We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What More Could You Ask For?”
Review of Maison Perrier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maison Perrier
Ranked #20 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We stayed at the Maison for 5 nights in June 2010. I was in town on business, and my wife and kids for pleasure. Below are our thoughts on our stay at the Maison:

Cleanliness: When we arrived the room was immaculate, and was cleaned promptly every day. Couldn't ask for anything more.

Service: The staff absolutely shines at Maison. Tom & Patricia are both extremely hospitable and bent over backwards to make sure our stay was comfortable. What sold me on the place was Tom's prompt and extremely courteous attention to my emails with questions about the place. Once we arrived all my suspicions about them being wonderful hosts were confirmed. We chatted with Michael the cook, who rushed so I could eat the hot breakfast before I had to leave early one day. Tom offered great places for my wife to go with the kids. Fantastic service.

Location: 3 blocks from the St Charles street. For $1.25, the streetcar it will take you all the way downtown in about 10 minutes. What's absolutely great about the location is you are away from downtown and actually in the city. If you want to experience a taste of the local New Orleans life, you can't do better. No worries on the neighborhood either. My family & I walked around after dark with no worries.

Value: I paid $30 more for 4 nights at the Maison than 2 nights at a downtown hotel (one of the "economy rooms"). At the Maison, you get free WiFi & free parking. A downtown hotel will charge you $30/day parking and $10/day internet. Oh, and did I mention that the Maison has an honor bar: $2 for a mug of tasty local beer (on tap!), $3 for a glass of wine. In my downtown hotel, a bud lite from the fridge was $7.

Rooms: We stayed in the Rose room. It was recently refinished and was beautiful. Huge bathroom with whirlpool tub. Two comfortable beds, beautiful antique furniture, and soft carpet. We didn't hear any other guests the whole time we were there.

Sleep Quality: Slept like a log. The beds are very comfortable, more so than I found at the hotel.

Breakfast: There are two breakfasts, a "cold" breakfast served at 7:30, and a "hot" breakfast served at 8:30. For the cold breakfasts, expect a nice spread of fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, cereal, some kind of delicious crumbly cake goodness, and fresh coffee. For the hot breakfast, expect any one of a variety of southern treats. And good grief - to the "breakfast was a bust" whiners - what do you expect? Was the Praline French Toast, Pecan & Banana pancakes, peppered bacon & creole breakfast potatoes not good enough for you? If you want foo foo banana foster flambe, go to one of the $500/night places.

Summary:

Strongly consider the Maison if:
- You like old fashioned Southern hospitality.
- You appreciate beautiful old architecture.
- You don't want to break the bank with your stay in New Orleans
- You are bringing kids. The Maison is *extremely* kid friendly.
- You want to experience true New Orleans living.
- You have to rent a car (free parking).

Do not go to the Maison if:
- You want to be within walking distance of downtown/the French Quarter at all times
- You are only going to NOLA for the night life.
- You prefer staying in a hotel.
- You are a snob.

Thanks Tom & Patricia for making our stay a great one. We will definitely come back!

Jason
Columbus, WI

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JasonInWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Maison Perrier
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2010

Easy walking to street car and to Magazine St. On a quiet block full of other pretty houses. Nice book library to borrow from, good cable TV channels, high ceilings in rooms, friendly staff. It felt like visiting a lovely home!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julientheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

My husband and I recently stayed here for a long weekend. A family member was getting married at Audubon Park, and most of our extended family stayed at the B&B. It was a wonderful experience!

We stayed in the Clair room. The king bed was extremely comfortable, and the bathroom was nice and oversized. We would definitely stay here again. The house as a whole is beautiful and makes you feel like you are staying in a friend's home. Tom is an amazing host - he remembers everyone's name and goes out of his way to make your stay as great as possible.

The wine-tasting in the evenings is fantastic. The breads and cheeses were delicious, as were the wines. The breakfasts were also yummy. French toast with a perfect amount of orange zest in the batter, and walnut bread pudding. Considering the nightly rates include breakfast and the wine-tasting, this B&B is a great value!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethkass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

This was our first trip back to New Orleans since Katrina hit and we arrived immediately following the Jazz Festival.

Hosts/Service: I must say that even before I got out of the car, Tom was already on the sidewalk to greet us - now that's an example of the Southern Hospitality that everyone raves about. Tom was very willing to share his knowledge of New Orleans, was always accessible and made every effort to ensure that we were comfortable throughout our visit. We had to leave on an extremely early flight and Tom was kind enought to check on us later that day to ensure that we had indeed made it back to NY safely. That personal touch simply made a world of difference and clearly he's in the right industry. We did meet Patricia briefly at breakfast.

Accommodations: Maison Perrier was beautifully furnished and what was most striking was the eclectic variety of artwork that graced the common areas. Breathtaking! We had the Jasmine room. The bathroom is quite generous in terms of space and boasts a whirlpool tub. It is also one of the few rooms that has a balcony. The room was comfortable, clean, quaint and reflective of the historical period. Final word, if that room is ever available, get it if you can.

Location: The inn is located on a quiet residential street in the Garden district and it is fairly close to the streetcar to the French Quarter. As others have mentioned, the walk to Magazine Street is worth it. Mag St is filled with nurmerous restaurants/cafes and the shopping is great. (If you've got a sweet tooth - try Sucre's)

Breakfast: Now this was the downside for us and it wasn't because I was traveling with a chef - trust me. I have read the positive reviews abt breakfast which left me puzzled but perhaps we just ate on an "off "day. Breakfast left us feeling very "underwhelmed". In New Orleans, one expects food (even if it is breakfast) that highlights a town known for its unique culinary heritage and excellence. Plain pancakes and bacon = major disappointment. I think guests would be better served heading to a local cafe on Magazine or in the Quarter.

Parking: Readily available on the street. No complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globaltrekker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaisonPerrier, Owner at Maison Perrier, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2010

To this reviewer, we say thanks so much for your kind words and compliments. We also really appreciate your input about the breakfast that you were served, and we are sorry that it was not one of our more creative presentations. Your criticism is valid, and we will definitely take it to heart.

We strive to make our breakfasts exceptional-- as most of our reviews relate-- but there are occasions when we serve a hearty portion of banana pecan pancakes, and black pepper encrusted bacon (which most people love). We attempt to not let any of our guests have the same breakfast entree twice, and as a result we have many options in our repertoire (praline French toast and Cajun sausage, or Creole eggs, grits and biscuits, or apple-puff pancakes and bacon, or spinach strata and pan-fried sweet potatoes, or almond croissant French toast, etc.). As this guest noted, they arrived at the end of Jazzfest. We had many guests in the house that had been with us for six or seven days, and we were forced to serve a more mainstream, less "regional" breakfast, so as not to have to serve them something that they had already eaten-- pancakes and bacon. It is unfortunate that this guest was only able to partake of one breakfast, as we are certain that their opinion would have differed had they stayed just one more day! Oh well, sometimes you only get one opportunity, and we will take full responsibility for not meeting their expectations.

Most B&Bs in New Orleans do not even serve a hot breakfast component, nor do they offer a cold breakfast equivalent to that which we serve on a daily basis (five to six types of fresh fruit, bagels, cereals, pastries, yogurts, juices, coffee, tea, etc.). We also go out of our way to accommodate any guests with food allergies and/or special dietary needs.

Lastly, we would like to use this forum as an opportunity to invite this guest to stay with us again. We would love to have a second chance to prove to them that our breakfasts are in fact one of the main reasons that we have such a strong repeat customer business. We won't let you down!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Maison Perrier is an example of why Trip Advisor reviews are so useful. It ostensibly looks out-of-the-way in a quiet section of the Garden District and I would not have chosen it, save for the reviews. Now I wouldn't go anywhere else.
Turns out it's a few minutes walk from the charming tramway into the French Quarter, in a secluded and pretty part of town, but within easy walking of all those services handy to the traveller - nearby Magazine Street is like a village strip, with laundromats, bookstores, local jewellers and artisans - and nedless to say Tom knows where everything is. We only stayed a short time but he arranged an airport car for my friend, booked restaurants and called cabs. It would be hard to find more helpful and congenial hosts than he and Patricia. A help-yourself bar on an honours system, breakfast a treat, large and comfortable rooms and helpful arrangements for people checking out late to airports. One could not ask for more.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McShyft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

I found Maison Perrier on Trip Advisor. I was looking for something more than the standard hotel room. We were a group of three women traveling together and were very happy with the combination of a room and the parlor. It is hard to think of what to add to what other reviewers have said except to say that Maison Perrier lived up to all my expectations. The breakfast, the rooms, the staff, Tom and Patricia were all wonderful. I will never stay anywhere else in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MolliHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We have stayed at Maison Perrier twice. Once last October, and again in December for our wedding. Everything was absolutely perfect! Tom and the rest of the staff did everything in their power to accomodate our larger group. Maybe not the best place if you have younger children, only because it is very quiet. The breakfast is wonderful, the location is great if you are looking for less touristy and more peaceful hotel. We also had 15 people in our group staying there as well, and every single one of them had nothing but wonderful things to say about this B&B! Five stars in my book. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwright45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#18 of 141 in New Orleans
672 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 141 in New Orleans
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hubbard Mansion
#31 of 141 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Grand Victorian Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 141 in New Orleans
171 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Perrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Perrier

Address: 4117 Perrier St, New Orleans, LA 70115-3826
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £110 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Perrier 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in "Uptown" 'Nawlins, this Victorian manse boasts elegance and style without sacrificing comfort and convenience. This National Registry of Historic Places B&B sits three blocks from St. Charles, is within walking distance of the Garden District, and is close to the French Quarter. Tastefully decorated with antiques and original artwork. Breakfast entrees include praline French toast, and Creole eggs with cheese grits. Spacious guestrooms, private bathrooms, voice-mail, WiFi internet access, and cable television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maison Perrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Perrier Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing