We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot in Heart of French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #8 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We spent two nights at the Bourbon Orleans in one of the loft suites. The room was tastefully decorated and had all the modern conveniences with the exception of a refrigerator. Bedroom only accommodated a queen size but it was very comfortable and everything was clean. Front desk, bell men and pool service were all pleasant. The location could not be beat - just request a room away from the elevators. We could hear everyone outside having a good time. The balcony was large but only had two small chairs - definitely room for improvement there. An umbrella and table would have made this vacation perfect.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the elevator - people coming in late woke us up multiple times. The lofts were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liveWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,029 - 6,035 of 6,375 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is the only hotel on our list of hotels while staying in N.O.. Great locaton, people, food and they have spent a great deal of money on their rooms and they are beautiful and comfortable. We park our car and forget about it and walk anywhere we want to go since the hotel is right in the middle of everything.

Room Tip: Call early because the rooms go fast at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My friends & I just recently stayed at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel for a Bachelorette party, and it couldn't have been better. The accommodations and location were great, perfect for going out and about in the French Quarter. The staff was outstanding -- Tanner Hemphill in particular. He was outgoing, helpful, and went above and beyond to make our stay that much better. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit New Orleans and stay in this neighborhood!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jevans521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The Bourbon Orleans Hotel has personaltiy, as well as history. My husband and I traveled to NOLA in August 2012, so I could mark the French Quarter off my bucket list. We chose this hotel due to its location, which is 1/2 block off Bourbon Street. The rooms are small, but our goal was to sight see, not sit in the room.

Room Tip: We wanted a room with a view, and a king size bed, so we chose a room overlooking the court yard/poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lodalady_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

First of all, if you are new to New Orleans, you should understand that it really is all about LOCATION.

The French Quarter has so much shopping, incredible dining, and historical buildings crammed into a tiny neighborhood that once you check into the Bourbon Orleans, you have no need to go anywhere by car until you check out. Everything is accessible on foot. If you are feeling too tired to walk a few short blocks, there are rickshaws everywhere that are eager to pedal you to your location.

The hotel is located one block from St. Louis Cathedral. This means that it is virtually impossible to not be able to find your way back to the hotel; you just follow the steeple that towers above all of the other buildings.

There are so many great things about this hotel:

-- outstanding location
-- good value
-- great. friendly service
-- beautiful lobby and rooms
-- soft, comfortable beds
-- fascinating history. Please read the directory you'll find in your hotel room. It explains the past uses for the hotel and I learned some interesting things about Southern Culture in the 1800's!

The lobby is beautiful, and several times when we were between events, we just had a glass of complementary iced tea and relaxed there instead of going back to our rooms.

We came during the Red Dress Run, and there were some folks partying in the Balcony rooms. We could hear the music when we passed their door, but it never bothered us when we were just a few rooms away. The hotel is very quiet.

We peeked through the cracks between the locked doors into the ballroom. It looked so beautiful! If there were an occasion to attend an event there, I would be thrilled to go.

The pool is kept sanitary with a salt water process instead of chlorine. Much easier on my eyes and hair. The pool was right outside our window, but we were never disturbed by other guests.

I would definitely stay at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel again, and our tour guide told us that this hotel is his mother's favorite when staying in New Orleans, and she has tried many of them.

Room Tip: Call early to reserve the rooms facing Bourbon Street if you want a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank violetmeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Really enjoyed the stay in NOLA at the Bourbon Orleans.

* Great location
* Staff was friendly
* Good amenties in our package (b-fast buffet included, free wi-fi, two free drink tix)
* Sweets in the middle of the day in the lobby
* Nice Bed
* Nice TV

Only real downsides was that the room size is a little small and no dresser to put away folded clothes.

Would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarasotaLocals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

What do you do with a girl 5, a boy 10, and a 16 year old teenage boy when you want them to see something different from the usual home town sights of a movie, a bowling alley, and a Zesto stand from the fifties?
We took the plunge & arrived with three grandchildren in New Orleans for a few days. Hopefully, they had as good a time as we did watching them marvel & experience the "Big Easy"
with eyes wide and mouths agape!!
Walks along the promenade to check out the Mississippi at Jackson Square,as well as a sightseeing fun ride on "The Natchez" was high on the agenda.
The second morning the sun broke through after a stormy night so we could visit the zoo. The 5 yr, old especially liked the "rectile building" with up close views of the snakes, frogs and unusual lizard species.
An interesting view of history for the boys was a visit to the World War II Museum with grandpa, while the grand daughter and I sauntered down Royale & popped into Joan Good's Antique Shop to say "Hello" to my old friend, Joan.
We saved one day to drive down to Biloxi, MI. and spent part of the day on the white, sandy beach.

The Bourbon Orleans Hotel was clean, quiet ,(yes right off of Bourbon St) and the lovely, comfortable room was a perfect respite after a day of walking and sightseeing. A dip in the pool was a special delight for the youngsters in the evening.
One afternoon was spent window-shopping with a trek through the French Market to see the many food offerings and souvenirs. We moseyed through the Quarter as well, to see "Burger Street" and the oddities and neons that make it special.
Made me miss the good old days of "Tony's Spaghetti House", Linda Bridgette show, and the Pete Fountain and Al Hirt jazz offerings.
We couldn't leave without giving the kids a taste of the Acme Oyster House, where the food always tastes every bit as good as memory serves us.
The only thing we missed were the beignets, as the tourist lines were all the way to lunch time!
This trip was as much fun as our honeymoon there 44 years ago! Well, almost!!

Room Tip: Our 2nd floor room faced the pool away from the street noise where the kids could watch the swimmers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferrettTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,366 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
7,703 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,311 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,588 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £126 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing