We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms Large & Bar Quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Ranked #9 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Key West, FL
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Rooms Large & Bar Quaint”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel and the room was massive and clean and right on Bourbon in the quarter. We didn't hear much of the street noise, but it was there. The maid staff was amazing and tipped them accordingly. You have to use your card key to get into the elevator or stairwell so don't forget it. The hallways are extremely long and reminded us of the movie The Shinning. We enjoyed our stay here very much.

Our friends were staying in a different hotel so we went to the downstairs bar with them after an dinner. We were pleasantly surprised, it was quiet and quaint with an amazing woman singing on a Thursday night. The bartender was helpful and informative. She knew her drinks.

About 3 nights later we were so over "the street" and needed a quiet place. As we were walking for some time looking, my friend said... "Let's go in there, it looks quiet." And there it was, it was our hotel bar! That just said it us how nice and quiet it really was, even for the madness going on just outside the window.

This bar is definitely an adult, quiet place. Not for the party reveled on the street.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T2Socks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,894
    1,457
    324
    96
    57
See reviews for
1,206
2,490
182
506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,544)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was our third time staying at this hotel and we have never had a problem with professional customer service or cleanliness. We stayed in a balcony suite facing Bourbon Street and the view was awesome, all of the live action right under your feet. We will be coming back for Jazz Fest again and will be staying at this hotel every time we come back to NOLA.

Room Tip: If you don't mind street noise, stay in a balcony room, inner hotel rooms are much quieter that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drewcifer427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Grove, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We were greeted by the sweet valet guy as soon as the cab door opened! Check In was quick and the young lady was very friendly!
The young man who brought our luggage up to our room was almost faster than us, lol, again so friendly! Our hotel room was clean and super cute! Housekeeping was very accommodating and did a great job! The STAR of this hotel is definitely The Bourbon O (the bar)! My husband was a fan day one, I didn't join him but he went on and on how great a bar it was. So, I did join him and was so glad I did. I love bloody Mary's and I've had some great ones and of course some not so good. They have a Bloody Mary out of this world, Yummo, best I've ever had! The bartender is a award winning mixologist and his personality creates a good time. The bar manager also created the Bloody Mary mix herself! All and all we had a great visit to NOLA and The Bourbon Orleans and staff are First Class :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAPERVILLE
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a really lovely time at the hotel. The entire staff was so helpful and friendly. The location is very good. Even though it is off Bourbon Street it was quite quiet and peaceful. We chose the breakfast option and the food was good although there could have been more selection. The room as was the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. The fitness center was nice - fortunately all of the equipment was working well. That is often a problem in other hotels. The concierge was very helpful and patient with our requests. I would recommend this place highly and certainly would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RANDEE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was the first stop on my sabbatical from work and what a great place to start. The staff was great and reminded us what good old southern hospitality really is (we are originally from the south).

Room Tip: Choose the petite balcony rooms on St Ann, the most quiet, but if you want bead action choose the Bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdelkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just had a fabulous stay here.The hotel and staff exceeded our expectations.Arrived at 9.30 in the morning and we were found a lovely quiet courtyard room overlooking the pool by 10.am.
Rooms beautifully furnished very comfortable kind bed.Beautiful bathroom.
We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and when we came back from sightseeing New Orleans the management sent up champagne with their compliments.
It did not matter what level of staff you spoke to they were all very friendly.Anyone looking for a lovely hotel in this city need look no further than Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep ask for a courtyard room,otherwise you may be in a room on Bourbon S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The staff and premises of the Bourbon Orleans Hotel could not have been a better fix for our late winter blues. The location is perfect - just off Bourbon Street. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful with changing arrival times, and no problem seemed to phase them. The concierge, Mr. Ryan was wonderfully cheerful and helpful with suggestions and making reservations. And the staff of the Bourbon O Bar were exceptional - fresh only, homemade mixes and ginger beer, and an amazing array of cocktails developed by them for their guests. The room was large and overlooked Bourbon Street without the noise of the late night revelers, and we were entirely pleased with our visit there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#13 of 164 in New Orleans
4,625 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,364 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 164 in New Orleans
3,199 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 164 in New Orleans
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourbon Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourbon Orleans Hotel

Property: Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Address: 717 Orleans St., New Orleans, LA 70116-3189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bourbon Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where old world charm meets new world luxury. Nestled in the heart of the French Quarter, the Bourbon Orleans New Orleans Hotel features a rich history and opulent French styling reminiscent of the early 1800s. Its central New Orleans location, just steps away from the famed St. Louis Cathedral, means you're never far from the best the city has to offer-from upscale shopping on Royal Street, to the local artists and performers of Jackson Square, to all of the restaurants, galleries and nightlife in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Bourbon Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bourbon Orleans
Wndham New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing