We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #8 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The bourbon orleans hosted our wedding and it could not have gone any better! The service was top notch, the wedding planner, megan was simply amazing and the hotel it self was gorgeous! Everyone was very helpful in anything we could have needed. Our rehearsal dinner as well as ceremony and reception were all held here and everyone from the cleaning crew to the bartenders were just so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a St. Anne Suite and it was perfect! The view from the balcony was great.. we were close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calissa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

We were delighted to have you with us for your wedding and rehearsal dinner. We always strive to provide an authentic, fun and friendly environment and are delighted you enjoyed the staff!. All of us our ready to welcome you back for your first anniversary. Congratulations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,851 - 4,857 of 6,135 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Our room faced the courtyard. I was here joining my husband for the weekend before his work conference started. On his last night (I had gone home), he experienced issues with his air conditioner and had to be moved to another room (which as he tells it, was quite an ordeal and took a significant amount of begging). His new room overlooked Bourbon Street. This was perfect for him as he enjoyed hearing the music and activity down on Bourbon Street; I definitely appreciated the quiet and solitude we had viewing the courtyard. We spent a lot of time walking around the French Quarter and I can say that I didn't see any other hotels that were in such a great location. If you drive, your car will be valet parked at some lot away from the hotel - it will take a while to get your car. Next time we visit, I don't think we will get a rental car as we didn't really drive anywhere other than to and from the airport.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Luvs2Travel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for staying with us and travelling all the way from chilly Ohio. Our courtyard guestrooms are certainly a respite from the celebration of Bourbon Street. Please let all your friends and family know we are ready to welcome them to the historic French Quarter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Return visitors to Bourbon Orleans, bringing friends this trip for a long weekend of Mardi Gras. Stay Friday 2/21 through Sunday 2/23. Friends opted for interior standard room, great room on interior pool courtyard. They got more sleep than we did, in our loft room with balcony on Orleans side. Could throw beads to the corner of Bourbon and Orleans, and balcony provided a good party and smoke option for those that chose to. Noise was as expected, part of the atmosphere, with partying continuing on Bourbon until wee hours. Still managed to sleep, but be advised street cleaning occurs during MG every day, starting somewhere around 6:30am.

Service by all staff was impeccable; friendly, attentive, and accommodating. All special requests were met - room location, extra robes, late check-out. Did not eat in restaurant - no slam on the hotel, just too many great options in NOLA.

Strong wifi signal in both rooms, apparently from lobby service.

Would not consider any other hotel in French Quarter. Perfectly located. Between Bourbon and Royal, so party or shopping was either a right or left out the front door.

Only negatives are minor. Bathroom was well appointed, but shower head location relative to soap tray meant either your back or your elbows hit the tray every time you moved. Looked good, not so functional. Welcome drink coupons upon arrival, good at hotel bar at corner of Bourbon. $7 value each still meant round of (4) drinks totaled $35 out of pocket. Great drinks and service, but many other bars matched the experience at more competitive prices.

Will return again, and will continue to recommend to others.

Room Tip: Interior courtyard if you want quiet sleep. Balcony loft room makes a great party venue for 2-3 cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff and our authentic New Orleans hospitality. Thank you for your comments regarding our property WIFI and bathrooms. We will be adding additional bath amenities in March. Come on back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Everything was great!! Room, pool, bar, restaurant!! And all the people were friendly and hospitable!! The room was extremely clean, never heard anyone in the other rooms. It was a Beautiful hotel, with a convenient location to everything!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rflk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for celebrating the beginning of Mardi Gras with us here at the Bourbon Orleans. As I write this note the party continues here in the French Quarter. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great!
We booked a group though your group person Susan Mack. She was fantastic. She helped us with our reservations and got us just what we wanted.
We had stayed at the Royal Sonesta for ten years prior and thought that was best hotel in NO.

Wrong! You guys beat them hands down--- rooms size,cleanliness, service,and just generally more friendly.

Thanks for making us feel special!
We want to come back next year!

Lester O'Nea

Room Tip: Don't get the small room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lester O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your very nice comments. Our entire team is focused on creating a ”feeling of being special” while a guest of the Bourbon Orleans Hotel and I was delighted to read your review. I will share your comments with Susan……..hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stay at Bourbon Orleans every time we are in town. On the corner of Bourbon and Orleans (and Royal) Streets, it is in the middle of the French Quarter (translated literally into French = "Carre Francais" and not "Vieux Carre" which means Old Square.) The main lobby is large and elegant with a high ceiling. Has nice electric grand piano; even given bottle of wine by the management for playing the piano for them. Above the main lobby is a large ballroom where special functions such as weddings and balls are held. The rooms are comfortable. Ours, room 543, had a balcony overlooking Orleans Street and we could see the Mardi Gras parades passing by. The minibar has been removed which is a good thing as I always spend the first five minutes in a hotel room removing everything out so I can use it as a refrigerator. The beds are very comfortable and housekeeping is very efficient.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank not_johntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your loyalty to the Bourbon Orleans Hotel and staying with us again this month. I was happy to read that you enjoyed one of our Private Balcony guestrooms and recently restored lobby. We look forward to your next visit. Happy Mardi Gras!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

From the impressive façade to the welcoming lobby to the comfortable rooms, this is a great hotel with excellent, courteous service without being stuffy. The only problem we had was that there was a problem with the plumbing in our room which they could not fix, so they moved us to another room. Most hotels of this quality will move you to a nicer room when something like this happens, but the room we were moved to was actually not quite as nice, which was disappointing. We would certainly go back though, as I'm sure that's an atypical occurrence and the staff did the best they could.
A tip about music- if you are looking for jazz and Dixieland, Bourbon St itself only has 2 places to offer these days, Maison Bourbon and Fritzels. Both are on Bourbon just a few blocks east of the hotel. The rest of Bourbon St, sadly, is strictly an inebriated party scene now. The real music scene is on Frenchman, about a 15 or 20 minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the courtyard- Bourbon Street is fine but when it's time to sleep you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding our property. We always strive to a fun, friendly, and authentic guest experience and I am delighted you experienced this. Please feel free to contact me directly when planning your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 167 in New Orleans
4,245 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,790 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
7,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 167 in New Orleans
3,253 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,484 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#23 of 167 in New Orleans
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £133 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing