We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Heart of the French Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. Its central location, between Bourbon and Royal Streets and only a block from Jackson Square, puts you in the center of everything. Handy access to the Hop-on Hop-off Tour Bus and the local tram system makes this the ideal location for those who don't want to rent a car. Beyond that, the staff is super-friendly and helpful. If you want a really comfortable and clean hotel that has that Old World charm, then this is the hotel for you!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms facing the inner courtyard and heated pool have French doors opening on to balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMainhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,924 - 4,930 of 6,129 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Having read the other reviews, I was excited about this hotel but it did not live up to my expectations. While the location is really good and convenient, the hotel feels a bit rundown, the rooms are quite small, and the service rather unfriendly. For example, when I asked the reception for recommendations about what to see, they just pushed a city map in my direction and said all the attractions were marked on the map. I expected better customer service from a boutique hotel...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for being a recent guest at our Historic Hotel. We recently had a multi-million renovation to all our guest rooms and upgraded the guest room amenities we offer so your comments concern me. We pride ourselves on providing the very best in service and hospitality so the experience you mentioned with our front office staff member is certainly not our standard. If you would like to contact me to discuss your experience please email me at mark.wilson@bourbonorleans.com. I look forward to having you back as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We traveled to New Orleans for a Saints Football Game and stayed at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. There was an Ophthalmology conference in town that weekend so hotels were scare.

The Good - Building is extremely nice, we had a two story suite that was out of this world. The Hotel staff is very friendly. Everyone greeted you with an honest smile and I think the housekeeping staff are some of the nicest people you will meet.

The Location is great - you are near everything in the French Quarter. But If you get a room near Bourbon Street, it is noisy. I am a very light sleeper. Our room was on St Ann's street, but close enough to Bourbon that you not only get the street noise at night, but starting at 4am you get the trash trucks and the street cleaners. Plus our room was across the street from a 2nd floor Dance Bar also with a balcony.

Would we go back. If we could get a room far enough away from Bourbon - YES. The two story suite is very comfortable. Also the Bloody Mary's they were selling in the lobby were quite good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jabberwocky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is an ideal hotel to stay at as it's right in the French Quarter and you can go everywhere on foot. The room was spacious and clean, nice big bathroom, too. The only problem with the room was the safe. It is low down on a side wall of the closet, there is no light, and you have to perform acrobatic contortions to use it. Not so easy if you're not an athletic thirty any more! We had one meal at the hotel and were served very courteously by Rica. There is, however, no wine list and this is a must for a good restaurant. We had a couple of drinks in the good hotel bar to wind down after a long day of walking around New Orleans. Also ideal for a night-cap after an evening of music. Valet parking available, expensive, but practical.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor can be noisy - returning revelers and the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripexperienced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, between Bourbon Street and royal Street. You are within walking distance of all the major attractions of the French Quarter. The staff is helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and charming. if you like a hotel with a little history and you like getting around without having to hail cabs, this one is for you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nerak1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Hi all, this Hotel my wife found was an exceptional find! Rooms are impeccable. They are freshly painted and all furnishings in the rooms are new.
We did not eat at the hotel, but the dinning area looked very nice.
Everything was ready for us. We did not swim in the pool because it was very cold when we where there, but it is heated and it is beautiful.
Located just 2 small blocks directly in back of the iconic church, you cannot go wrong with this location. You can't get lost, because if you can see the church, you can get to the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel for any family or business outing.
The entry foyer is immense and was decorated nicely for Christmas.

Room Tip: we had a room with a balcony looking in the courtyard which was a nice touch. I caution that there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taz1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Wonderful hotel right in the middle of it all in the french quarter. The location is perfect. It is located close to all the major restaurants/bars and right between bourbon street and royal street. The two major fairways in the french quarter. You can walk to all the major places (Cafe Du Monde, Canal street, famous Antoine's). The hotel itself was very beautiful and clean. It has the lousiana french feel. The bourbon bar is connected which was a very nice place with great cocktails. The hotel restraunt didn't have the best food. We went there for brunch. I'd recommend going somwhere else to eat. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. I'm high maintenance when it comes to hotels and this fulfilled me! Also it is known to be one of the most haunted places in the french quarter which some may like. I myself didnt see any paranormal activity, so if your a scaredy cat I think your safe.

Room Tip: We stayed in a queen bed room. It is pretty small so book a king if you want a more spacious room. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AhmiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 167 in New Orleans
4,245 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,789 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,253 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,482 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £133 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing