We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious NOLA Breakfasts”
Review of Blue Plate Cafe - CLOSED

Blue Plate Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Garden District
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious NOLA Breakfasts”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The wife and I enjoyed a wonderful mid morning breakfast at the Blue Plate. I'm frustrated at the moment because I can't remember the two omelets we ordered - this was in September 10 or 11. It is off street in the Garden District, and parking was a bit of a challenge, but I'm so glad we made the effort. We were just minutes ahead of the breakfast cut off time, but they didn't blink at letting us choose from the b'fast menu - a grace note on the friendly and smart service. An eclectic treatment of regional favorites but not one cliché item or treatment. A waggish friend of mine says NOLA has 400 restaurants and 8 menus. Well, Blue Plate's definitely goes beyond the 8!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loosecanondtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    19
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Shut down!!!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Went to this place, and it was closed permanently, shut down. This was a disappointment it sounded like a good place

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusieQ883793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unique and friendly”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I loved this place...it feels like you are having breakfast in someone's home. So friendly and comfortable. The food was creative and interesting. I had salad, brie cheese, bacon and pecan pie for breakfast and somehow it all worked. There was a small mishap with swapping salt for sugar at the start of the meal, but it all ended with belly laughs and a NOLA experience I will never forget.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TXAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredonia, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We chose this restaurant because of the positive Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. The menu was interesting. The presentation was lovely. And, the food was delicious. Our waitress was very good. Don't plan to go early because they don't open until 8 AM. It is a 1 block walk from the streetcar line. We would have gone back if it wasn't our last day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ragerpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Quality causal dining in the Garden District”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were looking for a quality place to have breakfast in the Garden District and happened upon the Blue Plate Cafe. We were not disappointed. The restaurant was clean, cute and parking on the street was easy. The waitstaff was friendly and efficient...and the food was great. I opted for the Breakfast Burrito and it was fresh and delicious ($9.95) as well as big enough to share. My husband had the Breakfast Bello (eggs over a portobello mushroom with a red pepper sauce) and he thought it was one of the more interesting breakfast selections he had and enjoyed every bite. Coffee was hot, strong and plentiful. What's not to like?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CAKath2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Plate Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing