We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bienville House
Ranked #53 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Bienville House is a charming hotel on the edge of the French Quarter with easy access to all the big hotels where conventions and conferences are held. Avoid the cookie-cutter quality of the major chains and stay at this cute, well-appointed former grain warehouse. Continental breakfast is included--sit outside in the lovely courtyard if weather permits. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I stayed in an internal room (no windows) since I knew I wouldn't be hanging out much in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,259 - 1,265 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I recently completed my stay at the Bienville House and I was extremely disappointed with my experience. I booked a double/double room with a balcony in September and requested a Decatur balcony so i could have a good view of the Quarter during Mardi gras. I called to confirm that I would have a balcony room on Decatur on two separate occasions (once in December and once in February) and was told that, "yes, indeed, you have a double room balcony on Decatur". I was shocked when I arrived at the hotel to find that I had been placed in a room with a courtyard balcony. I had a great view of a cement wall and my neighbor's room. The guest service representative on-duty was completely unfriendly and unaccommodating. She informed me that there were no double/double balcony rooms, that all the Decatur balconies were King rooms so there is no way I could've been placed in a Decatur room since I had three people in my party and needed two beds. I should've been told when I booked the room that there were no double/double rooms with balconies on Decatur. For the price I paid ($576 for two nights), I could've found a room somewhere else in the Quarter that better matched my needs.

Room Tip: Only King Rooms overlooking Decatur
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KidC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just returned from a six-night stay at this wonderful boutique hotel. Location was perfect. Near to the parades of Mardi Gras and the craziness of Bourbon Street, but remote enough to enjoy a restful night’s sleep. Rooms were clean. Staff was exceptionally accommodating. Charming . . . charming . . . charming.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiG8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was our second time to stay at the Bienville House and it will not be our last. The location is perfect for walking to the French Market, Bourbon St, Warehouse District, St. Charles, etc. We stayed in a large King with a luscious, plant laden patio out our door. Breakfast is included and if the weather is nice, you can eat in the courtyard next to the pool. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful. American Express was offering a deal, so we were lucky to get an expensive room, at a great price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhcmemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have stayed at he Bienville House many times for business and pleasure. Every time I go, I enjoy it more. The facility and location are incredible, but the real enjoyment comes from the Staff. They are absolutely superb! I can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank careysaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHSales, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear careysaab,

Thank you. It truly means a lot to us to hear about our guests experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The Bienville House is convenient to the French Market Area, Jackson Square, Bourbon Street and Canal Street. It is a great value for the location. The property is well maintained and clean. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Our room was one of the least expensive. It is in the interior of the building without windows. We enjoyed the quiet and were able to sleep throughout the craziness of Mardi Gras.

The hotel offers a contintental breakfast each morning and has newspapers in the lobby.

We've stayed in about 15 hotels in New Orleans. This is in the top 5, including some of the much more expensive options. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: There are many options so be specific about what you want. We selected a quiet room which was also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoonerLater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHSales, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear SoonerLater,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate the time it took you to write this and share with others. Please come stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#14 of 166 in New Orleans
2,775 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#18 of 166 in New Orleans
1,432 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#48 of 166 in New Orleans
3,528 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,997 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#46 of 166 in New Orleans
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1082
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £119 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment. It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing