We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot for disabled”
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bienville House
Ranked #55 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Westlake Village, Ca.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great spot for disabled”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We spent a week at this hotel, which I chose for location, although the prices were quite good.The free breakfast buffet was extensive, with a helpful little lady serving as hostess. I walk with a cane, so I found a step-free ramp to the main street, two city blocks to the waterfront, close to the cathedral, street cars and every classy restaurant in the French Quarter....we walked everywhere, every day, with great ease. We did not visit the Jazz joints, but the Hard Rock and House of Blues were visible nearby. We did not know the Music Fest was going on, and a few days later Navy Day /tall ships came to the park...Really great ! The tour buses left the Jax Brewery depot, the paddleboat tour and carriage rides were all very close. Coming and going to the airport, the shuttle seemed to avoid heavy traffic by some quick routes...effortless travel. This bouteque hotel is located just right....try it....you'll love it !

Room Tip: We had a balcony king room, just over the entrance. The N.O. fire house faced our room, and on two l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    503
    180
    85
    71
See reviews for
329
702
47
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed for four nights in April and had a great stay. The complimentary wifi & breakfast was a nice bonus. The location in the French Quarter was perfect-everything we wanted to see was close by. The staff were friendly and efficient. The rates seemed high but I think this was because there was a festival on would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I have been visiting New Orleans for over 25 years. Have stayed in many nice hotels during this time including the Marriott, Westin, and the Monteleone, a sister property. It was through an e-mail from the Monteleone about three years ago that we learned about the Bienville House. We decided to try it, fell in love with it, and will never stay anywhere else.

The location is superb. Pretty much a 2-3 block walk from Bourbon street, Canal Place, Riverwalk, The Aquarium, Jackson Square, and the St. Charles streetcar. A little further to the French Market, but straight down Decatur St. from the hotel.

The staff at the hotel is absolutely superb, with none of the indifference frequently experienced in large cities. On our first trip we were treated wonderfully. On subsequent trips we were always welcomed as returning guests. They will do anything possible to see that you have a pleasant and comfortable stay. The valet parking is probably the best in New Orleans, and among the least expensive at $20.00 / night. Others have run from $30.00 to $40.00 per night. From valet parking to the front desk is only a few steps. Wi-Fi is now free. If you are a breakfast person they offer a complimentary continental breakfast with various types of rolls, fruit, juices, milk, and an absolutely wonderful coffee.

We normally request a room with a courtyard balcony. These balconies are small, but adequate for two, and overlooks an absolutely beautiful courtyard with a small salt water pool. On our last visit we had a room with a much larger, though private, balcony overlooking Decatur Street. It was a different, but wonderful experience, watching the people, the street, and the energy of the city from the security of a second floor balcony. On occasion, the fire station across the street can provide additional excitement. Actually, I believe it possibly has been our favorite room.

I am at a little bit of a loss, reading the few reviews about a having a dirty or moldy room, or with malfunctioning plumbing. We have never experienced this. Our rooms have always been very clean and well maintained. The magnificent four poster beds have a very comfortable mattress. The hotel provides a complimentary in-room safe. Thankfully, although the ambiance of the hotel may be nineteenth century, the bathroom fixtures are modern and have always worked.

Overall, this is a great little boutique hotel, skillfully blending the eloquence of yesteryear with the demands of the 21st century guest.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2012

my girlfriend and I had never been to new Orleans. we were flying into Houston for a couple of weeks and decided to take up a quick trip to the 'crescent city.' of course everyone said the French quarter was the place to stay so naturally we looked into hotels in that area. that's when we came across this little jewel.
from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, our entire stay was wonderful. the staff were friendly and came across genuine in their polite conversation. the room was stayed in (which was a deluxe room) was beyond expectations in space and comfort. plus the little balcony overlooking the courtyard below added an extra touch of ease and relaxation.
we didn't venture to the bar in the hotel but the breakfast wasn't too bad. simple Danishes, cinnamon rolls, choice of cereal, toasts, yogurt, etc. More so simple continental style but did the trick every morning.
we were lucky we got great weather too (in the mid 80s), which made the trip all the more enjoyable. overall, I recommend this place to those couples looking for a bit of quiet with southern charm and hospitality. and on a budget, you shouldn't be disappointed.

Room Tip: delux room is a little more but worth it if you'd like a little sun balcony in the mornings/even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitro, West Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The taxi from the airport was 43.00, but I shared a taxi so it wasn't bad. The hotel is in the perfect location to shop and walk to the nightlife on Bourbon street. There is a bar in the hotel, but I never made it there. The lobby was nice and the workers were super helpful. The room was really large and the bathroom was updated. It felt so romantic. I loved the hotel and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelli E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasantville, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Let me start by saying the front desk staff at your Hotel were great. They were always friendly and willing to help in any way they could.We were rather disappointed in the Hotel itself.

The safe in our room had a low battery and needed changed. We stopped at the front desk every day to report the issue and it was never fixed. Each day we were assured it would be fixed by the time we got back. We didn’t want to put anything in the safe with the fear the battery would die while our items were still in it.

The room had an odor of stale basement – we had to air our room out every evening when we returned. With the room closed up all day – the smell was really unpleasant. We would prop our door open every evening – even though I didn’t feel safe in propping the door open we still did it.

We had no hand soap for the sink – so we had to use shower soap to wash our hands until day 2 – housekeeping did give us soap the 2nd day. This wasn’t critical so we didn’t call the front desk for hand soap since we had something we could use.

We had to request toilet paper – when housekeeping would come in, everything was not checked. We also weren’t given wash clothes.

We were very disappointed with the breakfast bar. We got down there one morning around 9:30 and it was mostly picked over. The breakfast bar attendant asked my friend if she’d like coffee – and brought her a cup. She asked if we needed cream and we replied no thank you. But, then the coffee was too hot and asked her for creamer to help cool down the coffee- she replied with the creamer is gone. How can you have coffee and no cream, they go hand in hand. There had to be creamer back in the kitchen. So, (this is where it gets good), the breakfast bar attendant walked over to this lady while she was heating a piece of toast and took the creamer off her plate – the lady responded with “HEY I NEED THAT” and my friend told the attendant to give the cream back to the lady who had it first. That was so rude. You don’t go and take items off someone’s plate while they are in line. We decided with the lack of options and the bad service we wouldn’t eat the free breakfast.

The showerhead was fabulous – the shower was amazing.

The elevator broke a lot. I am extremely claustrophobic as is and the elevator was down 2-3 times during our 4 day stay. We did use the service elevator once. We were not confident in the functionality of the elevator and if we would have gotten stuck, I would have seriously freaked out.

Location was great. We enjoyed being able to walk everywhere.

The front desk did give us a name of a vegetarian restaurant and an address, we walked pretty far to get there to find out it was closed and all boarded up. That was day 1 before we knew where anything was. I would recommend verifying places before sending guests there.

We inquired about the Halloween parade and were told it was cancelled by the front desk. To find out later, there was a parade. We missed it. Halloween weekend and all the events is one of the reasons we came to New Orleans. We wanted to find out the parade route, and missed the entire thing.

Overall we had a nice trip, but the hotel was less than what was expected. I will be putting my review on Trip Advisor and will state that I would not recommend this hotel.

THIS LETTER WAS SENT TO HOTEL AND THEY NEVER RESPONDED.
Date of stay: 10/29/2011
Departure: 11/2/2011

Room Tip: Don't pick this hotel. That's my tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHSales, General Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Kimberly W,


Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you endured during your recent stay with us. I am appalled that we failed so poorly in our responsibility to you as our guest. There simply is no excuse for the inconveniences you experienced. We would like to hear more about your stay. Please email scaputo@hotelmonteleone.com directly. We apologize again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This rather small hotel is big in other ways. It is within walking distance to the entire French Quarter. The rooms are small, but very nicely appointed with reproduction furniture. The patio is very "New Orleans", and the breakfast is more than ample for a complementary start of the day! We have stayed there often, and have been pleased. The balcony rooms are larger and offer a fun view of the fire station!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phyllis t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,363 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 164 in New Orleans
1,305 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#32 of 164 in New Orleans
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#60 of 164 in New Orleans
988 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,291 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Property: Bienville House
Address: 320 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1082
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing