We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
ann arbor, MI
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Booked a double bed with balcony. The room was a long way from the elevator but we quickly figured out that if you take the nearby service elevator you will end up between the lobby and the restaurant - much closer! The room was on the small side but fine for two people. Room was very clean and the beds were great. Our room faced St. Ann Street and it could get a little noisy from time-to-time but nothing that kept us up. We enjoyed having the balcony although the chairs were not very comfortable...good enough for morning coffee.

I really loved the location after having stayed at Harrahs and Homewood Suites. It's great to be so close to everything in the FQ. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenyulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,806
    1,435
    317
    93
    52
See reviews for
1,162
2,442
177
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alta Loma, California
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Everything you would ever dream of in a historic hotel. Located directly behind the Saint Louis Cathedral and opening up to Bourbon Street, this hotel has the perfect locale for safe entry into the past. We brought the entire family and everyone was happy! The GM gladly showed us haunted areas of the hotel along with sharing it's fabled history. The front desk staff were always quick to assist along with the Valet and Bell Caps. By the time we left they reminded us we were now part of the family!

Room Tip: The suites were awesome but bottom floor rooms were the best for little tiny children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlingerMSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patriot, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This makes the second time I've stayed at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel and I love it!! Had a balcony room and loved to watch all the action going when I wasn't part of it! I'd recommend this hotel to anyone that didn't mind a little noise late at night and wanted to be "in the middle of it all".

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I just stayed at the Bourbon Orleans for my wedding reception in November 2012 and had roughly 10-15 rooms per night of my close family and friends. We are all in total agreement that the hotel was amazing. The accomodations were wonderful and every staff person couldn't have been nicer. The valet - superb. I don't think I ever opened the front door on my own - the doorman was always there and greeting me with a smile. Check in was easy and the sales staff that put the block together was always available via email the same day. I didn't dine in the hotel but many of my guests did and they loved it.

The haunted stories behind the hotel were facscinating and Joe the engineer even saw a ghost on my floor just moments before I was in that same elevator. Awesome!Thanks again for a great stay and an amazing location for our French Quarter Wedding weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromkc2fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We didn't have a lot of choices of where to stay because I waited too long to make reservations for Thanksgiving week, and I paid a little more than I planned. Very nice hotel with attractive, comfortable rooms, GREAT BEDS! Professional, friendly, helpful staff. Don't be afraid of the Bourbon Street address - the entrance is actually on Orleans Street: much quieter. I really liked the location. All of the French Quarter is within reasonable walking distance.
The hotel is a funny shape, so that from the elevator there is one short hallway and one a mile long! (Not really, but it seemed like it.) We were right by the elevator but the ice machine was a hike!
A few criticisms: (a) There was no Guest Services person on the Wednesday and Thursday of Thanksgiving Week, which I thought was a bit lame. They only have one GS person who works 8 to 4 and was taking some time off. The front-desk people and valet/doormen were helpful and fairly knowledgeable, but for a hotel like this not to have a Guest Services person or Concierge on property was surprising. (b) The bathroom had no tub, only a large shower, but it didn't close! No door, no curtain, just open. And they have the shower head fixed so it only moves side to side, not up and back, in order that the water doesn't flood the bathroom floor. But you have to get under the shower head against the wall to get wet, so the roomy stall is mostly wasted space. Strange design choice. (c) The TV had limited free TV but lots of pay-per-view movies in the $15 to $20 range. No Weather Channel or most of the "standard cable" stations you get in most hotels. Showtime but no HBO. ION. A Japanese news station. Only about 20 channels all together. (d) The air conditioner worked great, except it got cold the last day we were there, but nobody switched over to heat, so no matter how you set the thermostat, you got only cool air. (I asked about this when we checked out and this was the explanation I got from the front desk clerk.) Holiday weekend, I guess. I didn't mind too much, but my sister froze. (e) When the lobby restaurant was open (breakfast only, except they served Thanksgiving dinner), they had coffee set up right by the entrance. I wasn't dining, but I was passing through and thought, "oh, nice, coffee for the guests." Nope. Two bucks. At these prices, you'd think they'd comp the coffee. Oh, well.

Room Tip: The rooms are different sizes and shapes, so ask for what you want. The Reservations people at the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeker277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Very nice hotel, no card to request room make up for door handle, only a double sided privacy notice on all our groups doors, left at 10:30am and back at 03:30pm and room was was still not touched.

A little disappointed with This.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesMitchell_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We enjoyed our stay. We had an outside room so it was louder than expected. It was fun to open the shutters and watch the numerous parades as they went down the street. The room was nice and large, and the bathroom was modern. The restaurant was good and served good Southern food. We visited the ballroom, which is supposed to be haunted. It was beautiful. The bell men were very friendly and helpful. It was a great location and accessible to most everything. I would absolutely stay here again, but next time I will request an interior room.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadicsoul818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,550 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,104 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,308 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 163 in New Orleans
3,155 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing