We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BeaU-tifully Decorated an intimate pleasure”
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bienville House
Ranked #54 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Wonderful hotel if you like an intimate elegant rather than corporate monster experience. This place had a decorator who did it right...even .the bathroom soaps are on a silver tray that has doilies under the glasses and the roof is made into a private garden space,..the complimentary continental breakfast is generous and server is sweet and helpful... This staff has been together and it shows..The pool is a relaxing oasis but needs to be heated to be swimable .nevertheless this place gets a strong recommendation in my book. Excellent, Very

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ialine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,238 - 1,244 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

This hotel was everything I was looking for during our stay in New Orleans. The hotel is located near the end of Decatur Street closer to the financial district/downtown so it's a bit recessed from the hubbub of the heart of French Quarter but a VERY short walk to hubbub if that's what you want. I wanted a little bit of quiet at night to sleep so I was fine with not being in the middle of the ruckus. Decatur Street also happens to have lots of great bars, shops and restaurants all along it, and if you're a relatively fast walker, you can get to almost anywhere in the French Quarter walking within 20-30 minutes. Our room was very quiet and I was never woken up once, even though we were right across the street from a fire station and our window faced it. I wasn't even sure the firemen ever went out! A handful of amazing restaurants are right around the corner from the hotel, including Antoine's (highly recommended, as a side note), which is one of the oldest restaurants in New Orleans and home of the original Oysters Rockefeller. I would absolutely come back for another stay at this affordable French Quarter hotel.

Room Tip: This is an old hotel so not every room comes with a window. Make sure you choose a Deluxe room if wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

In an excellent location in the French Quarter to explore everything the area has to offer on foot including the terminal for river cruises on the famous steamboat 'Nachez' and Bourbon Street which comes alive at night.

The hotel has maintained its character during a recent refurbishment and offers quality, clean accomodation at affordable prices. The small outside pool and patio an added bonus though NOLA was very cold when we were there on the run up to Mardi Gras.

The only downside is the breakfast area and what is on offer. Machine ( though acceptable) coffee, cereals, pastries and toast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jubits8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

New Orleans is loaded with hotel options. This one will not disappoint if you you want convenient charm. Lovely courtyard and pool, breakfast (albeit limited) and excellent location is all you need.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I stay at the Bienville House whenever I go to New Orleans. The hotel and rooms are always clean. The staff is wonderful and knowledgeable. The location is perfect. This is the Hotel I recommend to friends visiting The Big Easy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was a great place to stay during Mardi Gras. It's far enough away from the noise Bourbon Street, but close enough to all the action so you can get there when you feel the need. It's in the French Quarter and central to all the restaurants and shopping. The staff are wonderful and know the area if you need any guidance.

We stayed in a room with a small balcony which overlooked the beautiful courtyard and swimming pool. By the way, I swam in the pool most every morning. Very refreshing.

Angela booked our stay and I can't say enough about her. She went out of her way to ensure our group had a great experience and is very knowledgeable about Mardi Gras and what to see & do while there. This made our stay even more enjoyable.

They offer a continental breakfast in the lobby every morning. Very good, and the lady attending it is friendly and attentive.

The Iris restaurant is just off the lobby and although we were too busy to try the food (next time!), I did stop in for cocktail (or two) and found the mixologist, Sharon, to be one of the best I've had the pleasure of meeting. She can mix all the classics, but if you are adventurous she can make you one of her specialties which are amazing.

All in all, this is a fun place to stay. No hotel can be perfect, but it's really the staff who make or break a hotel. And this place has that covered.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Speed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay and found this hotel to be excellent in all respects, and the location is fabulous. We stayed in a Sun Deck room on the 4th floor, facing the back, which was very quiet and spacious for a boutique hotel. Staff was excellent, everything was clean and well cared for, continental breakfast was fresh and adequate. This hotel is central to the
French Quarter, to the Riverfront area and also to get to the St Charles streetcar line to travel out to places like the WW II museum, and the Garden section. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Sun Deck room are a nice size and no one above you. We did not use the patio area outside but that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PittsburghTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#31 of 166 in New Orleans
2,341 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#17 of 166 in New Orleans
2,730 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#63 of 166 in New Orleans
1,030 reviews
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#40 of 166 in New Orleans
610 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#19 of 166 in New Orleans
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1082
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £127 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment. It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing