We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy and nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“comfy and nice”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Love this hotel, it is a great location, the rooms are so comfortable and the housekeeping does a great job of taking care of you. The rate (compared to others) is a little high, so not a place we can stay often but it was fun for that weekend. The only complaint was the way the doors were closed hard when someone left their room, of course part of it is the person, but the sound does wake you up.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank man4michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,887
    1,455
    324
    96
    55
See reviews for
1,203
2,484
182
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,543)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette,LA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Upon arriving to Bourbon Orleans, I was very anxious. My fiance and I have always stayed at his sisters house b/c she lives in New Orleans. I decided to get a hotel room downtown b/c I wanted to experience the nightlife without having to drive afterwards.
I was VERY please when we arrived at the hotel. The employees were very nice and very helpful. Our room was on the bottom floor and our windows looked out into the pool area. The room is GORGEOUS and BEAUTIFUL!! Huge room, king size bed, huge bathroom. We relaxed and then got ready for dinner and a night out. The hotel bar was also great. They had a gentleman playing the piano and it was so relaxing. Enjoyed a night out on Bourbon street also. Had a great night sleep in the most comfortable bed.. woke up with a smile. The food at the restaurant in the hotel was also excellent. Checking out the hotel was done within minutes.
Thank you so much for an FANTASIC night for us.
Already have friends that i referred staying there next month for a wedding and also a few corporate employees from Ohio coming in beginning of December.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I have stayed here multiple times over the past few years and have never had any complaint about the rooms, location, etc. The rooms are clean, comfortable, spacious and the location is perfect! I am sure I will stay here again. The cons I have experienced at this hotel are minor but worth mentioning. 1. The lack of reliable wifi
2. On more than one occasion I have experienced an unfriendly and/or inexperienced employee. On my last visit here, I had to stand for over 30 minutes waiting to get checked in for a room I had booked online. (This might not have been such a big deal to me if I hadnt been alone at check in with an infant and a full suit of luggage.)
More pros than cons to this hotel though!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 816beachgirl251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My girlfriend and I have been to New Orleans together three times in the past year and a half. We have been twice around New Year's, and once in the summer. This is the perfect hotel for anyone who wants to stay in the French Quarter, pay a reasonable price, and feel safe. The hotel itself has that New Orleans charm that one goes there in search for. It is an older hotel with a festive, accommodating staff, valet parking, nice TVs, nice bathrooms, but older carpet. If you can get past that, this is the place to be. It also has a pool, on-site laundry services, and a food bar with that serves Starbucks coffee. The location is amazing because you are less than a 5 minute walk to Jackson square where all the artists display their work, Cafe Du Monde, and other kiosks. Not to mention, right across the way is the coolest little wine bar with a horseshoe bar, great small plates, classic drinks, and a piano that plays by itself. It's quite quaint, and makes for a perfect intimate dinner.

Back to the hotel, the service is wonderful. They are very assertive about carrying your luggage, promptly serving you, and making sure you have a pleasant time overall. The only thing I would say this place lacks is having an informative person that can tell you where all the non-touristy spots are. Which might be the case for a lot of hotels down there.

One thing I would suggest is to request being on the non-bourbon side of the hotel to ensure a better night's rest in terms of noise.

In any case, I do stand by the fact that this is by far the best bang for you buck when staying in The Big Easy.

Room Tip: Call ahead to request a room that is not on the Bourbon Street side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We had a great time it was the best birthday ever. The staff were so nice. The bellman Derrick was friendly and very helpful. It is in a great spot to walk to everything. We were on the top floor
Very nice view. We will definitely be back. Excellent job on customer service, very professional. Beautiful hotel inside.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srippatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Close to everything, Charming newly remodelled room. nice pool, functional workout room. We have been staying here everytime we come to New Orleans and this is my 7th stay in this hotel never been disappointed. The room are a bit expensive especially around holiday time but the location is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AeyKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at Bourbon Orleans for three nights and found the total hotel experience excellent. The Check in process was easy and quick. The elevator is slightly small and appears to be a little older but we did not have any issues with it. The room we were given was on the 6th floor with a view of the swimming pool. We were worried the room at the hotel would be loud due to Southern Decadence but were very pleased with how quiet the room turned out to be. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was an excellent size with a great layout. I really liked the shower knob being on the opposite wall of the walk in shower. The location of the hotel can't be beat!! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,619 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
7,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,362 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,194 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 164 in New Orleans
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing