We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinatin historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #7 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed more than a week at this charming hotel, where nobody makes any bones about it being haunted. First couple of days were vacation, then a meeting. Over the week, the staff started to recognize us and welcome us back each time we left and returned. The manager, Mark, had a delightful Christmas tree lighting party while we were there. Alexander, at the front desk, was full of great dining suggestions. Louis, at the valet station, was extremely helpful in booking a cab to the airport for us. Altogether a lovely stay. Only suggestion--we could have used a couple more chairs in our room. Thanks everybody!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,016 - 6,022 of 6,531 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012

We have stayed at the Bourbon Orleans twice now and have had a great experience each time. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, the rooms are very nice and the location is one of the best in the Quarter. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: With a value rate you may be furthest from the elevator so if walking is an issue you may want to pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Loved the ambianced and character of this vererable grand dame - super location
and lovely room - we would highly recommend it. We love New Orleans - all the staff
very friendly and helpful and it was a terrific hotel.

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms are good, I understand the whole hotel just underwent a large remodel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We have stayed at the Bourbon Orleans many times and have never been disappointed. The accommodations and staff are excellent. The staff goes out of their way to be friendly and helpful. On our most recent visit in October, our friend fell in front of the hotel and broke his hip. Some of the staff remained with us until the ambulance came. Our friend had surgery on his hip and was in the hospital a week. The staff always asked about him whenever they saw us and showed their concern. They went over and above their duties to help us with this situation. To us, the earmarks of an excellent facility are not only the physical aspects, but also the staff, and the Bourbon Orleans has both! We highly recommend the Bourbon Orleans to anyone visiting New Orleans.

Gordon and Kris Wilshire

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside (courtyard) and quieter than those on Bourbon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonWFt_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Stayed at property as part of a wedding party,having lived in city since birth now 57,truly amazed at quality of this hotel.Will stay again for rest trip.Door staff was great and location unbeatable always use valet parking well worth price in town.

Room Tip: Get pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed on December 2 and 3rd of 2012. We had two rooms. We reserved a double and a king room. When we upgraded the king room to a balcony king room we were charged. When this same hotel was with the Wyndham chain we were never charged extra for an available upgrade. This is really nickel and diming you to charge for an upgrade. We left both rooms from 11 a.m. to 8 p.m. and returned to two rooms with unmade beds, full trash, no replenished towels etc. Are you listening management. Part of going to a hotel on vacation is not having to make the bed, empty the trash and having to clean a bathroom. We ask for a late check out to make up for the lack of housekeeping. They told us 1:30 p.m. was the latest they could do. The next day the agent said it was 1 p.m. They said they would have to charge if we stayed later than that.....back to the nickel and diming. We did call and got the trash emptied and some other housekeeping issues taken care of but at that point we would have rather not been dealing with all that and been able to relax in our room. I think the rates are too high at this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise on the Orleans side.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank Visitor4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Ok our stay at the Bourbon Orleans was OK and I am being generous with the word OK. The first complaint was our room. It was so small, all the mice in the room were hunchback. We asked for a courtyard view and we got one, sort of. In order to see the courtyard you would have had to tie the curtains around your waist and hang half your body out the window. Let's just say I was not willing to catch a glimpse. The kid serving us brunch was argumentative and snotty. I can assure you my tip was not in the double digits. One day room service forgot to give us towels, so my wife had to roll around on the carpet like a German Sheppard to get dry. Me, I called the front desk for towels and 20 minutes later they arrived still moist of course. Now the good news, checkout was a breeze and the doormen were oh plenty and polite.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank BobJK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,818 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
4,441 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
5,008 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
3,351 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £120 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing