We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

My husband and I had a great stay at the Bourbon Orleans. Our first impression of the hotel was that it was a beautiful old hotel, great architecture. Once inside the hotel we were not disappointed, the lobby and our room were beautifully appointed and very clean. When we checked in we were told they had a loft suite and that they were upgrading us! It was a two floor suite with livingroom on the main floor and bedroom with large bathroom upstairs. Front desk staff was very helpful
and friendly, free iced tea and coffee in the lobby everyday. The only downside to the hotel is that if you are staying in the back of the hotel you either have to walk a really long way from the elevator to your room, or take the employee elevator, we took the latter every time. Overall, very pleased with this hotel and would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meghenriquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Meghenriquez,

Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel and it’s architecture. The lobby and ballroom parts of our building date back to 1817 and are an authentic piece of New Orleans history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,334
    1,308
    288
    80
    46
See reviews for
994
2,185
147
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,484)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

WONDERFUL!!!! Staff was super nice (all of them), the property was beautiful. This will be my New Orleans place to stay.Our room was on the top floor and overlooked the courtyard. Did not have a lot of Bourbon street noise. Location was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyMurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Tracy Murrell,

Thank you for your nice comments regarding our staff and location. We think both are distinctive here in the French Quarter. Please let all your friends and family in Dallas know we are ready to serve them here at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The hotel was very comfortable and the staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. It is in a very good location one half block off Bourbon Street and less than 2 blocks from Jackson Square, St Louis Cathedral and Royal Street. The square and Royal Street consistently have street entertainment. The bar fronts Bourbon Street and is not busy. We did not try the restaurant, too many good alternatives. We would recommend a stay here. However, ask for a room that does not front Bourbon Street since they may be noisy. Also, there are several very small rooms, be sure to avoid these.

Room Tip: Avoid small rooms and fronting Bourbon Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear bob r,

Thank you for staying with us in March. I appreciate your nice comments regarding our staff. Bring all your friends from Scottsdale to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

My husband and I chose the Bourbon Orleans for our 1 year anniversary trip and could NOT have been more delighted! We had an interior room facing the pool, and while the location is literally in the heart of the Quarter, we could retreat to our room if we wanted to enjoy some peace and quiet. You can walk right downstairs to the excellent, quirky bar featuring super fun New Orleans themed drinks (including one with a flaming marshmallow rabbit peep!) or enjoy an excellent meal at the hotel's restaurant. You can walk to the historic cemeteries, the legendary Cafe du Monde, or pick up the streetcar line to go adventuring, all within a short minutes walk from the property! We truly enjoyed our stay - from the great, knowledgeable staff and ideal location to the interesting and varied hotel history - I would HIGHLY recommend this for anyone visiting the French Quarter for the 1st time or the 50th!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cortiney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Cortney B,

Celebrating your 1 year anniversary is an important milestone and we are delighted you were here with us at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel. We hope to see you again for future special occasions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Great location and Hotel. Rooms were spacious enough and clean. Right on Bourbon Street so you step out into an instant party.
The Hotel bar was good but very quiet so not where we were looking to be but a good stop for a few quiet ones before heading out on the town.

Room Tip: People say to get a courtyard facing room due to noise out in the street but we had a 6th floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BourbonOrleansHotel, General Manager at Bourbon Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Ashmunga,

Thank you for coming all the way from Australia and visiting New Orleans! We appreciate your nice comments and look forward to welcoming more folks from “down under” in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Our stay had it's highs and lows.
On the high side the hotel is in a great location 1 block off Bourbon St.
Nicely staffed with everyone being extremely helpful. Building was beautiful and the room was clean with a super comfortable bed.

On the down side sometimes being too close to Bourbon St. is bad. Had 2 drunk girls out on the street at around 1 AM arguing for about an hour. Could hear them right thru the balcony doors. Nobody from hotel came out to get them to move along.
Check in was also an issue. Room was supposed to be ready by 3PM but it wasn't. Staff was to call us when ready but never did. Finally came back at 4PM and it still was not ready. Management was extremely apologetic as they seemed to be experiencing cleaning issues with the staff. Gave us complementary drink tickets at their bar and a $50 room credit.

Still had a very good stay with them despite these issues.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xNYerinFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Riding, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

This was my third stay at the Bourbon Orleans and we truly felt pampered by the staff. We brought a rental car and the bell hops were awesome at getting it through the valet whenver we needed it. The Bourbon O bar was a great retreat to observe the action on Bourbon St. Getting food there took a very long time from when we ordered and ended up canceling our order after 40 minutes so we could get to the reservations we had at Preservation Hall on time. Breakfast at the buffet in the dining room was very good and great service. We decided to splurge with rooms with balconies to be able to experience the views. Our location was perfect to walk anywhere in the Quarter and over to Frenchmen St. but we were ready to settle down before the streets quieted at 4:30 or 5am. Sleeping was very difficult until we bought earplugs to drown out the noise in our room. A great getaway, but would definitely pass up on the balcony rooms in the future!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are MUCH quieter than ones with outside balconies! Lots of fun watching the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lowlakelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,865 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,802 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing