We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Saint Philip Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would definitely stay here again!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed this past weekend for a bachelorette party. We had a downstairs apartment which was more like a studio, and an upstairs apartment which had 2 separate rooms and a balcony. Both rooms were clean, spacious, fashionable and all around great! Location was great as well. We were walking distance from the amazing Cafe Du Monde and Bourbon St. (Bourbon St is the most disgusting / dirty place you can ever go to! EWW!) The staff was so friendly and very helpful when it came to providing directions and watching our bags while we grabbed lunch. The only annoying thing was waking up to garbage trucks and street sweepers at 7am. Other than that....IF I were to ever plan a trip back to New Orleans, I would most definitely stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    74
    18
    5
    9
See reviews for
68
112
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I recently stayed here along with 5 other people, for 5 nights, in their Family Courtyard Suite. Our stay at this apartment was wonderful! Everything we did and wanted to see was within walking distance! I liked that it was on the edge of the French Quarter, away from some of the bustle. The staff was really welcoming and accommodating, when we needed more towels and bowls for our apartment, they gladly gave us more and apologized for not having the room equipped with enough to begin with. Cafe Du Monde is three blocks away, the Faubourg Marigny and Frenchmen Street are about 5 minutes away (walking), Bourbon Street is 5 minutes away, Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop Bar (our go to bar for our stay) was two blocks away, it's so centrally located!!!!!!! This is an old building, like many of the buildings in New Orleans, but I find that it's part of the charm of the building! I loved our stay here!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosalia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPhilip, Manager at The Saint Philip Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Rosalia thanks very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience here on TA. We greatly appreciate your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomona, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Recently stayed for 4 nights. Was pleasantly greeted upon arrival and given tons of suggestions of things we could do right away even given the midnight check in to best utilize our time. Conveniently located; close enough to everything yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Bourbon. Cafe du Monde felt like a 3 minute walk. Right across from my new favorite bar, Flanagans. Felt like home, very quiet, beds were amazing, would stay here everytime.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamiegurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPhilip, Manager at The Saint Philip Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We greatly appreciate your choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience here. We look forward to hosting your party again on future trips. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Not some place I would recommend. I thought I was reserving a two bedroom, but they reserved the right to substitute a suite with two beds at the last minute. No way is a suite with two beds the same thing as a two bedroom. The management seemed rude and not very interested in making good on the right reservation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PRKSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SST2000, Owner at The Saint Philip Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2016
Dear Sir,
You reserved a two bedroom or suite apartment unit assigned upon arrival, it is clearly stated that you will be assigned either one of these types of apartments, but that they would both have 2 queen beds and sleep 4 persons. Of course you could have opted to guarantee yourself a balcony apt, but that would have cost $25 more per night. Please refrain from laying blame on us, when we clearly explain this in very easy to understand terms. We even suggest if you do not understand the terms or conditions to contact us direct, which you did not. When you did contact us a few days before your arrival demanding a balcony apt, we politely and kindly explained our policy once more over the phone, and even suggested you review either one of the THREE confirmations you received. We always do our best to honor requests, but there are just sometimes when a request is just a request and sad and unfortunately it simply cannot be honored. In this case if you did not understand what you booking, and then refused to take responsibility for your own inability to do so. And for the record, a suite with two queen beds is the exact same size an square footage as a 2 bedroom apt. With nearly 600 square feet, which is far beyond the size of any normal accommodation, located in one the best areas in town, you and your party more than likely would have enjoyed yourselves immensely but you just didnt want to even give it a chance. We even offered to allow you to spend one night and check out the next day with a full refund on the remaining balance if you found the accommodations to be so unbearable, but you refused to even do so. The only you perceived us as rude is because we had to tell you multiple times balcony units were completely sold out, first several times as nicely as possible but your constant insisting that you were right we were wrong just didnt work. Unfortunate you didnt just give it a try, or at the very least take responsibility for you lack of understanding. we hope you managed to stay somewhere that suited your needs and enjoyed your visit none the less.
Regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I wanted to take a minute to let everyone know how awesome this place is; The St. Philip French Quarter...wow, we could not have asked for better accommodations! There were 5 of us that went to New Orleans to celebrate my 50th birthday...3 of us being hotel managers. As hotel managers we went into the apartments checking everything out; you know looking for flaws. We could not find anything wrong! From the time we stepped out of our car to the departure, this staff was more than helpful! Tyler and Diva June were amazing! They did everything that was asked of them and more! The place itself was great; the atmosphere and apartments were top notch! This place was clean, location was perfect, and the staff was always willing to help with whatever we needed! We will be back for sure! I didn't want to leave! Keep up the great work! We appreciated everything you all did to make this occassion one to remember!

Room Tip: room 13 and 15 were amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPhilip, Manager at The Saint Philip Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Giovanni we are so thrilled your party had a great time while staying with us. Thanks for choosing to celbrate your special birthday with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We just got back from another week in NOLA and the St. Phillip is like a home away from home. Right in the French Quarter, with an authentic French Quarter atmosphere. The St. Phillip is so much better than a hotel. No busy reception desk waiting in line to check in. The apartment has a full kitchen so left overs from all the wonderful restaurants could be stored and re-heated. Couches to sit on instead of just beds, makes the apartment feel like home. It really feels like you are a local and not a tourist. I love sitting in the quiet court yard relaxing after walking around the city. Craig, Tyler, and June are helpful and very friendly. Thank you to the St. Phillip staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a really fantastic stay in our apartment! Tyler was really nice and gave us great advice... We had a little problem with our bathroom early on a Saturday morning, Tyler took care of EVERYTHING and even gave us a bottle of wine for our trouble! I would recommend St. Philip to anyone who wants to stay in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StPhilip, Manager at The Saint Philip Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor. We are very lucky to have Tyler with us, we agree that she is the bestest. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,396 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,401 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,012 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Philip Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Philip Hotel

Property: The Saint Philip Hotel
Address: 612 St. Philip Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-3216
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Speciality Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saint Philip Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic French Quarter, The Saint Philip Hotel is a true jewel among New Orleans lodging establishments. Free yourself from the mundane, same old hotel room and stay at a real gem! A truly unique New Orleans experience and vibe, offering all the modern conveniences! All renovated suites, 5-Star linen & terry, beautiful furnishings featuring local artwork and installations. All suites, more spacious than a typical hotel room, courtyard and balconies. Front Desk open and staff on-duty 24 hours per day. Daily Maid service & turn-down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Saint Philip Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Philip French Quarter Apts. Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing