We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was skeptical...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel St. Pierre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel St. Pierre
Ranked #69 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Was skeptical...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was a bit skeptical with all the reviews I had read. It was about a 50/50 split good/bad. I was very pleased with our stay! The room was small but clean! King bed takes up a lot of room. But that was about the only time we were there. New furnishings. Bathroom had been redone new tile and sink/basin. A/C worked fine!! Large, new, flat screen tv. Don't know if it worked, never turned it on! Too much to do and see!! Great location. 2 blocks off Bourbon. No worries walking back..... even late. Would definitely stay there again!!!!

Room Tip: Off street rooms are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    434
    194
    90
    142
See reviews for
251
530
63
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

An awesome girls family weekend in the French Quarters with perfect accommodations! St. Pierre is very conveniently located in the french quarters with newly remodeled rooms and lobby. Very quiet and comfortable rooms after a day in the quarters! Looking forward to our next stay at St. Pierre!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie P, General Manager at Hotel St. Pierre, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us at the St. Pierre, and for taking the time to post your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Hotel was right in the heart of the french quarter. I had read the reviews of this hotel after booking and some praised it and others hated it, but, I have to say my boyfriend and I loved it. We stayed April 2014 and it seemed the renovations people are complaining about have been completed. The hotel is in a great location, a couple blocks from bourbon street which is good because its close enough to walk to (or stumble away from) and its far enough that the noise (and smell) is not noticeable. We were able to walk to the St. Louis Cemetery, to the trolley by the river, and the Superdome (it took about 30 minutes). The room itself was cozy (small). There was a fan and an air conditioner/ heater. We tried using the heater, but, it kind of smelled like burn so we shut it off so the smoke detector wouldn't go off. The auto air con kept the room at a great cool temperature. The bedding was fluffy and comfortable. The shower fine with good water pressure. There was a time when the hot water ran out, but, that only happened once towards the end of the shower. There was a coffee machine in our room, but, there was only decaf (bleh) and there was no powerpoint near the coffee maker to actually plug it in. There was no closet, so, I kept everything in my suitcase. There was no alarm clock in my room, but, I took my own travel clock. The room was located on the second floor of the courtyard and there is no elevator, so, you have to carry your luggage up some stairs (just ask the bell man for help and give him a tip if you do not want to carry your own luggage) and the lights for the courtyard were very bright, but, if you close the storm shutters it blocks out ALL the light. The breakfast is basic, you have bagels with jam or cream cheese, cereal (cornflakes), juice, milk, and coffee. All in all, this is a wonderful hotel and I will stay again if I get the chance.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter. Smaller but quieter. I stayed in the "Miles Davis"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina_V_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Location, location. The perfect spot for walking or catching cheap cabs. Our room was the smallest out of 4. Not even a chair to sit on, or room in the bathroom for your shaving kit. I felt like I was on a cruise ship. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Not everything was in working order, we could not get hot water out of the sink and the shower cold water faucet was ready to fall out of the wall. Our door to get in was stuck most of the time and with slippery steps to stand on a hazard. The court yards and breakfast areas were beautiful and we put the tables outside to good use. The wait staff made sure I had plenty of hot water, and so very courteous. If you are looking for the true feeling of the French Quarter, this is a great place, though pricey.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first and make sure to ask for a renovated one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western md
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great just two short blocks to bourbon and easily walkable to the rest of the French quarter. Price was good and the room was large and service was great. Room had stained carpets and walls and bathroom needs a major upgrade. The free breakfast is adequate and a good start to the day, courtyards and lobby area are very nice. Overall a nice hotel, great location, but until the complete the renovations and remove the disgusting carpets the are nothing more than an affordable place to crash. Ask for a renovated room if you can.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank adam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie P, General Manager at Hotel St. Pierre, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and its being shared with our entire staff in our ongoing efforts to improve our staff's customer service and therefore our guests' experience.

We believe this to be a charming historic French Quarter gem with tons of potential and most of our guests see it as such. While every effort is being made to upgrade our property, this is a process that takes time. New bedding, mattresses, furniture, flat screen televisions, have all been installed in most guest rooms, with new mini-refrigerators scheduled for delivery any day. The next phase of upgrades to be complete by the end of summer include new carpeting and bathroom renovations.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience. We hope you will give us another chance after our upgrades have been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is the first time I've been a tourist in my own home town . We were home for the first time in 3 years and even though it was for a funeral, we were looking forward to the visit. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by a not so friendly, John, front desk clerk, I thought, he's certainty lacking the southern hospitality I was longing for, however, the rest of the staff made up for his rude behavior. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The only complaint, besides John, was the parking, not driver friendly, very narrow and was filled with trucks and renovation supplies. If you are going to be charged for the convenience of parking, it should be convenient. Overall, I would recommend the Saint Pierre, hopefully, John is working on his customer service skills and that during their renovation they are making efforts to improve the parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank millieskit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie P, General Manager at Hotel St. Pierre, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We truly value the feedback from our guests and apologize that we did not meet all of your expectations. Providing our guests the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. As for John, he is no longer with us and we will continue our customer training in all departments so this never happens again.
If you come back again, I would love to speak to you directly, so please ask for me.

Vickie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

It is set in the cutest setting. But we needed to come to the front desk to ask how to get to our rooms. Rooms were small but that is understandable. But there was no coffee machine in our room, the other room our friends had, had a coffee machine, But neither of our rooms had clocks. The floor in the bathroom was not clean, even on the second day. It is so sweet, but definitely lacking. We also asked for a wake up call, and didn't get it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehcanada_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie P, General Manager at Hotel St. Pierre, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your input, and the feedback from our guests is vitally important to us and we always want our guests expectations met upon arrival.
Per our comments, we've gone through the property and have ordered enough coffee makers for all of our rooms. We've also shared your comments about the lack of cleanliness of the bathroom to the housekeeping staff so that this will not happen again.
If you come back to see us again, I would love the opportunity to meet with you directly, so please ask me.
Vickie Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Andrew Jackson Hotel
#88 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#35 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#32 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#120 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Pierre

Property: Hotel St. Pierre
Address: 911 Burgundy St, French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116-3003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#83 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Pierre 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the National Register of Historic Places, the Hotel St. Pierre, with its authentic French Colonial cottages dating back to the 1700's, embodies the architecture, romance, and ambiance of a bygone era. Contributing greatly to the hotel's charm is the relaxed atmosphere of this quiet residential section of the French Quarter. One would never guess its proximity to world class dining, culture, and the lively nightlife of Bourbon Street. Secluded lush tropical courtyards, balconies, pools, and fountains help make this the perfect spot for a family vacation, romantic escape, or storybook wedding, as well as for incentive trips, reunions, and family vacations. Valet parking available for $32.95 plus tax per vehicle per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel St. Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Pierre Hotel New Orleans
St Pierre New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing