. We loved that Tom and Patricia were so approachable and accommodating, we even found Tom up late one night awaiting the arrival of a couple arriving from overseas. When we go back to New Orleans we would not hesitate to book our stay with Tom and Patricia!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We staid in the maison Perrier for 4 nights. Our expectations were very high because of the very good reviews but the stay was even better than we expected and was really a big part of the success of our trip to New Orleans. We had booked months in advance for my 40th birthday and on arrival, Tom upgraded us to a much nicer room to the one we booked. As we arrived on Friday, we were welcomed with the complementary wine and cheese (on Saturday also) with the other guests (these were high quality cheese and wine and provided in good quantity). This allowed to rapidly develop relationships with other guests and share tips about what to visit, etc... Tom was again very helpful in selecting the restaurants for diner or advising on portions of the city to avoid. Breakfast with Patricia were great.

Again, a wonderful stay, thanks a lot!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbarcelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My wife and I went to NOLA to celebrate our wedding anniversary. After reading the reviews on TA and other sites, and looking around a bit, we decided on Maison Perrier for our first stay in the Crescent City. We could not have been more pleased with our choice. Tom greeted us when we arrived and showed us around the place. We arrived a bit before check-in time, so the room was not yet ready. We went out for a nice lunch and a walk down Magazine Street. Everything was set when we came back. I had ordered flowers as a surprise for my wife, and Tom found some beautiful white roses for us. They were waiting in the room when we arrived. Tom was even so thoughtful that he showed them to me before my wife got to the room and got my approval of his choice.
The location was perfect, in a quiet and safe Garden District neighborhood. It was a short walk to the streetcar stop, and from there, about a 20 minute trip to Canal Street. The French Quarter and Marigny neighborhoods were a short walk farther.
Breakfast was ready at 8:30 for hot food, either French toast, eggs, waffles, or other yummy stuff. If you have an early morning, there is cold food (bagels, yogurt, cut fruit) starting at 7:30, and the coffee is on at 6:30 for you early risers (as if that would happen in NOLA on vacation!). Tom and Patricia were always the gracious hosts, ready to help with dinner reservations, calling for a taxi, restaurant recommendations, or whatever you might need. There's an honor bar with beer and wine, and the prices are about at happy hour levels ($2 tap beer and $3 wine). I wish we could have stayed for the Friday and Saturday wine and cheese plates (free, I think).
While we could try another place on our next visit, we're just as likely to come back here. I don't think they could have done more to take care of us and make us feel like we'd been staying there for years.
It's a B&B, not a big hotel, so if you want things like a 24 hour desk, restaurant, elevator, or pool, you'll want to look elsewhere. If you like the B&B idea (we do), then you will find a warm welcome here.
Thanks to Tom and Patricia and all the staff for a wonderful, memorable stay in NOLA. We hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: We loved the decor in the Dolly room. I bet the others are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took a short "mini-moon" to New Orleans after our wedding back home, and couldn't have been more impressed and pleased by our stay at Tom and Patricia's beautiful Maison Perrier. Less than a block from my long ago apartment on Milan Street, Maison Perrier is elegant and comfortable, spacious and inviting, with fresh air and nicely updated bathroom features (I say this to point out the contrast with the cliche B&B reputation for musty air and crumbling faucets).Tom and Patricia are warm and helpful, yet unobtrusive, and the Maison Perrier allows for as much privacy or conviviality as please you. Breakfasts are tasty and of variety, and there is even a well-assembled reference book of dining destinations in the common area, sorted by neighborhood (kind of an important part of touring New Orleans!). The location is a short walk to a stretch of Magazine Street or the St Charles streetcar line, and an inexpensive cab deeper into the Quarter or to music on Frenchmen Street.

If you are planning a trip to NOLA, stay Uptown (versus the Quarter or the Central Business District of high rises) and confidently book a room at the Maison Perrier!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladybluzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We found this place from reviews on TripAdvisor. We hadn't been to New Orleans before so didn't know anything about the layout of the city. A lot of places were booked but they had one more room available (it's larger than the average B & B). And we were SO glad they did! The Garden District is awesome. Whereas the French Quarter is busy, loud, and cluttered, the Garden District is relaxing, beautiful, but still super close to everything. It's only a few blocks to the streetcar with easy access to the commercial area and the French Quarter (or the other way to Audubon Park). It's also close to Magazine Street with cute shops and restaurants. The hosts, Tom and Patricia, were super welcoming and helpful. Tom got up at 1 am to greet us and give us the scoop when we arrived. They printed our Jazzfest tickets because I had forgotten to do so. They gave suggestions about everything we could ask for. The breakfasts were great--a nice mix of food, available over a range of times, and veggie friendly. Our room was big, comfy bed, huge bathroom, and nice setup. We couldn't have had a better time during our visit to New Orleans!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NKSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This place is the best kept secret in New Orleans! So why am I writing another review? Well I am attempting to curb my selfish inclination towards keeping it that way by letting others experience true southern hospitality the way we have during our times at The Maison Perrier! The propitiators Tom and Patricia could not be more welcoming and helpful. The room we stayed in "The Dolly" was beautiful and spotless.Breakfasts and staff outstanding! If you possess even the slightest hesitation towards staying in a bed and breakfast over a hotel set it aside. While at the Maison you can have a stay that is as private or as social as you want to make it. The other guests we met were very interesting and shared great suggestions for exploring the city. It is extremely close to the Saint Charles streetcar so you can be down in the French quarter in a flash. Tom provided us with great music suggestions as well as excellent dinner suggestions! I could write a book about all this place has to offer but do yourself a favor and experience it yourself! Laissez les bons temps rouler!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpdonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
780 reviews
Garden District
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
The Parisian Courtyard Inn
#26 of 141 in New Orleans
180 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#16 of 141 in New Orleans
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Green House Inn
Green House Inn
#11 of 141 in New Orleans
394 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Perrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Perrier

Address: 4117 Perrier St, New Orleans, LA 70115-3826
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £111 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Perrier 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in "Uptown" 'Nawlins, this Victorian manse boasts elegance and style without sacrificing comfort and convenience. This National Registry of Historic Places B&B sits three blocks from St. Charles, is within walking distance of the Garden District, and is close to the French Quarter. Tastefully decorated with antiques and original artwork. Breakfast entrees include praline French toast, and Creole eggs with cheese grits. Spacious guestrooms, private bathrooms, voice-mail, WiFi internet access, and cable television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Maison Perrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Perrier Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing