We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt at home immediately”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #8 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hotel is located right bang in the middle of the french quarter, it is a beautifully renovated building decorated with style and taste. It is on a corner of Bourbon street with the main entrance on a side road. The minute I entered in the room, I heard some jazz playing, I think left on purpose to get you into the mood. If not it was a great and unique experience to walk into a room and get greeted by music. The room was beautifull, very comfortable and clean and again tastefully done. White french shuttters on the windows, teas and coffee provided with all amenities. The hotel has a small gym but fit for purpose if you want to run on a treadmill and do some weights. The best asset of this hotel however is the people working there. They are the most friendly members of staff I have ever encountered, always with a smile and happy to help even when a huge conference is in town and they are at their most busy. It is a bit of a treck (20 minute walk or $10 taxi ride) to the convention center but it is so much better to stay in such a hotel rather than the box standard hotels you can find around there.

I would definitely go back and recomend it to friends.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room you may want to have a room that does not face Burbon street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brandychocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,448 - 5,454 of 6,628 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

For the second year, my family attended Brunch with Santa at the Bourbon Orleans. The food was delicious, the entertainment was perfect for children and adults and Santa and Mrs. Claus were the best I've ever met. We've decided to make this a tradition
in our family and have also included friends in our celebration. We cherish the memories we've made thus far and look forward to making many more in the years to come.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hcburas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Was at the Bourbon for 3 nights to celebrate my 60th birthday. WOW !!! Loved this hotel. Our room had a balcony and was super nice and up to date. Within walking distance to all popular spots (St-Louis Cathedral, Café du Monde, restaurants ....).

The lobby of the hotel is grandiose, well decorated for Christmas, so welcoming. In the lobby, they always have a table with free aromatic water that is just ice cold and so refreshing.

What make this hotel so different from others ... it is the quality of the people working there, they make you feel so special and welcome.

Thank you everyone at the Bourbon for making this special trip and unforgettable one.

I will return for sure. So many things to see and so many restaurants to try.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renee L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights. Love the hotel! Location is ideal, 1/2 block from cathedral St Louis. Near Bourbon St, but your don't get all the noise. Royal St., my fav for strolling is at the corner. The room was nice, though mine was small, but had a balcony overlooking the pool. Great for a smoke, thought the rooms are of course non smoking. BTW, the pool is heated! The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel has a nice lobby, a bar(on the expensive side) and a restaurant. Weekend breakfast buffet was very good...$18.00. The only down side, for me, the mattress was too hard.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bobbi48128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is one of my favorites if not my favorite hotel in New Orleans. It's very clean and up to date. I've never had any experience with a ghost! :-) When you walk out the hotel door take a right, walk a few feet and you are on Bourbon! The St. Louis Cathedral is the opposite direction just a few feet. It was decorated just beautifully at Christmas. Hotel staff has always been so friendly as well. I will be staying there again!

Room Tip: If noise bothers you, you may not want to stay on the Bourbon side. I could hear out my window even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 88MKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The location is perfect, just down the street from touchdown jesus.
Our room was on the 7th floor and overlooked Bourbon Street, I guess we were high up enough not to be bothered by the noise below.
Check in was great, the girl who checked us in was very nice, and very accommodating.

The room was very nice, great beds, nice TV (I wish we had a few more channels) and lots of pillows.
It was a bit scary reading the haunting flyer and seeing that several of the hotels ghosts were on our floor.
Thankfully I saw nothing.

The only criticism I have about the hotel was that my room key expired twice during the week I was there.
And you needed to put your card in the elevator to go anywhere.
A hotel as nice as this should not have such a minor league problem.

But the place gets high marks from me.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbbradk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I loved this hotel so much. It was gorgeous, with an amazing history and current staff to match. Anytime that I return to New Orleans, I will stay here. Easy access to Bourbon Street without being immediately on it, but also easy access to Canal Street shopping, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a haunted room! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liza Pugliese H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
7,909 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 167 in New Orleans
4,498 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 167 in New Orleans
5,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,718 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
3,391 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#45 of 167 in New Orleans
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £121 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing