We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they have bidets!”
Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bienville House
Ranked #51 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Great view of the streets of the French Quarter from the small balcony, great room and very clean. Had a great time, central location, right in the Quarter, easy walking distance, can even come and drop off packages in between shopping sprees or dining experiences.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kinktail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you so much for your comments about the luxury service you received at Bienville House! We aim to provide each guest with the same luxurious experience you described. Please come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is the place to stay. It is within walking distance to everywhere that you want to go. Helpful staff to make your stay more enjoyable. Our room had the deck, so you really felt that you had your privacy, but could enjoy the outdoors as well. Wonderful complimentary continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bujnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Bienville House and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. It sounds like the perfect trip! Please return soon to Bienville House for another great trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We just got back from our trip to New Orleans, and we stayed at Bienville House. The hotel was very nice. I highly recommend getting a room with a balcony. The view to the pool area was just beautiful! It was so lovely to sit on the balcony in the morning and enjoy the warm weather.

The staff were all very nice and helpful, especially Cynthia at the front desk. She was so friendly and made us feel very welcome!

A great place to stay during your NOLA visit!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are really great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

We are so pleased that you found Bienville House to be so nice, beautiful, and friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We especially liked the location, on the corner of the French Quarter, close to all the restaurants, to Royal Street, but not in the middle of the Bourbon street ruckus. The rooms were clean and not too bad, we went out for breakfast to the places in the French Quarter. We would probably would go back, if we would opt for a hotel again.

Room Tip: It is best to try and get a room facing Decatur, because on the other side you face the harbor and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USB-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in May. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Bienville House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I am going to give this hotel 4 stars. There were a few negatives however, none of them really bothered us enough. The hotel is nice and clean. The staff was overall very nice! A few were quite helpful. It is in a great central location within walking distance to many of the attractions. In particular it was in good proximity to the Saenger theatre, aquarium, insectarium and butterfly museum, and Jackson Square. All just a short walk. We had an interior room with king bed. For a standard room, the size of the room was above average size. The bed was comfortable and we were happy with the room. I did not at all miss not having the window and am glad I did not spend more to have a window. What I did miss to a degree was NOT having internet access in our room. We were not told at check in that this would be in the "blind zone" If having internet access/wifi in your room is crucial you will need to specify and make sure you are not in fact in the blind zone. Also we were in an area that required we walk down a few steps. This is usually no problem at all however we did have a stroller and child. This was a little inconvenient with our stroller but we did use the service elevator multiple times which was outside of our room. This area of the hotel may be a problem for those with disabilities requiring wheelchair and/or motor scooter. Also the maid service was mediocre at best. The first day the maid woke us up at 8 AM to clean our room. Needless to say we put out the "do not disturb" every day. One of the days our room was only half cleaned?? Not sure what that was about. Seriously looked like they started the room and then left. We did not bother with the continental breakfast. The breakfast area was a little small and often crowded. Overall, I would definitely stay here again if the rate was right. The rate I had was extremely affordable. If I was spending over 200 per night some of these nuances would have certainly been more frustrating.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank bluiz1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Bienville House.

We are truly sorry that you did not receive the kind of service we are capable of providing and which you deserve. There is no excuse for your room not being cleaned properly each day of your visit. Your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room have been brought to the attention of our Executive Housekeeper for review.

It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that we sincerely apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Close to Bourbon St but in a quiet neighborhood away from noise. Excellent rooms, service and cleaningness. Valer parking for 30$. The breakfast room is too small and you may have to wait till a table is free. Breakfast is not in accordance to the price and quality of the hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marcelo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Bienville House. Your remarks regarding our breakfast service have been brought to the management team for review. We do hope to see you in NOLA again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights during a girls trip to NoLA. The location is great and within easy walking distance of all attractions. The room we had was very spacious- decor is traditional, which isn't really my taste but it's a boutique-ish hotel so nice touch. Our room opened up to a foyer that had patio tables and chairs which were perfect to lounge in after a long day of walking around. We even made friends with the couple staying next door while being out here. We didn't try the breakfast so can't speak to that, but the checkin/outs and all front desk staff were exceptionally helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ria411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for the kind review! So glad to be of service. Come back and visit us in NOLA again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 167 in New Orleans
2,345 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#46 of 167 in New Orleans
3,570 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 167 in New Orleans
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,898 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#61 of 167 in New Orleans
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Address: 320 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1082
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £117 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment. It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing