We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treated like royalty from the moment we arrived” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Treated like royalty from the moment we arrived”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Loved, loved this hotel. Such a rich, historic atmosphere and so very quiet. The only complaint, and it is minor, there wasn't much to offer on their TV lineup. Fabulous flat screen TV, but not much to view unless you really like sports or news. Otherwise, Bourbon Orleans is tops on our list of the many hotels we have stayed in while in New Orleans. The staff and service was beyond excellent and you can't find a better location. Never had to use our vehicle. Already looking at the calendar to plan a return visit!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bayoucajun86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,341
    1,309
    290
    82
    46
See reviews for
999
2,189
147
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,487)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We were here for 4 days/3 nights in November 2012. The location of the Bourbon Orleans is perfect; we walked or cabbed everwhere. Small but well appointed room with a balcony overlooking the pool. Staff helpful and friendly; attractive lobby. The REAL reason to return (which we will) is Mr. Ron the Concierge. We checked in, and asked the desk about a tour; they directed us around the corner in the lobby to Ron's desk. He is charming, very knowledgable, and while he "could not" make suggestions did let us guess which tour was better (spot on!), and then...after much delicious discussion...made us lunch and dinner reservations around town. He knows and loves the city and it payed off beauifully for us.
Having him available to guests puts the Bourbon Orleans above the rest! Please do keep him on staff!

Room Tip: Go for the balcony rooms on the inside;
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPHTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We had planned our destination wedding for Jackson Square New Orleans and my parents surprised us with a night in a suite at this hotel. The location was perfect and I couldn't wait. We stopped by the day before and asked a couple high maintenance requests. First, I was picking up my wedding bouquets a day early and asked if they could help me keep them fresh. Second, I was wondering if we could get into the room early so we could get ready for my wedding. I was immediately referred to front desk supervisor Keyiana Stewart. Thank goodness - she made all the difference in our stay here! She went ABOVE and beyond! She didn't even hesitate and checked on the temperature of the fridge and personally made sure my flowers were safe and sound until I needed them. I received her card and she told me to call her in the morning to see what was available for early check in. I did and she got me in when I requested - it really made my day! She realized that I needed to avoid any stress and helped me so much by getting me in without a hiccup. Her service has yet to be matched by any hotel or resort I have been to. I can't thank her enough for making my wedding day wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel for other reasons too. The location is fantastic, the balcony was so big and had great views. It was so beautifully decorated for the holidays. The service is the really seller though, thank you!

Room Tip: The St Anne suite was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaADenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at your Hotel Jan 4th-Jan 6th 2013. The following statements are our honest feelings about your Hotel. We selected the Bourbon Orleans to celebrate our 25th anniversary and were quite disappointed over all. When we arrived I ask the check-in clerk if we could possibly get an upgrade from our King room. His responds was, we don't do that sir. Funny how I have read other reviews that stated they were offered upgrades without even asking for them. ODD!!!! When he handed us our breakfast tickets that came with our package we ask him if was a buffet and he responded yes it is. Didn't matter to us but it wasn't. Poor training on both accounts.
We got to our room and the first thing we see were two roaches on the window seal that I killed.
There was what appeared to be saw dust on the floor at the closet door as well as a hair ball on the bed comforter. I removed it before my wife saw it. The floor had not been cleaned after the last guests had checked out. The pillows were so hard and uncomfortable the worst we have ever had to use. The light in the shower wouldn't stay on, it just kept going on and off mostly off. The TV system truly was the worst as far as channel selection. That should handle the room for now. As for the so called Bar you have, what a shame that a hotel of your caliber would even consider what you have as a Bar. The owners should be ashamed for such a beautiful place. They could have the best bar in the French Quarter and by all rights should have for it's guests. The breakfast was the only food we had there during our stay and it was good.( except you have country ham on the menu but let me tell you I KNOW COUNTRY HAM and that is not country ham.) On Sunday when we were checking out and ask for our car to be brought to us, we had to wait for over an hour and you weren't that busy. My god I'm glad you weren't or we would still be waiting. The doorman Caleb was the only good asset I saw at your Hotel. He should be running the show, at least he understands how to treat your customers. He rated an A with us. I truly wish I could say better things about a 4 star Hotel but yours is a failure and needs serious attention and training of staff and much nicer areas to offer your guest. However the location was great but you miss on some very important points. Not everyone that comes to the French Quarter just wants to party and get drunk. Mature couples want nicer more up scale surroundings. Like a nice lounge with jazz music so-PLEASE DO SOMETHING WITH THAT HORRIBLE BAR!!! We are not world travelers but have been fortunate to have stayed in some of the worlds nicest resorts and maybe we just expected to much from your Hotel. By the way our room number was 238.

Room Tip: Pool side room are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Overall, we had a great stay from Jan 1 to Jan 5. Loved the hotel with the exception of internet. It was extremely frustrating. We spent the first 24 hours working with the tech guys to fix it. Both my husband and I needed this for work; it wasn’t just for convenience. Then, it started working but was very hit and miss. We had to go to an internet café because the internet was not working properly. We talked to the front desk personnel and they were nice but less than helpful. Their response was to call the provider and didn’t offer to help in any other way, offer to switch rooms, or even check up on us that it was fixed. We were not sure if it was just our room or not. We will be coming back to New Orleans in May with a few other people. I’d love to stay at the hotel again but am wondering if the internet will always be an issue and have read other reviews with the same issue. If you do not require internet, it is a great hotel.

Room Tip: If you need internet, may not be the right place. Other than that, fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

It has all of the charm that you would expect from a hotel right off bourbon street. I loved the architecture and the original chandeliers! When we walked in we were offered an upgrade to our room- from a standard king room to a loft suite for a little extra a night. This might have been one of the best choices we made! The extra space was fantastic and it was nice with its spiral staircase and large windows. The beds were really comfortable. The staff was friendly, although we did not get our linens changed after our first night which would have been nice after our night out on bourbon. No breakfast was included, and basically no room service as the kitchen never seemed to be open when we would have liked something to be delivered- say around lunchtime when you're nursing a hangover. But there are plenty of restaurants nearby and we found some good little cafes. It is in a great location! We did not have a car and could walk everywhere and rented some bikes from an antique shop and rode out to the art museum. I will definitely come back to this hotel.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Great hotel. Good location. There is some issues with sound between rooms. Otherwise, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is courteous and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to most travelers. If you are a gay traveler, it is close to the gay nightclubs.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,208 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,884 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,819 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,888 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing