We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The hotel and rooms are beautiful and have an air of historical feel. The only problem is that the rooms can be extremely noisy, being on Bourbon street (duh, I know). In any case, we moved rooms to a side street and it was still pretty bad. Next night, we moved to an inside room and the A/C was garbage. Two nights of no sleep and I cant give this place a good review as that is the first thing a hotel room must accomodate. Staff could have cautioned about the noise before asking if we wanted to upgrade to the deluxe lofts.

Room Tip: If you treasure sleep, dont stay on bourbon street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Drew F,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding our beautiful property and its historic feel. The lobby portion of the building dates back to 1817 and the era of Andrew Jackson! I will be certain to speak to my staff regarding your Bourbon Street loft suite experience. Noise can always be a factor and we should have certainly let you know, please accept my apology for this oversight. Come on back from Houston and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,467
    1,338
    298
    84
    48
See reviews for
1,044
2,256
155
453
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Being a NOLA girl, I've attended any functions and stayed at several French Quarter and downtown locations. The Bourbon Orleans was by far the very best! From the valet to the front desk, the Bourbon O Bar to the room service...I truly believe we will never stay anywhere else. We had a townhouse suite and the only noise I can truly say we dealt with was from the guests we couldn't see. I was very excited to be able to stay in one of the cities most haunted places. Being from New Orleans, we know the stories but aren't always lucky enough to experience them. We stayed on the third floor and our balcony door always managed to be open even after locking it. The footsteps and small talk that drifted upstairs to where we
slept diminished when we asked that they keep it down. The staff was wonderful. Planning on going back in a few months for our anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanne626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Deanne626,

Wow! What nice comments, we look forward to welcoming you back for your upcoming anniversary. I appreciate your comments regarding our staff and can assure you of special occasion service on your return visit. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel was wonderful, the staff very helpful, rooms clean and very comfortable. Be warned if you get a balcony it's is on or close to Bourbon Street. Doors have huge gaps and do not block all the noise. People do not stop parting until early AM. We moved to interior room and it was just as nice but a lot less noise. Menu looked really good prices about the same as everywhere else but we did not eat there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Wendbru,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding our staff and accommodations. These are the hallmarks of the hotel business, friendly service and clean accommodations. We look forward to welcoming more folks from Minnesota to the Bourbon Orleans Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This hotel was in a great location, walking distance to many attractions around the French Quarter and not far to the Central Business District. They have a great bar, very nice staff, and a wonderful pool area.

We stayed in an interior room with a view of the pool, which was key. If you want to get wild and crazy, they do have rooms with Balconies that overlook Bourbon street but I think that would be super loud, so beware!

The Highlights:
1 free drink ticket at checkin for the bar
Bloody mary stand on Sunday mornings that will mix you a drink to go

The Lowlights:
Not the most comfortable pillows
Weird motion sensor fan in the bathroom? Made no sense.

Room Tip: Choose an interior room for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewliweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Jewliweb,

Thank you for staying at the Bourbon Orleans hotel and for your nice survey. Certainly our Courtyard pool and Bourbon O Bar are delightful attractions. We look forward to welcoming you and all of your friends from Milwaukee back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This was my first trip to your hotel and it was wonderful. Your desk clerk named Keyiana was a blessing, she greeted me every time I walked by and was always happy and full of ideas of fun things for me to do. I will be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stayed in one of the smaller rooms and the accommodations were lovely. Very clean, comfortable and perfectly detailed. The only teeny drawback was the lack of lighting --but this is New Orleans and we certainly do not compromise architecture for silly modern conveniences! As close as you are to all of the action in the French quarter, the room was extremely quiet (although my room was facing the courtyard). The staff was amazing--friendly, helpful and offered what you would expect from southern hospitality.
Highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank destinationxtrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Destinationxtrme,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding our friendly staff. We are very proud of our version of southern hospitality and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The suites at the Bourbon Orleans have awesome balconies. The staff are friendly and warm and the location is very central to everything French Quarter. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to people looking to stay in New Orleans! -Annie

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Annie B,

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our balcony suite. Experiencing a balcony in the French Quarter is a fun and unique experience. Please let all you friends and family in Florida know we are ready to welcome then to the Bourbon Orleans Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,002 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
6,904 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
2,958 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing