We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - Perfect Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bienville House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bienville House
Ranked #47 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Perfect Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were in town for a conference at the Sheraton and decided to stay at a more unique hotel. After reading the reviews of several NOLA hotels, we chose Bienville House for our entire party (5 rooms). What a great surprise! This hotel is just far enough from Bourbon and Canal streets that it's very quiet and well maintained. It's an easy walk to several very good restaurants, bars, shops...and, of course, Bourbon and Canal Streets. The hotel is an older building with a beautiful internal courtyard that contains a small pool for guests to use. Several of the rooms have balconies including a couple that overlook Decatur St. The service was excellent and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable - while maintaining an old New Orleans sense of style. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 215 has a large porch overlooking Decatur St. It's a great place to enjoy a cocktail and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay with Bienville House. We're delighted you enjoyed your time with us - we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    489
    165
    82
    68
See reviews for
320
670
45
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wash.,D.C.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

A co-worker recommended Bienville House for a long weekend and I am so glad they did.
The hotel is on the edge of the French Quarter, and is within walking distance of everything you want - Cafe Du Monde, Bourbon St, Natchez Steamboat, and many good restaurants. Its an older building but has been renovated and is well maintained and clean. Cynthia at the front desk was incredibly friendly and helpful, and she knew every guest by name it seemed. Thanks for all your help while we were there Cynthia! Great recommendations for lunch and dinner in the area.
Pool & small courtyard area is lovely.Try to get the balcony rooms overlooking the pool if you can. The rooms had the best black-out blinds to try and get some late afternoon naps in before dinner. The rooms were well appointed with comfortable beds and plenty of space in closets.
Plentiful continental breakfast was included with great coffee (to go if needed).
Overall, the hotel was in a great location, clean, with a comfy king 4-poster bed and friendly staff. What more do you want while in New Orleans?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anah1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We're so happy to hear of your wonderful stay with Bienville House. We hope to see you for a return visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

my wife and I were making our 4th trip to new orleans and decided to give this place a try.The location looked to be sufficiently far enough away from Bourbon to guarantee a good nights sleep and we were right.Our room had a small balcony overlooking the pool and this was perfect for an al fresco early morning coffee.The room itself was well equipped and comfortable and we thought the prices were very reasonable.Breakfast was included in the rate and all the staff we encountered were very helpful.New Orleans in our view is a unique city and there's nowhere else like it in the USA,so the hotel location was important to us and this place is ideally located in a quieter part of the French Quarter.We're certain to return to New Orleans at some stage and would certainly consider staying here again

Room Tip: ask for a a room overlooking the internal courtyard and pool for a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazfromyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for the kind review! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with and we would be more than happy if you chose to stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Reasonably priced small hotel in a good location in the French Quarter. One of the best things about my stay was the very helpful staff-- good restaurant recommendations and helpful with questions and room needs. Nice room size and lovely pool area. While the continental breakfast is good, just a few blocks away is Cafe du Monde for great beignets which I had to taste more than once.... A friend was at a nearby, more expensive hotel and the room was smaller and not necessarily nicer than my Bienville room. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeginSac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of Bienville House! We hope to see you back in NOLA soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Bienville House is an amazing boutique hotel. We received emails prior to our arrival and after we returned home. The staff was helpful and very nice. We stayed in a balcony room facing the pool courtyard. It is truly a beautiful place with old world charm. The breakfast is strictly continental, however the coffee was great and the pastry was fine. The hotel is easy walking distance to all of the French Quarter attractions. Parking is $20.00/day and is off site. The staff instructed us to call the valet at least 20 minutes in advance for our car. Check-in and check-out were easy with no wait. I highly recommend Bienville House for an upscale, low key, New Orleans experience.

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking pool/courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigernoletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with the Bienville House. Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west palm beach, fl.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just got back from 3 days in NO. We stayed at the Bienville House. It is a small boutique type hotel perfectly situated in the French Quarter. Clean and pleasant surroundings. They offer a free continental breakfast from 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. which was a nice touch. Good to be able to get up and get breakfast before heading out to walk the Quarters. They have a pool which is a nice touch. The room was ample and well furnished. They had just about everything you would need for a weekend stay. If you are into working out they have reciprocal privileges at a nearby hotel. But for us, walking the quarters each day was enough exercise. It was a fun trip.I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: We had room 415 which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lvchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Bienville House! Thank you for writing a review - we hope to see you back in NOLA soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

From our arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful. Miss Cynthia recommended Deanie's to us for delicious local dinner nearby. The room was beautiful - very clean and spacious with lots of French Quarter charm. Came with great wifi, complimentary water and coffee in the room and a basic breakfast of pastries downstairs. The pool area in the courtyard was pretty to sit outside in. Location was also great for wandering around the French Quarter. We would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review about Bienville House! You're happy - we're happy! Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#17 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,886 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#39 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,209 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Property: Bienville House
Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing