We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Quarter Historic Classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bienville House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bienville House
Ranked #51 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“French Quarter Historic Classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

If you visit New Orleans and want to stay in the French Quarter then stay at the Bienville House. It is located on the north end of the Quarter and is within walking distance to Jackson Square and all the attractions including Bourbon St.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and will help arrange tours that pick you up and drop you off at the hotel, help you find places to eat. They will go to great lengths to make sure you are happy.
We stayed there in March with our Son and Daughter in-law and our rooms were so nice that she thought the Hotel gave us the wrong rooms. My Wife and I have visited New Orleans 3 time now and we always stay at the Bienville House.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for the kind review! We hope to see you and your family back in NOLA again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    496
    170
    83
    69
See reviews for
323
682
46
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here with my daughter in April for French Quarter Fest.
1. Staff for the most part was very friendly. On arrival, the desk clerk greeted my daughter (who has stayed here several times) by name as soon as we walked in & asked her about her dogs. Even though our room was not ready (we arrived at 1 pm) she stored our bags quickly so we could hit the Quarter. She called us as soon as the room was ready. The only staff member I found to not be friendly was the person managing the continental breakfast. She was very slow about restocking items on the breakfast bar and often would not do it unless asked for a specific item. The rest of the staff was very warm & friendly.
2. The rooms are small, but that is to be expected in an older boutique property like this. The beds were very comfortable. The closet light had an automatic switch that turned on when the door was opened & turned off when the door closed - a very nice feature. The bathroom was somewhat small (again, no unusual for this type of property) but well lit and adequate. There are no refrigerators in the rooms, but there is a safe in each room. Rooms that face on Decatur St are apt to be more noisy (the hotel is right across the street from a fire station and a couple of clubs); if this is a potential problem, I suggest making sure you get an interior room (no windows) or one facing into the courtyard.
3. The continental breakfast is what one usually finds. Coffee, juice, milk, tea, pasteries, cereal, yogurt, & fruit. Is adequate to start the day.
4. The location can't be beat. You are in the French Quarter only a few blocks from Jackson Square, Woldenberg Park, and anything you might want to see in the Quarter. Everything you might need is within walking distance. There is valet parking (at a daily cost) but a car is not really needed.
5. The hotel does not have a gym or a business center but guests are given access to those facilities at Hotel Monteleone a few blocks away.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here. This was my 4th trip to NOLA, and I have to say that this was my favorite hotel of the ones I have stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edistotiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in April. We'd love to have you back for another stay at the Bienville House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campobello, South Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I am just back from a short 1/2 business, 1/2 personal trip to New Orleans. We stayed at the Bienville House. All looks SO much better online. Hotel was clean to very clean, the staff was mostly friendly. Accommodations were okay - we stayed in a larger room with a balcony overlooking Decatur Street. Our Balcony was only accessible to our room, however, a very large window from the adjoining room LOOKED onto the balcony. Was uncomfortable to adjoining room and ourselves. Very small elevator - but it did run quicker than expected. Okay offerings for breakfast served daily, however, the woman "over seeing" the coffee station would NEVER let me fix my own coffee and that really bothered me. I prefer to add my own cream! Never put enough in. Im glad she is there to assist - but that is what it should be ASSIST, not keep me from doing my own! The street is noisy on the side we were located. From cruisers in the streets, to a most annoying Carnival type music from some business close by. It's not constant but enough to be annoying as heck! Location was good however, and staff pretty accommodating. I would stay here again ONLY if my other 2 choices were booked.

Room Tip: Make sure balcony does not "share" view with another room. Be cautious with balcony on Dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Bienville House.

I regret that you did not receive the level of service we are capable of providing and I apologize. Your remarks are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team for review.

We greatly value your patronage and do hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to display to you the type of hospitality and service upon which our reputation is based and which you have every right to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

First of all up, this was a slightly more expensive hotel then we were hoping to book, but our hand was forced by availability given this was Wrestlemania week which is why we were here! However, for the price we paid there were absolutely no complaints with the quality on offer. Firstly the location is terrific, on Decatur Street which is in the heart of the French Quarter. It is walking distance from Bourbon Street, but not too close meaning you can still have some peace and quiet away from all the partying! Canal Street, one of the main streets in New Orleans is also just a few minutes away, as is the river front and river walk.

The room was a very good size with comfortable beds, comfy chairs, a desk, TV and a safe. Although there wasn’t a window in the room, there was plenty of lighting in the room from all the lamps and shades. You get a complimentary bottle of water on arrival, but only on your first day!

The bathroom is what you would expect from a hotel of this calibre, it was very clean and has everything you need.

The hotel offers a light complimentary breakfast of tea / coffee and a selection of muffins and cakes which were absolutely delicious. Similarly there was a selection of cookies and a lemon drink in the afternoon which also was very refreshing.

The main negative for the hotel is the single elevator, which you can end up waiting a while for and is also very small. However, there are no stairs for the guests, so even though we were only on the 3rd floor we had to wait for the elevator each time.

Overall I would strongly recommend Beinville House as an excellent place to stay in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Be sure to take advantage of the amazing complimentary muffins at breakfast and cookies in the after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AttentiveTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback regarding your time joining us in April. We'd love to have you back for another luxurious stay at the Hotel Monteleone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile


I wasn't expecting too much as we were due to arrive during Jazz Fest, and there weren't many hotels available, so I was pleasantly surprised when I checked into Bienville House. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, our room was nicely furnished, clean and of a comfortable size. A continental breakfast was also included in the room price.

Located only a couple of blocks from Bourbon street, we had a variety of dining, bar and shopping choices, however, once in our room, we did not hear a sound from the street.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We are so pleased that you found the Hotel Monteleone to be so comfortable, clean and friendly. We certainly agree! We look forward to seeing you again soon in NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a lovely boutique hotel situated in a quite but convent spot in the French quarter. There is a lovely courtyard where you can eat breakfast and they also have a small bar. The decor is quite traditional but the rooms are comfortable and the beg was huge!! We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisathenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bienville House and took the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor. Please return soon to the Bienville House for another great trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights and every night was very noisy. You can hear everything from outside the street and there's plenty of partying and yelling. Breakfast was poor. All frozen and packaged. Not a nice place to sit down at. Room was nice and clean. Friendly at reception but I would not go back because its not the best price for what you get.

Room Tip: Don't get room facing Decatur St. Or get a higher than second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noemir493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit to New Orleans and Bienville House.

We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with the quality of your stay and accommodations. It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that I sincerely apologize.

We value your patronage and hope that on your next visit to New Orleans you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#18 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,316 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienville House

Property: Bienville House
Address: 320 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#55 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bienville House 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just as the French Quarter is perfectly situated in the heart of New Orleans, the Bienville House New Orleans hotel is perfectly situated in the midst of the historic French Quarter. Having just completed a multi-million dollar renovation, the 83-room hotel is a truly distinctive downtown New Orleans hotel establishment.  It has a sense of style and grace only to be found in America’s most interesting city, within this New Orleans' boutique hotel accommodations in the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bienville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bienville House Hotel New Orleans
Bienville Hotel New Orleans
Bienville New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing