We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Pierre in NOLA”
Review of Hotel St. Pierre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Pierre
Ranked #65 of 165 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel had a great location in the French Quarter. Our room was good as it had both a sitting room and bedroom which worked well for three girlfriends traveling together. Breakfast was also included which was also convenient. Some of the staff was very helpful, some seemed annoyed if we asked a question??? Though housekeeping staff was friendly, they didn't do much housekeeping to speak of. The room we had showed it's age and wear, but the beds and bedding were great!! The bathtub faucet leaked profusely throughout the three nights we stayed there, and no matter how many times we brought it up, no one ever came to try to fix it, that we know of...lots of wasted water.

Room Tip: Ask to see rooms before you decide for sure which one you want, if possible, as each is unique.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbcleland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie P, Owner at Hotel St. Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. Your feedback is very important to us and will be shared with all departments as we strive to provide the best possible guest service as possible. We continue to conduct guest service training in all departments.

We are to begin guest room, bathroom updates in May so that by the end of summer all guest rooms will have been upgraded. We have already added the new bedding package, flat screen televisions, with mini refrigerators, microwaves and new drapery on the way.

We want to invite you back to see us again so that you can experience this wonderful gem at its best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,644)
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. Pierre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,239 of 1,645 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

ANOTHER TRIUMPH! (Feb6-10, 2014). Ms. Jodi & Ms Vickie are the best! This hotel has been going through renovations that have come out beautifully and still have more to come. I have stayed with them from the beginning of their renovations and returned several times during. FIRST OFF...I want to say, this is not your traditional hotel nor is it anything like the big chain hotel's. So if that is what you're looking for then those hotels are closer to Canal St. This property is TRUE New Orleans old world...rooms that represent guest rooms of days gone by. Quintessential NOLA old world, style and charm.

The lobby is a GREAT improvement from the old one. Clean lines, great art work and a breakfast nook that's quite homey looking out onto one of the properties pools. This property isn't what you would expect a traditional "hotel" to be. It is a collection of buildings whose rooms are very reminiscent of "old world" New Orleans. Some rooms are a bit small while others like the cottage rooms (201, 213, 214 etc) are huge. On this stay I had room #201. A sitting area, 2 queen beds and a sizeable bathroom. The room was immaculately clean, new carpet looked great! (although light carpet is going to be a chore to keep clean, bold choice LOL). This room had 2 ceiling fans, refrigerator, microwave and a nice size flat screen tv. This room is unique in that it's door opens directly onto Burgundy like any home in the quarter. Found this to be a unique but welcome experience.

This property is located just minutes from Bourbon Street and just steps from the Quarter Grocery that makes some of the quarters best Po' Boy's & plate meals (suggestions: Bacon cheese burger, chicken tender & hot link Po' Boy's, Chicken wing & Fries, Red Beans/Rice & Sausage plate). The property has a nice pool outside the breakfast nook and a smaller pool in the back of the property. While minutes from Bourbon Street it is far enough away if you want quiet, restful sleep. The staff is nice and pleasant...the only suggestion I have would be to have another front desk clerk on duty or someone that can be called up when people are checking in/out. The front desk clerk was BUSY and while trying to help a guest a line started to form. One guest wanting a cab, 3 checking-in, myself and 2 others trying to check-out and another guest having questions about what to do/see/eat.

Reading some of these property reviews I have to wonder "ARE WE STAYING AT THE SAME HOTEL?!?!". Roaches? Bugs? Unclean rooms? NEVER in all the MANY trips (1-2 times a month over years) have I EVER encountered these issues. Once the bathroom in the room I was in backed up and they IMMEDIATELY changed my room so their staff could work on the issue. Now the "rude staff" comment...I wouldn't say it was rude but rather DIRECT & TO THE POINT! they're very busy during holidays/events and have to deal with check-ins and overtly drunk customers. It's a testament to their patients and self control that they manage the smile that they do! If it were me I'm not sure I could maintain as well. And lastly if you don't want ANY NOISE WHAT SO EVER don't stay in the French Quarter. The HSP can not control the parties, marching bands and 3rd line marches going on! The French Quarter is a party and full of life...AGAIN, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE IF YOU DON'T WANT THE NOISE! NOISE IN THE FW IS A FACT OF LIFE!

I'd like to take this opportunity to thank Ms Jodi and Ms Vickie for another great stay! To the management/owner of the Hotel St Pierre, FINALLY a hotel that has done it right. You have a GREAT TEAM in these 2 terrific ladies: dynamic, pleasant, genuine, sincere and a sheer joy to deal with! TAKE THEIR ADVICE AND FOLLOW THEIR LEAD, they'll not disappoint you. They have moved the Hotel St Pierre in the right direction, done a great job earning back business (especially from this traveler) to the point that this guest doesn't have one problem recommending this to friends and travelers...NOT TO MENTION WRITING THIS REVIEW!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GeorgeToti-Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie P, General Manager at Hotel St. Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such a complimentary review following your recent stay here at St Pierre. I'm so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the service provided to you by our team! I will be sure to share your kind words with everyone. We truly look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to New Orleans, hopefully in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We just got back from a lovely stay at Hotel St Pierre in New Orleans. This hotel is two blocks off Bourdon St – which is just right. Our room was small – but recently renovated – very comfortable. There is a continental breakfast every day with great donuts. BIG BONUS – is the grocery store a ½ block away with a nice little wine selection. We took a cab to and from the airport for $33 each way – best way to go. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMP386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie P, General Manager at Hotel St. Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I want to especially thank you for your lovely comments about your stay at our hotel. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We spent our wedding anniversary at the St. Pierre and loved it! The room was gorgeous, surprisingly spacious, very clean, and full of New Orleans charm. The staff was friendly, accommodating and available. The hotel is located on a quaint, quiet and bucolic street that is steps away from the best restaurants and nightlife that the city has to offer. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay-

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie P, General Manager at Hotel St. Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us at the St. Pierre and for taking the time to post your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here January 2014 for our 10th wedding anniversary before a cruise. I loved this hotel with so much character and charm. Our room was one of the newly renovated rooms, as offered by the front desk when I called to confirm. I thought the rooms were so charming and exactly the type of experience we were looking for when staying in the french quarter. The breakfast was good and everything was very clean. The front desk were very nice, they gave me a map of the quarter and marked all of the places I wanted to visit and also gave me a few restaurant recommendations that were great! Everthing was in easy walking distance and felt very safe. I loved the courtyards and the tables set up outside our rooms. I will most definitely be staying here again when we return to the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HarperJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie P, General Manager at Hotel St. Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the St. Pierre. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel has recently been sold and is now part of a group. It is also undergoing a total renovation. Unfortunately the rates do not reflect the lack renovation to date. We had pre-paid for our 3-night stay. We were initially put in a room where the remote for the ceiling-high a.c/heater didn't work, the two floor lamps did not work nor did the other outlets in the room. The toilet roll holder fell completely off the wall when touched -and the floor was wet, soaking the paper. Further there was no fan in the bathroom which was windowless. There was dirty Kleenex in the Kleenex box; other people's 'stuff' in two drawers! So, we requested to be moved of course.

New room: Still no fan in bath and this time also no outlet.and zero room to place any items. Carpets were clean and beds were OK, but it ends there. Toilet seat was chipped all the way around; bathroom cabinet under the sink was crooked and door was missing its skin in the corner. Not serious but for $170 a night, one shouldn't have this level of disrepair. In the bedroom, the one chair had torn upholstery and the nightstand drawer was broken. OK, that's the decor. On top of that a hotel staff person started to bring someone into the room at 2a.m. - apparently no one had noted that the room was in use. Luckily we has the door latched so the door only opened a couple of inches.

If you want to stay in this very convenient location, I suggest you wait until the renovations are done....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jellevant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie P, General Manager at Hotel St. Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback so that we can use it in our ongoing efforts to improve our staff's customer service and therefore our guests' experience.The experience you described here is not at all what we strive to provide for our guests. I have shared your comments with the front desk, housekeeping and maintenance departments in an effort to prevent this from happening in the future. Please accept our apologize for your stay falling short of a great hotel experience.

We believe this to be a charming historic French Quarter gem with tons of potential and most of our guests see it as such. While we recently completed lobby renovation, we continue with our guest rooms. We already have new bedding, mattresses, furniture, flat screen televisons, and mini-refrigerators, and microwaves are on order . We will continue renovations and upgrades to our guest rooms which will include bathrooms which are scheduled for completion by late summer.

Again, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience. We hope you will give us another chance after our upgrades have been completed.

I would appreciate the opportunity to speak to your personally about your stay. Please contact me at 504.524.4401

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel St. Pierre Room 201 (Arte Shaw) January 2014. Troy at the front desk was the most helpful and courteous of the staff we had contact with and thanks go out to him for his professionalism and assistance!
Our room was large with 2 full size beds and a pull out sofa (none of which are comfortable,lol). Location is very convenient and within walking distance to French Quarter Marketplace, Jackson Square, Trolley, stores and restaurants, etc. We had 4 young children with us and felt safe walking around. We enjoyed the street musicians and performers and the local cuisine and culture.
Parking is an issue, so we paid for the use of the hotel's parking lot (well worth it!) and only actually drove one time since everything is so close. The hotel is old and shows it, but they are in the process of renovation. There are lovely courtyards in the interior. Prices vary according to season and/or day of week. This area is renowned for party goers and drinking on the street is common (and legal). It can get loud, but it wasn't too bad the weekend we were there. They have wifi, which can be spotty.
If you're looking for luxury, this is NOT the place for you, but if you want to bask in the flavor of old New Orleans, give it a try.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms away from the street for more comfort and less noise.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1silentobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie P, General Manager at Hotel St. Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay here at St Pierre. I'm so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the service provided to you by our team! I will be sure to share your kind words with everyone. Furthermore, I am happy to share that we have upgraded our WIFI so we shouldn't have any spotty issues moving forward. We will also continue this year with our guest and bathroom upgrades, which will certainly help us to give a better experience to all our guests. We truly look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to New Orleans, hopefully in the not too distant future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#60 of 165 in New Orleans
589 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#108 of 165 in New Orleans
861 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 165 in New Orleans
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#33 of 165 in New Orleans
2,286 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#42 of 165 in New Orleans
792 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 165 in New Orleans
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Pierre

Address: 911 Burgundy Street, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-3003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#83 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £88 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Pierre 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the National Register of Historic Places, the Hotel St. Pierre, with its authentic French Colonial cottages dating back to the 1700's, embodies the architecture, romance, and ambiance of a bygone era. Contributing greatly to the hotel's charm is the relaxed atmosphere of this quiet residential section of the French Quarter. One would never guess its proximity to world class dining, culture, and the lively nightlife of Bourbon Street. Secluded lush tropical courtyards, balconies, pools, and fountains help make this the perfect spot for a family vacation, romantic escape, or storybook wedding, as well as for incentive trips, reunions, and family vacations. Valet parking available for $39.95 plus tax per vehicle per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pierre Hotel New Orleans
St Pierre New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing