We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bienville House
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$332
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,709)
Filter reviews
1,709 results
Traveller rating
849
516
184
89
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
849
516
184
89
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire stationsun deckmiss cynthiafrench quartercontinental breakfastjackson squarehouse of bluesdecatur streetboutique hotelfour poster bedsister hotelgreat boutiqueperfect locationyogurtwithin walking distancesmall hotelfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
995 - 1,000 of 1,709 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It is a boutique hotel so don't expect it to be like one of the big hotel chains. Everything is smaller...the lobby, the elevator, and even some rooms. The older lady at the front desk during the day was nice. They say they have a restaurant but we were told to go to their sister hotel across the street. Overall, I think for my taste I'll stick to one of the bigger chains. Oh the location was great close to lots of smaller bars and restaurants and a 5 minute walk to bourbon street

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Houston333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank for you feedback on Bienville House! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I are just finishing up a two night stay at this boutique hotel. Upon arrival we missed the vehicle entrance for valet service due to scaffolding on the sidewalk on either side. . The lobby area is beautiful and small as one would expect in these type hotels. Check in was quick and easy and the lady at front desk and valet were very personable and professional. Our room is beautifully decorated and has French doors opening up to a small balcony overlooking the courtyard below wihich has a small pool.....charming. Bed was comfy and only outside noise noticed were a couple of trains passing through the area. A continental breakfast is served 7-10am which had the typical fare of fruit, yogurt, cereal and pastries. The hotel is in the midst of renovation we were told, but other than some scaffolding hanging down the wall across from our balcony and that at car valet entrance, you wouldn't know it but that may be because ours was a weekend stay. A couple of small negatives were no washcloths in our room when we returned from a day spent in the NOKA humidity and we were told by housekeeping that the linen truck didn't come today and they were out. Would we stay here again? Most definitely!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Showme52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are so glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us at Bienville House and will be staying with us again soon! It sounds like you had a fantastic trip. We hope to see you soon for another great stay!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We, my daugther, son-in-law and myself, stayed at the Bienville for a December wedding. We had a room with 2 double beds. First we had ants in the beds and bathroom. My daughter and I are very allergic to insect bites of all kinds. Told the front desk and they said that they would take care of it, never did. We were told to call for our car 30 minutes before we need it. We had the bride with us to go to her Bridal Luncheon and we called 30 minutes before and when we arrived to get our car was not there. End up taking a taxi to the luncheon, we were late. Next day, the wedding day, called an hour before, car was there but was blocked in. Almost late to wedding at the church. Got back to the hotel to change for the riverboat wedding and the lock on the door would not work, finally got in. This had been an ongoing problem since we checked in. They repeatly told us that it was the way we were using the keycard but they would have guy fix it. We walked to the boat due to car issues. When we got back to our room, door would not open again we were told it was the way we did the key but non of the staff could it it open. They finally had to break the window to get us in around midnight then they told us that they did not have another room due to 3 other wedding parties there. I had to demand to talk to the manager or his superior before they finally gave us 2 rooms. The only staff that was helpful was the bellperson. We were compensated some on the bill but I will never stay there again. Our friend, the bride, was so disappoint as were the families.

Room Tip: Do not go if there is a holiday, game in town or bridal parties. Plan to walk if it crowded and you need to be on time. Valet is the fastest in town.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay with us at Bienville House.

We are truly sorry that you did not receive the kind of service we are capable of providing and which you deserve. There is no excuse for your room not being cleaned properly each day of your visit and the issues with your door.Your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and the service of our staff have been brought to the attention of our Executive Housekeeper and our management team for review.

It is our wish to offer our guests comfortable accommodations with particular emphasis on personal attention. Your comments are well taken. In this instance we did not perform as well as we are capable of and for that we sincerely apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Bienville House when we traveled to New Orleans for a summer wedding. Our room was small but lovely with a beautiful four-poster bed. The pool area was secluded and well-kept. This hotel is within walking distance of Bourban Street and many other attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mdabhaynes_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are so glad you had such a lovely stay with us! We would love to see you again soon for another great stay at Bienville House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Bienville House was a quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city. My husband and I stayed here one weekend in June while attending a wedding at Jax Brewery. We were on foot and found the location prime for biped exploration. We even walked to/ from the wedding (with me in 4 inch heels mind you!).

The breakfast was typical continental fare -- cereal, sugary yogurts, breads, bagels, scones, milk, juice, and some limited fruit (we only saw apples). The coffee was good. Yes, there is an attendant and she does pour the coffee for you. In the afternoon, we did partake in the cookies and lemonade. Meh... a cute amenity.

The pool barely gets any sun during the day and there are only 2 loungers. When I asked about the pool sun exposure, we were told we could use the rooftop pool at the Monteleone. We gathered our pool bag, walked to the Monteleone, made it to the pool, and could not find an open lounger, chair, or space in the pool. It looked like people stew. That is just not our scene, so we settled for a shady soak at Bienville House.

Our room was large and we were very impressed by the HIGH ceilings. The space was clean and the room was quiet (we faced Peters St.).

The only "problem" we had was with the housekeeping -- our trash was taken out and dirty towels picked up, but the bed was not made and new towels were not dropped off. We saw housekeeping in the halls as we left for the afternoon/ evening and assumed they would get to servicing our room, but they did not. In retrospect, we should have stopped at the front desk to request service.

All in all, would I stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BienvilleHouseHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bienville House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review on Bienville House. All of your feedback is much appreciated and we are thrilled you had a great stay with us! We hope to see you again soon for another visit to NOLA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews