We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in the Quarter”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #83 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 14 November 2013

First off, I stayed at Hotel Royal for 3 nights on a busy weekend in New Orleans and enjoyed every aspect of it. Great location, near Bourbon St if that is your thing and walkable to anything in the Quarter. Attentive staff and well appointed. I was a bit tentative after having read a few negative reviews, but having spent a good bit of time in the Quarter I got the sense that these reviewers did not have realistic expectations for an neighborhood that was built in the 1700s and one block from Bourbon St. (you are looking in the wrong place if you want a large quiet room). I feel like I made the right choice and got what I paid for and a bit more knowing the area.

In short, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank JMarrs83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us at the Hotel Royal! We are thrilled you had such a pleasant stay with us and hope you will come back and see us when you return to New Orleans!
Sincerely,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

583 - 589 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

A little disappointed staying at Hotel Royal, we were in the room located the furthest away from reception which involved many flights of stairs, also the shower door broke which could have been a huge embarrassment as my husband could not get out of the shower without taking it apart! Breakfast very basic we stayed at another hotel the following night much better value for money, the only plus for his hotel was location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Bobbi28,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Hotel Royal. I would like to personally apologize that you were not satisfied during your stay with us. Hotel Royal was originally a Creole Townhouse in the 1800’s and an elevator was not needed. Our guest services staff is more than happy to assist guests with luggage. Your comment about your shower has been noted and our maintenance department has been made aware to fix the issue.
Regards,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed two nights at Hotel Royal. I was greeted by friendly staff who were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is located away from the crazy of Bourbon St but close enough to walk anywhere and feel safe. The room was tiny but clean and the bed was comfortable (and I'm picky). There were little details missing which would have made the room more comfortable......like somewhere to hang a hand towel or put your toothbrush. The biggest complaint was that the painted floors gave off fumes that caused some discomfort. Also the walls were thin so I spent one sleepless night listening to the couple next door crying and arguing. Overall the place was charming and contributed to a positive visit. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olyn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear olyn2013,
We appreciate your feedback concerning your recent stay with us at the Hotel Royal. We pride ourselves on our welcoming and service-oriented staff, so I am thrilled they were able to impress you. Thank you for providing helpful feedback regarding your stay, and please know we will actively work to ensure your expectations are exceeded upon your return.
Sincerely,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

we booked late and were happy with the price, room was very small (but who spends that much time in a room so close to the french quarter anyways? way too much to do.) very modern and very clean. staff was great. all in all a perfect first time!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsv128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear emsv128,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with at Hotel Royal. We are thrilled you enjoyed our property and staff and hope you will come back and see us if your travels bring you back to New Orleans!
Regards,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights - my first trip to New Orleans, one of a few for her. The Hotel Royal has a rustic, classic hotel feel. We stayed in two rooms while there - both were very clean. The first night - we arrived far before check-in time, which is normally 4pm. We were going to just leave our luggage and stroll the streets for a few hours, but they were able to check us in early. We paid for a "deluxe" room and I think, because of the early arrival, we may have ended up in a standard. That room was small, but quaint. Unfortunately, it must have been under an air conditioning unit and there was a constant, loud hum. In addition, the room was on a bit of a slant and one side of the bed made it feel as if you were rolling toward the other. So, we politely asked the next day if we could switch rooms. The staff was very pleasant and accomodated the request right away. The new room was far larger and very nice. It was next to a stairway, but the noise was minimal and didn't bother us at all. The bathrooms in both rooms were a bit cramped but nice - adorned with marble sinks and very clean. The staff is extraordinarily friendly and helpful - possibly the best aspect of our stay there. We needed an extra towel and something like 2 minutes later - they were at the door. Eric was particularly helpful - ready with directions, luggage assistance - very knowledgeable. Everyone on staff is great. The location is very convenient to everything in the Quarter. Community Coffee is across the street - like Starbucks with better tasting coffee! Which was nice. I would recommend this hotel to others and I would be happy to stay again!

Room Tip: Ask and pay for a deluxe room - they are a bit roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEagle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear CEagle69,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us at the Hotel Royal. We are thrilled that you had such a pleasant experience with us! I would like to apologize that you experienced a noise issue on your first night, but am glad we were able to remedy the situation quickly for you. Here at the French Quarter Hotel Collection, our staff is one of our strongest assets and Eric is a prime example of that top notch guest service we strive for. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to New Orleans!
Many Thanks,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Charming, historic, clean, great staff, great location just off Bourbon, easy walk to everywhere you want to go. Bottled water and light breakfast were nice touches. Rooms are small, I needed a deluxe.

Only real concern was the bed, You kind of roll toward the center. Needs to be replaced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear KenK,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for providing helpful feedback regarding your stay, and please know we will actively work to ensure your expectations are exceeded upon your return.
Regards,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I spent a milestone anniversary in New Orleans, and we booked ourselves into the Hotel Royal. We drove into N.O. from Houston which we enjoyed, however driving in the French Quarter and down Decatur Street was an experience. The hotel does not have any parking so be prepared to drop your bags and find a place to park. The staff was very helpful and steered us to some parking about six blocks away. Parking is around $25 a day which is not too bad for major North American city.
Now Hotel Royal is a quaint French Quarter Hotel, and it allows you to live that experience of all that is the French Quarter. This is a well restored historical hotel, updated, and tastefully decorated. The rooms are small, but you are not going to spend too much time there with all that there is too see in this great city. The rooms are laid out well and are very functional, someone knew exactly what they were doing. Bed was comfortable, and the room was comfortable even in the hot and humid New Orleans environment (they do have AC, not to mislead). If you require wifi, it is adequate for some browsing and the price is right (complimentary).
One thing you may need to know, no elevator, so if you are vertically challenged you need to let them know. I should of, but chose not to ask for a different room, and with my luck we ended up on the third floor, which was fine because it added to the charm with their nice central court yard. The hotel does have that old world charm, so enjoy it....... You walk a lot in the French Quarter so be prepared for the hotel stairs.....they almost did me in one night.....LOL
Cannot say enough about the staff, they were wonderful. The bellman who took our bags up two flights of stairs was polite, courteous and left us with a great impression. The front desk advised us on great places to dine and their suggestions were spot on. The staff was awesome.....truly impressed. Hotel Royal is a great place to hang your hat in NOLA. Only a little more space and parking would have bumped them up to five out five, but then you might not have that French Quarter charm, so better left alone..........price was realistic, so not too worry......would stay here again, but on a lower floor .......LOL

Room Tip: If you are older and mature with a knee replacement like myself, ask for the first two floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcdurangoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Bcdurangoboy,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Royal to celebrate your anniversary. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant experience celebrating such a milestone with us. Hotel Royal does have limited parking available on site; however regrettably our lot was full during your stay. We really pride ourselves on our talented and charming guest services staff, and I am glad they were able to enhance your experience with us. Thank you again for sharing your review and we hope you have many more happy Anniversaries!
Sincerely,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#111 of 166 in New Orleans
960 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#61 of 166 in New Orleans
1,757 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#52 of 166 in New Orleans
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel St. Helene
Hotel St. Helene
#114 of 166 in New Orleans
365 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#46 of 166 in New Orleans
2,269 reviews
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#36 of 166 in New Orleans
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: 1006 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2704 (Formerly Rue Royal Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: £76 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Royal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter on the corner of Royal St. and St. Phillips, Hotel Royal is the perfect location for leisure and business travelers alike. All 42 contemporary rooms and suites are surrounded by brick walls, high ceilings, fan windows and comfortable furnishings in the antebellum style. Accommodations range from courtyard rooms to large balcony suites with Jacuzzi, complete with private bath and wet bar. All guest rooms feature:-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-Welcome Amenities upon arrival-All-marble bathrooms with spa tub or shower/tub combo-Suites with iron-laced balconies-Recessed Lighting -Wi-Fi access-Flat screen LCD TVs-Irons and ironing boards-Individual air conditioner controls-Ipod clock radios. Coffee and Tea are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel New Orleans
Royal New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing