We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT Hotel Staff !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“GREAT Hotel Staff !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Pros: The hotel was very clean and located in the French quarter. The rooms are spacious and somewhat modern. The hotel staff is very professional and gracious. They go out of their way to ensure that your stay is an enjoyable one. Caleb was a welcome change to some of the bell captains we have encountered!

Cons: The interior walls of the hotel are extremely thin! We heard the elevator all night long. We could hear our neighbors speaking in a normal tone. Just imagine how interesting it became when all of the partiers returned to their rooms in the middle of the morning. We could hear them falling, yelling, screaming and attempting to whisper. sidebar - we were in a "quiet room" per the hotel staff. The toiletries were nice. However, you never knew what you were going to get - 2 shampoos and no conditioner one day and 3 lotions and no shampoo the next. I will say that the maid service was thorough just lacked the attention to detail on the toiletries. Hot water in the bathroom after 4pm is a rareity. The Bourbon Bar (attached to the hotel) is deselate to say the least and the VooDoo Cafe (attached to the hotel) has been closed for some time. The concierge appears to work tuesday - friday.

Believe it or not I would recommend this property. The staff outweighs the shortcomings....

Room Tip: Try for a quiet room and hope for the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NARGEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,479
    1,341
    298
    84
    49
See reviews for
1,050
2,263
155
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,502)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

This hotel was just a dream, located in the heart of Bourbon Street, the rooms were decorated great, they had a beautiful pool area and bar. The management was great and took care of your every need. I would surely stay there again when I visit New Orleans.

Room Tip: I like the rooms overlooking the court yard and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loni216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

I loved my stay at the Bourbon Orleans. The location couldn't be better -- literally steps away from all of the Bourbon Street action and Royal Street shopping. The facility is gorgeous and was wonderful for our conference. The little St. Ann Cottage was the most charming conference room I've ever been in! The staff was incredible -- every since person friendly and helpful beyond the call of duty. Yes -- if your room faces Bourbon St. there is some noise, so if this bothers you just ask for a pool-side room.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool-side room if you don't want the noise from Bourbon Street to bother you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ERosewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We go to NOLA 2-4 times per year for weddings, birthdays, bachelorette parties, etc. So, we have stayed at several of the hotels in and around the quarter. I love the size of the rooms and the bathrooms! Especially the courtyard rooms with the extended bath counter.. a must for laides to be able to spread out their make-up. This is also my new favourite hotel becuase of the proximity to the tings we enjoy doing: daytime shopping at the Market and along Chartres & Royal streets, evenings out on Bourbon Street. The only drawback is that it's a 15-20 minute walk to Mother's Restaurant (one of our staples) and it's at the opposite end of Bourbon from Mango Mango (who has the best late-night street pizza in the quarter) & Krystals (our other option for the late-night snack).

Room Tip: I was on the 2nd floor and my firends were on the first floor. None of us had noise issues, but mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCrabFWTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Paper thin walls. Worst hotel stay in 30 years of business and personal travel. To put this experience in context, I have stayed at several hundred different hotels across North America as well as stays in France and the UK.
I was very excited to be staying in "the Quarter". We were upsold to a Suite the first night. Unfortunately, even though on a side street to Bourbon street, noise was terrible. We asked to be moved to a courtyard room. The front desk accommodated and moved us "inside", then commented that the staff checking us in should have warned us of the noise and provided ear plugs.
Night number three of our stay the drunks next door had the TV blaring at 1am for almost an hour. Then the male guest next door proceeded to attempt to cough up a lung for 6 consecutive hours. Bubonic plague? Black Lung disease? I got up and put rolled up Kleenex into both ear canals, and was still kept awake by his coughing. I'm surprised he didn't set off the Richter scale....

In the morning, as we were preparing to leave, I could hear his BREATHING (no, not snoring - -his breathing).

Complained as we were checking out. Was told that "we have manager on staff at all times", but they were in a shift change and the manager wasn't available. To me, either they have a manager on hand or they don't.

Left my name and phone number so I could talk to manager. No response.

If you're into a drug or alcohol induced sleep, this is the place for you. Otherwise, stay away.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
8 Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I am on the board of a national nonprofit, and had to book a meeting with sleeping rooms in New Orleans on a budget for our members. The entire staff, from the group sales management to every housekeeper I encountered, were very professional, friendly, and top-notch. The location is perfect for those who want to stay in the French Quarter and I would highly recommend the Bourbon Orleans. We were there the weekend after Mardi Gras and it was a bit loud, but I would just use earplugs in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

First time in New Orleans - it couldn't be better. The hotel is located in the French Quarter one block from Bourbon street. Although quiet and affording excellent environmnet for a good night sleep or relaxing by the pool. And the staff - just excellent. Helpful and nice. The room was spacious and clean. Couldn't do anyhing else than giving them a top score:-) Love to come back

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,312 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,012 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,909 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,963 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing