We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quiet Hotel”
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bienville House
Ranked #51 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Great boutique hotel to stay in French Quarters. Since it is a smaller hotel we got to interact with staff. Front desk would always address us by name. Our room was nice sized, clean and set in New Orleans decor.. Had french doors leading to patio that overlooked pool, river and street so we were able to watch horse and buggies go by.. Had continental breakfast every morning and fresh lemonade and cookies were put out for guests every afternoon. Got to mingle with other guests which made it feel more like a family atmosphere. Had a fire station across the street so we felt safe coming in late at night. Our hotel area was not noisy at night and we were in walking distance to all of the great restaurants and attractions..This was our second time staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balacony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladymac221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,200 - 1,206 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

What a beautiful place on a perfect location! But....not well kept, everything needs to be cleaned up properly. hallway and room really dusty and dirty! bathroom not clean at all, stains on de towels! Breakfast... a disaster: 3 tables inside for the whole hotel, as it was raining and nobody could sit outside imagine the chaos!!
Absolutely not a 4 star hotel on the inside

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Bienville House Hotel. We regret that during your stay you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and we apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review. We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I recently had a two week class in New Orleans. I originally booked The Holiday Inn, on Royal. I checked into The Holiday Inn and immediately checked out. It was so nasty. Thankfully The Bienville House accommodated me for my stay. Thank you again! I will never stray from The Bienville House again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonardHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Me and my family went to New Orleans for a 2 day trip and decided to stay at this Hotel. It was an amazing stay for the location and the price. My room was very clean with french doors opening to a balcony of my own. The staff was friendly and the location was wonderful at the French Quarter. This was my first time staying at this hotel and I was very impressed and satisfied. They have valet parking and a breakfast/lunch buffet. The House of Blues is one block right across the street and Bourbon St. is three blocks up...with the Audubon Aquiarium just 2 blocks down.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewAustin_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We have stayed here twice in the past year and have been pleased both times. Great service. Clean rooms. Rooms are beautifully decorated while leaving the historic beauty of New Orleans. The location is wonderful for those who wish to explore The French Quarter on foot.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear have quick access to terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This was my first stay at the Bienville House. The occasion was Tales of the Cocktail. BH, a sister property to the ToC HQ, the Monteleone, turned out to be a great choice. The vibe is boutique hotel. Charming small pool and courtyard. Our room, though smallish, was well furnished with French doors opening onto a tiny balcony. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful .Although it is located in a heavily touristed part of the French Quarter and very near the House of Blues, our room was relatively quiet although we did hear the boat whistle in the morning and were awakened by fire engines dashing to the scene of the Hubig's pie factory fire (a tragedy for anyone raised on those yummy treats as I was). Being an old building,BH had its quirks. Only one (very slow) elevator that had a propensity for getting stuck. Our room keys never seemed to work so we constantly had to get them reswiped. The blow dryer in the room mysteriously disappeared and reappeared and my cell phone kept turning itself on and off and flashing in one part of the room. The staff blamed it on the resident ghost. Like almost every hotel in the FQ, this one allegedly is haunted. BH houses one of the best small restaurants in the FQ, Iris, which boasts fabulous food and a romantic atmosphere (and I'm not just saying that because my fiance proposed while we were there). All in all, this is one of the better, more reasonably priced hotels in the FQ. Not my favorite hotel ever in New Orleans, but I would definitely stay here again for an FQ-based event.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinitymills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This was the third time my wife and I have stayed at the Bienville House Hotel. Every request we made was filled in a timely and pleasant manner by the desk clerks and bellmen. The accomodations were well maintained and clean and the decor made you feel like you are staying in the French Quarter. Didn't get a chance to eat at the hotel restaraunt, but the bar was entertaining with quality and creative drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 167 in New Orleans
2,357 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#46 of 167 in New Orleans
3,575 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
1,486 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#61 of 167 in New Orleans
1,803 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1082
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £117 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 80-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment. It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing