We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great, relaxing stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great, relaxing stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel has the French Quarter within it. Its a very nice french setting in the lobby as well as the rooms. Everything was clean and the housekeeping staff is nice. All of their staff was welcoming and made good conversation. We enjoyed speaking with them everyday. It was a nice relaxing stay with a good location. You can hear the party of bourbon street at night but we didn't mind. A great, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AK_Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,334
    1,308
    288
    80
    46
See reviews for
994
2,185
147
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,484)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

Everything about our stay at Bourbon Orleans was fantastic! The staff were friendly. The room/amenities were clean and comfortable. Great position, right in the heart of the French Quarter. Our room was close to bourbon st and was a little noisy but we were aware of this and it didn't bother us. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

The Bourbon Orleans was once my go-to hotel for a New Orleans getaway, but its steady decline over the past few years, coupled with ever-increasing prices have forced me to take my business elsewhere. That being said, the location simply cannot be beat. It's in the heart of the French Quarter, directly across the street from the most famous gay bars in the city - Oz and the Pub. However, the customer service is literally apalling. I made a reservation that included a romance package - chilled champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries to be in the room upon check-in. They never arrived. Additionally, there was a pair of soiled mens' underwear in the trash can. How's that for romance?? This is just one of a list of incidents. On one occassion, I was literally cursed at by the night desk attendant after being informed that they had "overbooked" the hotel and our room was not available. My car was broken into while in the care of the valet. They have renovated recently, but little has improved, aside from the bathroom fixtures. The rooms are large, but I don't feel that the cost is justified. Also, expect to wait 20-30 minutes for your car to be brought around. Stay somewhere else!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are VERY noisy, but there is plenty of people-watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krs3559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Staff willing to help in any way, location cornered on Bourbon street. A great hotel to hit the French quarter eateries, shops, watering holes all within walking distance! Again, the staff makes the stay great, and an excellent restaurant! We'll stay there again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, Ca.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Excellent! Great reception area. Rooms were perfect and clean. Staff very accommodating and nice. Balcony was great too. Front door staff, reception staff and concierge very helpful and informative. Far enough down Bourbon Str. so that the noise is left well enough behind. Definitely would go back.

Room Tip: Two tier rooms are the best - opposite side of Orleans Str. was sufficiently quiet and balcony was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinneide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

We were delighted at the location, cleanliness, helpful and abundant staff, spacious room, swimming pool and elegant lobby. We would have expected the price to be higher, so it was a terrific value. It was only a block or two to St Louis Cathedral, Jackson Square, Cafe du Monde for beignets, the Mississippi River and Bourbon Street!!!!! How cool was that and yet we had no issue with noise or resting peacefully. We would definitely choose it again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

I've stayed at the Bourbon Orleans several times over the past 10 years. Location has always been the best part about the hotel. However, the recent room renovations have made a world of difference! The whole experience was wonderful. The staff was nice, the new rooms and bathrooms were excellent. Highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: Request a room away from Bourbon Street of outside noise bothers you. It's New Orleans though! E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtnbikr021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,865 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,802 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing